Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars no TABOO with this album, 6 Nov 2005
This review is from: SANTANA (III) (Audio CD)
I see this gets mixed reviews and I agree that it does seem to incorporate a number of Santana's styles. However, this was the first Santana album I bought, perhaps two years after its release, solely on the strength of hearing (amongst others) Taboo played in a Co-op record store. So, I'll just say this:
It is grand testimony that although it is well over 30 years since I bought it, I still listen regularly to some of the tracks...particularly Taboo and, on the right day, the track can move me as if I've never heard it before. The end of the track contains simply one of the most passionate angst-ridden guitar solos that I have ever heard in my looong love affair with the guitar. Trust me, if you want emotional soloing, this track alone must be heard before you die.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars difficult to find better from Santana, 6 Aug 2009
By 
Santi "rss" (Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: SANTANA (III) (Audio CD)
IMHO it's Santana's top along with Abraxas
you can't help but live&love Taboo, Toussaint l'Overture, Guajira, and the Bonus Tracks (get the cd with)
the rhythm is really astonishing, it may turn your "grey" day into a warm&sunny one...
buy without any doubt (and buy Abraxas if you haven't got yet)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful beyond belief ! (7 stars *******), 5 Jun 2011
This review is from: SANTANA (III) (Audio CD)
I feel so sorry for those of you out there who do not own this work of genius. I have given it seven stars - two other Santana albums are superb i.e. Abraxas and Caravanserai But this is absolute Dreamland !! Guitar playing that will take you into outer space !!!! And another reviewer is totally correct the guitar at the end of the track "Taboo" is so beautiful it can't be put it into words - If you only EVER buy one more CD in your entire life make it this one !!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Santana - Harder and Heavier, 8 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SANTANA (III) (Audio CD)
This was the second Santana album I bought in 1971. Still with the same latin rhythms but some how harder and heavier than Abraxas. Five stars because the original album is fantastic, but as usual listen to the bonus tracks at the risk of disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Santana's second chart topping album, still one of the best., 10 July 2010
By 
R. F. Stevens "richard23491" (Ickenham UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Santana 3 (Audio CD)
I bought the LP of Santana 3 back in 1971, and helped make it a chart topper. When the CD came out I bought that as well. The sound is classic Santana, solid Latin Rock with hints of Jazz to fuse it all together. It does not lose its way in mysticism as some tracks on his later albums do, and has a slightly tighter sound then the previous chart topper and equally excellent Abraxas (which version has three live bonus tracks).

It was called Santana 3 because while there was a very scratchy and poor first album recorded in 1968 - I have a copy but cannot recommend it - and which barely saw the light of day, when there came Santana in 1969 then Abraxas in 1970 which are both so amazingly good, most people conveniently forgot the first album!

Many collectors will have a copy of Santana 3 by now, but if you don't then the version to get is the 2006 re-master Santana Vol.3: Legacy Edition with the 1971 live at the Fillmore bonus CD included. That set has all nine tracks that are in this CD, plus four bonus tracks, and eleven more on the bonus CD, all from the original full band with Greg Rolie. (Also released again in 2008 as 'Santana III (Enhanced)').

Other Santana albums definitely worth a listen are Moonflower: 2cd Set and Supernatural.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Santana's third outing is (mainly) a Latino rocker with a hard edge, 29 Dec 2011
By 
The Guardian (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: SANTANA (III) (Audio CD)
Santana's untitled 1971 third album briefly added teenage guitar-prodigy Neal Schon to the line-up, making Santana a seven-piece band. This is the last album from the Woodstock-era Santana, prior to their taking a more adventurous road towards jazz-fusion style and (IMHO) some of their very best work via `Caravanserai' to `Welcome' and `Borboletta'.

In style the third album settles some way between the mostly danceable debut album and the more introspective `Abraxas.' The band here is tight and powerful, the music a blend of Latino rhythms and hard-edged rock; the now distinctive Santana sound dominates with complex percussion underlying the melodies and this fresh young band in the flush of success thoroughly enjoys playing together. Instrumental numbers predominate, and production values are first class.

The first four numbers - on the original vinyl, the first `side' of the disk - flow together effortlessly in a kind of four-movement symphonic development, opening with the percussion-dominant `Batuka' and ending with the storming rocker `Toussaint L'Overture' (a misspelled pun on Toussaint Louverture, the European-cultured black leader who modelled himself on Napoleon, led a slave revolt in Haiti and set up an independent Republic in the 1790s). The remaining five tracks on the original release work less well together but nonetheless contain notable highlights.

Carlos's guitar solos and fill-ins here are some of the very best of the era; the odd thing is that the young Schon is so good, and blends in so well, it's sometimes hard to tell which of them is playing what, so similar are the styles.

Post-1998 editions of this album contain extra material: audience-live versions of `Batuka', `Jungle Strut' and the sole recorded release of a track called `Gumbo.'

Overall: just short of the greatness of Santana's best work but nevertheless very, very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than it looks, 9 Dec 2002
This review is from: SANTANA (III) (Audio CD)
This album is a litle curious, being a mixture of several of Santana's preceding and later styles, and never quite gelling as a single, coherent album. If you listen to it in one session, it is almost certain both to delight and annoy you. The single from it "Everybody's Everything" was acclaimed on the album cover as being a smash hit for them, but that somehow managed to escape me at the time, despite that I was then working as a DJ. Maybe it was a smash hit in the Upper Volta. It's probably the worst track on the album, too.
It is too easy to dismiss the album as just 'fan fodder' because it contains two of the best dance music tracks you'll find anywhere in the wide world of music, namely "Jungle Strut" and "Para Los Rumberos", these also being magnificent examples from their original keyboard player who departed the group not long after. These sandwich the pretty dreadful "EveryThing's Coming Our Way".
The final three tracks are CD add-ins (not on the vinyl version) from a 1973 concert at Fillimore West. They're OK, but if you want to hear Santana in concert and be stunned by their prowess, you really need to get hold of their wonderful album "Moonflower" which mixes live and studio work with incredible ease.
So, Santana's Third Album... try to find a way to block out the few tracks that will really annoy you as this album contains some really great material elsewhere,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Santana, 5 Aug 2011
By 
P. G. Wilson (Colchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SANTANA (III) (Audio CD)
Somewhat overlooked alongside the more polished and mainstream Abraxas album, and later jazz-tinged or ballad-based material, but this is the real thing - just close your eyes and imagine a club gig in 1969, and savour the relatively unstructured songs, along with the laid-back and intoxicating Latin beats under the rapid-fire trademark guitar licks. The raw guitar sound is so much more appealing than his later sanitised tones. Music to get down and dirty with.

If you haven't got this, you haven't got Santana.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Carlos Santana brilliance, 14 Jun 2011
By 
Mr. R. A. Jenkins (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SANTANA (III) (Audio CD)
A brilliant CD by a master guitarist and his band. Everything blends into a superbly written and played album. No duff tracks only great to brilliant ones.

I have loved Carlos's work since day 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Santana's best, 18 Oct 2010
This review is from: SANTANA (III) (Audio CD)
Stunning......everyone shud buy it......and get Abraxas as well....!!!!!!!
I had both on vinyl from early 70's and simply wore them out.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

SANTANA  (III)
SANTANA (III) by Santana (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews