Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arguably the best Brand X Album, 2 Jan 2002
This review is from: Morrocan Roll (Audio CD)
Start here for Brand X. Moroccan Roll is the best example of the wonderful warm but quirky texture of early Brand X, esp. the Robin Lumley keyboards. They create a collage of sound where no one player can be identified as the lead, and the drums are as important as the guitar. Genuine fusion rock/Jazz. I bought this when I was 16 and I still love - 24 years on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the recording of the most celebrated Brand X line up, 11 Jan 2001
This review is from: Moroccan Roll (Audio CD)
By 1977 the band that started as Phil Collins' time out jazz excursion from Genesis had begun to develop its own distinctive rock-jazz style. On this recording the group display the range of abilities which were to lead to many individual plaudits for Percy Jones and John Goodsall. "Why Should I Lend You Mine" (recorded live with no over-dubs) is a moody, evocative track that builds to a frightening crescendo before reverting to its rippling Fender piano based intro. On "Hate Zone" the band employ a full range of overdubs and effects to create a truly massive sound which will have you scurrying to your volume control, but on the Robin Lumley penned "Disco Suicide" they again create a melody so distinctive and tuneful that they were to employ it to open their live shows 20 years later. A marvellous "must have recording" for all fans of fusion based music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best jazz rock album ever?, 15 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Morrocan Roll (Audio CD)
In 1977 England could boast the two greatest jazz rock drummers in the world - Phil Collins and Bill Bruford. America thought it had the best with the likes Billy Cobham and Lenny White, but both were obsessed with rudiments, while Phil and Bill had developed unique and independent styles. With a little time on his hands, Phil decided to do a bit of recording with a few choice English jazz musicians. Their first album, 'Unorthodox Behaviour' was pretty good, but just short of brilliant. With the addition of the utterly eccentric percussionist Morris Pert their second album 'Moroccan Roll' reaches genius level. Debussy and Indian ragas are just two of many influences here. It's a shame that Phil Collins went on to become the multi-millionaire singer instead of developing his incredible drumming talents, but hey, I might just have done the same, given the choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hidden away in the section marked 'jazz', 28 April 2007
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Morrocan Roll (Audio CD)
'Morrocan Roll' (sic) sees Brand X moving toward a slightly more accessible sound than on earlier recordings. There is less emphasis on manic fusion and a little more on melody and colour, yet you don't tire of hearing it. The exotic 'Sun In The Night' reveals where the album's title comes from, brighter and more vivid than anything they've done before. 'Why Should I Lend You Mine..., etc' is an epic, mesmeric masterpiece which belies its jokey title. 'Hate Zone' and 'Collapsar' are twinkling mood pieces; 'Disco Suicide' has a misleading title and features an insistent, dramatic bass motif. The final three tracks conform more to what the band do on earlier albums. Phil Collins's drumming on these is awesome, though it's worth pointing out that the band added percussionist Morris Pert to their line-up, which helps. John Goodsall's fiery guitar work, especially on 'Macrocosm', is also impressive. Jazz-rock? Rock fans should grow to love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Always a favourite, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Morrocan Roll (Audio CD)
Always loved this album so when my LP became a little too well played I had to get the CD.
Bargain
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Laid back Brand X ?, 19 Jun 2013
By 
Michael J. Lawley (Birmingham England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moroccan Roll (Audio CD)
Possibly my favourite Brand X album. Not as frenetic as the others and, to my ears, more melodic and not so
overpowered by the drumming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not all progessive/fusion remains, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Morrocan Roll (Audio CD)
This is one of the old progressive albums that holds the standard. Elegance, fantasy and passion....Top musicianship and good audio quality. What more can we ask.......
:-)

Higlhly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Morrocan Roll, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Morrocan Roll (MP3 Download)
This is going back a bit (hipster alert) but I always thought that Phil Collins was much happier and experimental with Brand X than any other band.

Its a bit twiddly in places buy I still like it.

4.5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless, 25 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Morrocan Roll (Audio CD)
This is a timeless beauty from Brand X. I don't think there is a bad track on there. Whatever Brand X were smoking at the time (it says "A Headline 2 Mean Joint" on the cover if you look hard..) must have been pretty good. This is really short review, because when music is this good, it speaks for itself and a verbal description of each track, or the artists just comes across as being naff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Huge fun - and well worth a listen..., 8 Mar 2008
By 
DSR (out beyond the sticks) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Morrocan Roll (Audio CD)
Brand X were a large part of my listening thirty years ago and this album shows why. mad as anything but musically cohesive there's a humour here and much love of good music.

All the musicians are excellent at their craft and whatever one may say today about Phil Collins' ego and the drippily suspect solo records he recorded, he is a startlingly good drummer and doesn't overshadow the others here.

At these prices, don't just buy this, buy them all!!!!

Recommended with much affection...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Morrocan Roll
Morrocan Roll by Brand X (Audio CD - 1989)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews