Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Recording of an Excellent Show.
I saw this production a few months ago and was completely won over by it. The humour of the screenplay translated well to the stage and the joy of the cast had a knock on effect on the audience, who roared laughing as they were splashed with water in the front of the stalls during the title song.

As such I'm delighted that this production has been recorded...
Published on 14 Aug 2012 by Oliver49

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Old better than new
Well recorded and edited with nice pictures.

Enormous difference between old songs (excellent) and new songs (just average).

Good introduction for Londos show.
Published 21 months ago by Juan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Recording of an Excellent Show., 14 Aug 2012
This review is from: Singin' in the Rain: The 2012 London Cast Album (Audio CD)
I saw this production a few months ago and was completely won over by it. The humour of the screenplay translated well to the stage and the joy of the cast had a knock on effect on the audience, who roared laughing as they were splashed with water in the front of the stalls during the title song.

As such I'm delighted that this production has been recorded. Note that the song listing, quite similar to the movie but with several extra songs, is very different to the Tommy Steele recording that is also on amazon. I like how much more complete cast recordings are becoming these days as well. Usually I can do without whole blocks of dialogue being recorded, but it's wonderful to have the encore music preserved here too.

One minor quibble I have is that the dialogue before the song "Good Mornin'" has a very tinny echo to it, whereas the song itself is recorded perfectly. Scarlett Strallen's songs are the standout numbers of this recording. The stage production's song "What's Wrong With Me?" for Lina Lamont is excellent, with Katherine Kingsley having a lot of fun putting that hilarious accent to good use in song.

If you're a fan of the film or of musical theatre in general, get this recording. It's such a cliche to say they don't make them like they used to, but Singin in the Rain as a stage musical really deserves more recognition, especially when it brings such an exquisite score to modern audiences night after night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Wonderful!, 14 Aug 2012
By 
This review is from: Singin' in the Rain: The 2012 London Cast Album (Audio CD)
Having seen this production at The Palace theatre a few times, I was very excited when I heard there was going to be a cast-recoding of it.

The songs all sound amazing on the CD, with great vocals from Scarlett Strallen, Adam Cooper, and Daniel Crossley. Katherine Kingsley's genius version of 'What's Wrong With Me?' is hilarious, and the orchestration is beautiful. A few stand-out songs for me are: 'Make 'Em Laugh', 'Broadway Ballet', 'Would You?', 'Good Morning', 'What's Wrong With Me?', and the title number 'Singin' In The Rain'.

Overall, I'd recommend this CD to anyone who likes 'Singin' In The Rain', especially if you've seen the current production at The Palace Theatre and loved it! And if you haven't seen the show yet... DO IT! It's a truly spectacular show with a fantastic cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Singin' in the Rain: The 2012 London Cast Album, 9 April 2014
By 
L. Mcveigh (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singin' in the Rain: The 2012 London Cast Album (Audio CD)
If you love the musical you will adore this soundtrack, they were selling it in the theatre for a lot more than this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars REVIEW FOR THE SINGING IN THE RAIN CAST CD, 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singin' in the Rain: The 2012 London Cast Album (Audio CD)
IT IS AN EXCELLENT CD THE MUSIC IS GREAT. I LIKE IT VERY MUCH. THANK YOU FOR HAVING IT FOR SALE ON YOUR SYSTEM. EDWARD ARTHUR GALE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 26 Mar 2013
By 
aLittleBlonde (Dorset, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singin' in the Rain: The 2012 London Cast Album (Audio CD)
Great cast recording of a great musical. Would highly recommend for fans of the stage show and original film alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE THIS SHOW AND ALBUM!!, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I went to see this show at The Palace Theatre and wasnt sure what to expect but it was a sheer joy to watch. I have seen many musicals but really loved this as it had fantastic dancing, it was funny and the cast had such a bond that I was totally absorbed in the whole thing. It is a feel good show and I would highly recommend it if you like a great night's entertainment. I Purchased the album and have not stopped playing it in the car since.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Old better than new, 25 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singin' in the Rain: The 2012 London Cast Album (Audio CD)
Well recorded and edited with nice pictures.

Enormous difference between old songs (excellent) and new songs (just average).

Good introduction for Londos show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Singin' in the Rain: The 2012 London Cast Album
Singin' in the Rain: The 2012 London Cast Album by Adam Cooper (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews