Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, sad, inspired american indie
I got this by accident when I had some dollars to use up coming back from holiday in the US and it's one of the best albums I've ever bought. It's sad and inspiring and really heartfelt, and stands repeated listening very well. My only quibble is with the more country-style songs at the end of each side, but if you like country more than me that should turn into a plus.
Published on 16 July 2001

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars prompt but disapointing.
Having listened to this music on blinkbox i was happy to find the cd at a low price. I was aware that i was purchasing a second hand cd which i have no problem with but it was advertised as being in a good condition, and whilst it arrived promptly when i played the cd it jumped and kept skipping. When i examined the cd i saw that it was damaged underneath and wouldnt...
Published 12 months ago by sarah


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, sad, inspired american indie, 16 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: New Miserable Experience (Audio CD)
I got this by accident when I had some dollars to use up coming back from holiday in the US and it's one of the best albums I've ever bought. It's sad and inspiring and really heartfelt, and stands repeated listening very well. My only quibble is with the more country-style songs at the end of each side, but if you like country more than me that should turn into a plus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic US Guitar Indie album that captured the spirit of the time, 7 Sep 2006
By 
Mr. A. Hoang "my REAL wall" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New Miserable Experience (Audio CD)
Sadly broken up now, The Gin Blossoms produced one of the greatest songs to come out of the states in a long time. Hey Jealousy, the second track on this album was on so many film soundtracks but still retains the fresh energy it had when it first released, even 'til this day. The whole of this album is in much the same vein and their sound, although not entirely original, is refreshing and uplifting, managing to avoid getting bogged down in guitar riffs. A vital album for any collection and anyone interested in US Indie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic package of classic record, 2 Oct 2002
10 years on from the original issue and it hasnt dated at all.
Possibly my favorite LP ever, uplifting and yet sad in a way that few other singers or songwriters can manage. Allison Road, Lost Horizons and Hey Jealousy are probably the stand out tracks although personally Id say all but 3 (on disc1) are classics. Its sad to think how much more fantastic music Doug Hopkins could have produced. At the same time the rest of the band wrote plenty of great songs so its good to hear that they've reformed.
The 2nd disc is probably more for hardened fans than the casual lsitener although songs like Keli Richards, Heart Away, Soul Deep and Angels Tonight wouldnt be out of place on Disc 1.
This and the re-issue of Dusted means a bit of a treat for Blossoms fans dare we hope for some new material......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UNDER-RATED AND HIGHLY EMOTIONAL, 22 Nov 2007
This review is from: New Miserable Experience (Audio CD)
This album has been the cornerstone of my late teens to the present day and has provided great background to much soul searching time.
personal highlight is 'Pieces of the night' (a slightly enhanced version is available on the 'DELUXE' edition) but all songs have a catchy edge to them and it is not a light hearted album to enjoy on a bright sunny day,but an introspective view on what most people go through at most times of life.
not as shoe gazingly self deprecating as morrisey but instead passed over on these shores,as slightly miserable songs dont go down well here.besides which,kurt cobain and the ilk were storming the charts with grunge and thus,new miserable experience got consigned to the archives.

buy this album if you have loved and lost,been upset or just like music that makes you cry sometimes.

no album has done this before or since - even their later albums - congratulations im sorry or major lodge victory dont really hit the lows (highs) like this does.

god bless the gin blossoms and all they bring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars woohoo, 1 Oct 2002
By 
its great to see the Gin's getting relreased here in this great 2cd set, firstly the track listing quoted by amazon is wrong, the first disc is a remastered version of N.M.E it does NOT have any extra tracks on it, the second cd conatains all the non N.M.E trqacks including those quoted as being on disk one. anyway im sure most of you will have heard N.M.E so im gonna talk about disc 2. it contains some great rare stuff and live tracks from the Gin's the first three sound a little odd but thats prob due to the proiduction, there ssome reqally good tracks off the 'up and crumbling' persiond the live tracks are great too, though a live cd would have been better, and the reast of this disk used for more rare stuff, but you cant complain, all in all this is classic Gin's great lines killer hooks and like my other fav band the Rembrandts, disgracefully good harmonies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sounds even more 'Punchier' than the original, 1 Dec 2011
By 
Lewis Slade (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a HUGE fan of remastering, when it goes right, and the effort and care is taken over such a project. THIS deluxe edition has been given that care, and jesus, does the album benefit from it. It sounds beefy, meaty, punchier than the original, glorious! The same goes for the 2nd disc of material also, a perfect package to give this era of work by the 'Blossoms' a fitting crown. Some people here are moaning about a price, well, go download it if you think that can compare from hearing it direct from disc. CD wins everytime over a compressed MP3, but it's your call! As long as you enjoy it, lord knows this record deserves to be remembered :-).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb U.S rock, 14 Feb 2001
This review is from: New Miserable Experience (Audio CD)
As a Brit, American Rock is rare unless you buy it over the net. I have had this album for years and it is one of my favourites - full of hooks and catchiness. Paints a dreamscape in my minds eye...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just as I remembered, 12 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Miserable Experience (Audio CD)
Bought this again having lost my original copy. Have it on rotation on my car CD player. Nice trip down nostalgia lane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gin blossoms, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
album good. enjoy this group. have other albums of theirs. quick service , not sure i want to write anything else
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars prompt but disapointing., 1 Sep 2013
This review is from: New Miserable Experience (Audio CD)
Having listened to this music on blinkbox i was happy to find the cd at a low price. I was aware that i was purchasing a second hand cd which i have no problem with but it was advertised as being in a good condition, and whilst it arrived promptly when i played the cd it jumped and kept skipping. When i examined the cd i saw that it was damaged underneath and wouldnt play. Quite disapointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

New Miserable Experience
New Miserable Experience by Gin Blossoms (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews