Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Well written, produced, and performed!"
This is the soundtrack of the 1976 film "A Star Is Born", and yes, this is where Barbara Streisand's hit single came from, "Evergreen" written by Paul Wiliams and Streisand. This is not the only good song on the album. Every track song by Streisand is a gem, thanks to strong production from Phil Ramone and good written from Paul Williams, Rupert...
Published on 26 Sept. 2000 by Joseph J. Brigante

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not much of KK.
I bought this for the KK songs but it's mostly BS screaming except for Evergreen which is OK.
KK is mostly screaming too..yeuk.
Poor songs and even worse 'singing'.
Both should be ashamed of themselves making such a sub -standard cd.
But making the film was very profitable no doubt.
Published on 7 July 2009 by Dodo


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Well written, produced, and performed!", 26 Sept. 2000
By 
Joseph J. Brigante "Joseph Brigante" (Norwalk, CT United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Star Is Born (Audio CD)
This is the soundtrack of the 1976 film "A Star Is Born", and yes, this is where Barbara Streisand's hit single came from, "Evergreen" written by Paul Wiliams and Streisand. This is not the only good song on the album. Every track song by Streisand is a gem, thanks to strong production from Phil Ramone and good written from Paul Williams, Rupert Holmes, and even Kenny Loggins. "Everything" is a stand out track just as well done as "Evergreen", but in a different style. "The Woman In the Moon" is fantastic, and so is "I Believe In Love". Streisand and Kris Kristofferson singing "Lost In Side Of You" is beautiful, and one of the best duets Streisand has ever done. Kris Kristofferson shines with the song "Crippled Crow", which would have been even better if the film producers let him sing it in the film. The last song on the album is a reprise of "Evergreen" with Kristofferson being a background vocal. It is beautiful to finish up with this. The best soundtrack of 1976.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!!, 8 Feb. 2002
This review is from: A Star Is Born (Audio CD)
This album shows Streisand's incredibly versatile talents (and Kris is not bad either). Not just for girlies, does stand out in any rock-n-roll collection. One of the great classics of the seventies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a fantastic rock-n-roll movie and soundtrack!, 20 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: A Star Is Born (Audio CD)
The soundtrack to this movie is superb. 'Watch Closely Now' and 'Hellacious Acres' are two of the best songs ever recorded by Kris Kristofferson. And we get to see the 'blues' style emerge from Barbara Streisand. This is a must have CD to complete any archive rock-n-roll or 'blues' collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous memories, 10 Feb. 2015
By 
Lynnshrieves - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Star Is Born (Audio CD)
Super, have this on vinyl, but wanted an easier to play version. Great memories of the film rekindled too. This lady has the greatest voice and Kris Kristofferson complements her well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 7 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Star Is Born (Audio CD)
This is a brilliant album brought back lots of happy memories. Saw the film when it came out and bought the album on vinyl then. Brilliant as usual Barbra streisend amazing voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great to hear this again, 27 May 2013
By 
P. Lim (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I remember hearing this music first time round and really enjoyed listening to this again. Singing along, still remember all the works
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Been looking 4 this for ages !!!!!, 6 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Star Is Born (Audio CD)
i have been trying to get this for simply ages , so glad i looked on Amazon as i got it for a Bargain cost :-) , excellent copy :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top nostalgia album, 23 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Is Born (Audio CD)
My favourite film of all time so I was never going to hate it. Gives me gooses bumps
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Star Is Born (Audio CD)
Great. All as expected , thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Mar. 2015
By 
Mrs. J. A. Spencer (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Is Born (Audio CD)
Excellent CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Star Is Born
A Star Is Born by Paul Williams (Audio CD - 1994)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews