Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lot of very good, and some excellence
Two Tribes
Drive
Purple Rain
Time After time
I Want to know what love is
Born in the USA
The Power of Love (Jenifer Rush)
Thriller
Total Eclipse of the Heart
Hello (Lionel Richie)
Modern Girl

The LSO demonstrates just how endebted all the Jacko fans and his estate should be to the composition of Rod Temperton...
Published on 27 Nov. 2012 by Prof TBun

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Maybe it's an age thing?
I remember going to see the London Symphony Orchestra at the Royal Albert Hall when 'Classic Rock' and all its spin offs were all the rage....a music fashion thing, I suppose. Anyway it hasn't ridden time very well. As my wife said when I was playing it in the car on a long journey, "this belongs in a lift!", and I really had to agree. Brings back loads of good...
Published 9 months ago by N. Goldsmith


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lot of very good, and some excellence, 27 Nov. 2012
By 
Prof TBun (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Power of Classic Rock (Audio CD)
Two Tribes
Drive
Purple Rain
Time After time
I Want to know what love is
Born in the USA
The Power of Love (Jenifer Rush)
Thriller
Total Eclipse of the Heart
Hello (Lionel Richie)
Modern Girl

The LSO demonstrates just how endebted all the Jacko fans and his estate should be to the composition of Rod Temperton. The orchestra's performance of "Thriller" is every bit as captivating and for me is the best track.

The one track which doesn't make the grade, is "The Power of Love". The horn solo fails to be in any way comparable to Jennifer's original vocals.

"Hello" begins with a superb haunting cello solo, it builds so gently with support from harp, flute, and strings, then the horns and woodwind, then yuck, Yuck, YUCK as it morphs into to a dreadful synthetic mush. Such a dreadful shame, because until the machines joined in, it was something very special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Maybe it's an age thing?, 12 May 2014
By 
N. Goldsmith "goldsmith52" (Tunbridge Wells, Kent, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Power of Classic Rock (Audio CD)
I remember going to see the London Symphony Orchestra at the Royal Albert Hall when 'Classic Rock' and all its spin offs were all the rage....a music fashion thing, I suppose. Anyway it hasn't ridden time very well. As my wife said when I was playing it in the car on a long journey, "this belongs in a lift!", and I really had to agree. Brings back loads of good memories, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A blast from the past, 10 Aug. 2012
By 
Karl (North Devon) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Power of Classic Rock (Audio CD)
I had this CD on tape in the 1980's and I loved it. However, it had been lost in time and I had fogotten about this music until I found a song on You Tube and this led me to Amazon to see if it was available on CD. It was available second hand and was a great copy. I am now reliving this music again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic sounds, 24 Oct. 2012
This review is from: The Power of Classic Rock (Audio CD)
classic songs like two tribes,drive,purple rain,time after time,power of love,thriller and more played by the london symphony orchestra.fantastic through headphones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great choice of classic hits, 14 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Power of Classic Rock (Audio CD)
Used to own this on cassette and really pleased to be able to now have it on CD. Just as good as remembered! If you like 80's music you'll love this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars power, 17 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Power of Classic Rock (Audio CD)
So thrilled to find that they are now doing the classic rock in CDs will be buying more of these
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Power of Classic Rock
The Power of Classic Rock by London Symphony Orchestra (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews