Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Odds and Sods and then some
A review of this album back in 1974 stated "The Who's outtakes are more interesting than most band's albums" or such. Here's a thing which The Who have in common with Bob Dylan; both have a mountain of unreleased gems sitting in the vaults. At least nowadays Ol' Bob is getting around to releasing his via The Bootleg Series. This collection was compiled by John eEntwistle...
Published on 30 Jan. 2009 by Substitute66

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good cd....but you also need the vinyl
The cd is good with bonus tracks,but it's well worth owning the vinyl version if you can get a copy.
There are differences to several tracks such as 'Postcard' , 'I'm The Face' and 'Glow Girl'.
The vinyl tracks have a more raw feel to them (not like the remixed cd version).Get a copy of the vinyl and you'll see what i mean.
Published on 21 Sept. 2011 by Mrs. T. Stratton


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great who, 4 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Odds & Sods (Audio CD)
To my mind some of the best stuff the who have ev3r made, but thats just an old wrinklie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Marvellous Collection - Just a Shame they tinkered with the Track Order, 14 Aug. 2014
By 
Mark Syder (Prescot, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Odds & Sods (Audio CD)
While the other members of The Who were working on the film of Tommy, John Entwistle gathered together a collection of previously unreleased songs for a compilation album. The exception was I'm The Face, which had been released on single by The High Numbers before they changed their name to The Who.

Some years later the album was remade for the CD generation with several tracks added, including songs that didn't make it to the final versions of Tommy and Quadrophenia.

My only complaint about this collection is that the order of the tracks was changed when the expanded version was released. I much prefer it when the original order is retained and the new tracks added on at the end, but the new version of Odds And Sods has the tracks arranged in chronological order, so the new and the original are intermingled.

Despite that one criticism, this is a marvellous album that will grace the collection of any Who fan. The highlights for me include Love Ain't For Keeping, Pure And Easy, and Long Live Rock. The best track of all (for me) is Naked Eye. Despite my complaint about the order of the tracks I have to be pleased that they saved the best till last! Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I call this a bargain...., 3 Oct. 2012
By 
Mr. A. P. Jennings (Berkhamsted, Herts, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Odds & Sods (Audio CD)
Smashing addition to any Who collection or indeed a smashing primer for a Who career overview. I must confess to a preference for the earlier material (I can't get enough versions of them playing 'Leaving Here'), but even the post-Mod rock poses are great, better than many bands best bits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oooooooooooooo, 28 April 2012
By 
This review is from: Odds & Sods (Audio CD)
These tracks remind me of everything good about the whooooooo. Roger pete kieth and John playing b sides at there best.
A must have album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection, lots of extra tracks, 10 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Odds & Sods (Audio CD)
Bought to replace original LP. Great collection, lots of extra tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Odds & Sods (Audio CD)
an excellent addition to my record collection their music never ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good cd....but you also need the vinyl, 21 Sept. 2011
By 
This review is from: Odds & Sods (Audio CD)
The cd is good with bonus tracks,but it's well worth owning the vinyl version if you can get a copy.
There are differences to several tracks such as 'Postcard' , 'I'm The Face' and 'Glow Girl'.
The vinyl tracks have a more raw feel to them (not like the remixed cd version).Get a copy of the vinyl and you'll see what i mean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Who, 11 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Odds & Sods (Audio CD)
Excellent album - old style Rock !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars all who fans should have this. indispensible, 20 Oct. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Odds & Sods (Audio CD)
all who fans should have this. indispensible, even if you have the vinyl version Who outakes are sometimes more interesting hat the 'proper' versions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Odds & Sods (Audio CD)
excellent album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Odds & Sods
Odds & Sods by The Who (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews