Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most listened to CD I have ever bought
I bought this when the film came out and all I can say is thank God it is not an audio cassette or it would have worn out by now. Whilst every track is fantastic the best are the haunting "Rose", "The Sinking" (fantastic violin playing) and the "Death of Titanic" - haunting and robust. The score runs in much the order of the film so you can...
Published on 29 Jan 2002

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Quantity rather than quality
I bought this CD set after seeing the movie on VHS, and chose this rather than the others on the basis that it was cheaper and had more music. But I have to admit it seems to me to be a case of "getting what you pay for" in this particular instance. To give a fair criticism I certainly need to listen all the way through to more than one version of the CD, but...
Published on 21 Jan 2001 by Quantium


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most listened to CD I have ever bought, 29 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Titanic : Music from the Motion Picture (Audio CD)
I bought this when the film came out and all I can say is thank God it is not an audio cassette or it would have worn out by now. Whilst every track is fantastic the best are the haunting "Rose", "The Sinking" (fantastic violin playing) and the "Death of Titanic" - haunting and robust. The score runs in much the order of the film so you can imagine the scenes in the correct order when listening to it. The only (small) critisim I have is that "A Building Panic" from Horner's follow-up "Return to Titanic" was not included here between tracks 8 and 9. Otherwise, if you're one of the very few who doesn't own this CD yet, go out and buy it. It should be in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most intelligent dramatic scores in existence, 18 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Titanic : Music from the Motion Picture (Audio CD)
The panoply of emotions that this soundtrack conveys is something of a 20th century feat in film music. From the deeply mechanical movements of the ship to the woeful outpourings of its doomed passengers, Horner manages to play an important role in our suspension of disbelief as viewers. If any one composer has made moviegoers feel more empathy towards characters and strikingly conveyed the grandeur of the mother of all moving objects then it is Horner. What is most intelligent with this soundtrack though is his inherent ability to blend the most authentic music of the time with the modern. To understand the size of achievement here we can't say that we have something bigger than John Wiliiams's Star Wars or ET which revolutionised our viewing of modern film, but we can say that it comes pretty near, especially when we look at the technological blending of music that Horner manages to so convincingly and satisfyingly manipulate. Music can extend the emotional and psychological range of characters and envelop and involve audiences in ways nothing else in movies can, and with this soundtrack Horner has done it perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHO NEEDS THE SEA TO KEEP TITANIC AFLOAT, 4 Sep 2003
This review is from: Titanic : Music from the Motion Picture (Audio CD)
Well James horner has produced a wonderfull score which captures
the drama and the majesty of story of titanic, the music tells it's own story as we watch and remember those who lost their lives in this maritime disaster.
this soundtrack has many great highlights, DISTANT MEMORIES, SOUTHAMPTON, ROSE, LEAVING PORT, HARD TO STARBOARD AND HYMN TO THE SEA.
for those who love horners music this is a great score to have,
i play this cd all time, it's wonderfull.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Quantity rather than quality, 21 Jan 2001
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Titanic (Audio CD)
I bought this CD set after seeing the movie on VHS, and chose this rather than the others on the basis that it was cheaper and had more music. But I have to admit it seems to me to be a case of "getting what you pay for" in this particular instance. To give a fair criticism I certainly need to listen all the way through to more than one version of the CD, but still this is my impression as a customer. If you want 2hrs of Titanic based background music while you work then go for this set. If you want an accurate rendition of what you heard as background in the film, then go for one of the shorter more expensive versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing in places, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Titanic : Music from the Motion Picture (Audio CD)
James Horner's 'Titanic' is generally sloppy; some tracks sound like a cheesy gcse composition written for choir whilst others are harmonically confusing. Highlights, if there are any, must be the tracks 'Distant Memories,' 'An Ocean of Memories' and all tracks involved with the sinking of the ship. At least with these tracks Horner shows some creative thinking instead of repeated pop chords with a synthesised choir.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Happy, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Titanic : Music from the Motion Picture (Audio CD)
A very good and fast Service. A lovely sounding CD. This will and has been played many times. The music is haunting and a stark reminder of the end of so many lives. I find track 13 memorable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very evocative, 16 Jan 2014
By 
Graeme A. G. Scott (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It can be hard sometimes to listen to an OMPS album without having the visuals to fall back on placing the tracks in context. This is not the case here. Whilst I would not go so far as to say that it is symphonic it does have some gorgeous moments and the particular tracks flow together in a way that allows you to listen as you would a classical body of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok ish, 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Titanic : Music from the Motion Picture (Audio CD)
Bought this for a titanic themed party but did not use any of the music. Best bit was when jack did the freezing conversation with rose with a super shakey voice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars download, 21 Oct 2013
It was really simple and easy to download the music. It was for my son for his new galaxy ace. He loves the movie and music. Will def use again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Titanic : Music from the Motion Picture (Audio CD)
of course the music on this is wonderful. i love how each song makes you feel different and you can feel the emotions behind the music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Titanic : Music from the Motion Picture
Titanic : Music from the Motion Picture by James Horner (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews