Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Musicians perspective
As a musician I can listen to this CD endlessly and never fail to marvel at it. All the consituent parts (Pastorius, Zawinul, Shorter, Erskine) have played on hundreds of albums, but they reached their peak with Weather Report. There has not been a band since that even comes close to this. What they have created is sublime music. It doesn't need categorisation...
Published on 11 Aug 2005 by David Heath

versus
4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The start of the decline
As a teenage rock fan of the 1970s who came across to jazz-rock, I have to say that what made Weather Report great was always the rhythm section -- not the jousting between Zawinul and Shorter. Thus for me the great Weather Report moments are the bass duel between Miroslav Vitous and Andrew White on 'Boogie Woogie Waltz', Al Johnson's bass on 'Scarlet Woman', and the...
Published on 15 Sep 2007 by Gavin Wilson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Musicians perspective, 11 Aug 2005
By 
David Heath "Davo-London" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 8:30: Live (Audio CD)
As a musician I can listen to this CD endlessly and never fail to marvel at it. All the consituent parts (Pastorius, Zawinul, Shorter, Erskine) have played on hundreds of albums, but they reached their peak with Weather Report. There has not been a band since that even comes close to this. What they have created is sublime music. It doesn't need categorisation. Listen instead. Just because Pastorius is reckoned to be the world's best bass player means nothing until you hear him play in the context of WR. The music is full of melody and counter melody, beautiful timbres from each instrument and a fantastic rhythm. Check out Remark you made at 52 beats per minute. Something truly magnificent happened when these musos got together. We may never experince this originality again. Enjoy. Davo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The classic line-up - three sides live., 2 Feb 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: 8:30: Live (Audio CD)
I have always felt that Weather Report remain today, as in their time, a deeply unfashionable band. Fusion has been mocked mercilessly - not quite jazz and not quite rock. What I know however is that Joe Zawinul is unique in trying to create completely new sounds with his keyboards, and never better live and never better than on tracks like Black Market and Badia/Boogie Woogie Waltz Medley. With the classic line up of Pastorius, Erskine, Shorter and Zawinul himself, this album simply drives a horse and cart through the myths about Fusion.
This album, at times lyrical, at times straight ahead rock, fashions a heady brew of sounds, melodies, beats and polyrhythmns. This is never better than when Pastorius kicks up his storm on Bass, especially on Black Market, one of the best tracks on this album. The studio tracks aren't bad either - Brown Street is particularly good. But for pure out and out magnificence listen to 'A Remark You Made'. Simply gorgeous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Weather Report..., 26 Oct 2012
By 
Tim Kidner "Hucklebrook Hound" (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 8:30: Live (Audio CD)
Like others, I had this wonderful album on vinyl, until it would play no more. As a 2 CD digitally remastered upgrade, I can now hear the silences as well as those glorious sounds!

Though I've more Weather Report than any other 'Fusion' act, I still won't claim to know every contribution from each of the main contributors here - music to me is more about the overall enjoyment and satisfaction it gives. Plus beauty, pleasure and excitement, too, in this case!

Though I bought the 5 CD original master set recently, 8:30 is one of those albums that I return to, because maybe, it encapsulates the best of Weather Report. Not all their best work, obviously, that wouldn't be possible but the range of moods, tempos and compositions really do show them at their best.

Again, others have commented on the superb renditions here of their best known pieces - Black Market, A Remark You Made and perhaps best of all, the opener for CD2, Birdland, picking up the tempo. I've always enjoyed the bass solo, Slang, you don't hear too many of those and here it's done with incredible musicianship, you almost want Jaco Pastorius to play with such flair ALL the time! The nine and half minute Badia/Boogie Woogie Waltz Medley is a great jazzier-tinged piece with some very smart ivory tinkling - most satisfying.

Yes, it's a slight pity that it's not a properly LIVE album, where one track runs into each other with the crowd filling in the gaps. But, for me, it's a close second and where anyone gets the idea that it's poorly recorded should get their hi-fi mended, with it's clear top-end, wide stereo and a certain ambience on some of the live tracks that really possess atmosphere - that feeling you were there, or you really wanted to have been!

So, yes, if I could only choose one Weather Report CD to take to a desert island, it would indeed be 8.30. No contest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What can I say?, 3 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 8:30: Live (Audio CD)
I have worn out the vinyl so finally got the CD, brilliant stuff, truly BRILLIANT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 8:30: Live (Audio CD)
Husband liked it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Dec 2014
By 
R. Thacker (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 8:30: Live (Audio CD)
All good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The start of the decline, 15 Sep 2007
By 
Gavin Wilson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 8:30: Live (Audio CD)
As a teenage rock fan of the 1970s who came across to jazz-rock, I have to say that what made Weather Report great was always the rhythm section -- not the jousting between Zawinul and Shorter. Thus for me the great Weather Report moments are the bass duel between Miroslav Vitous and Andrew White on 'Boogie Woogie Waltz', Al Johnson's bass on 'Scarlet Woman', and the interplay between Ngudu and Alyro Lima on 'Between the Thighs'. Pastorius's composition 'Havona', which ends HEAVY WEATHER, is also a supreme track.

I saw Weather Report in concert both in the five-man line-up (with Badrena and Acuna on percussion at Oxford Poly in 1977) and the four-man version (with Erskine at the Hammersmith Odeon around 78/79), and I don't believe Erskine was an adequate replacement for the two Latins whatsoever.

I don't hold any grudge against Erskine now (he's made some nice ECM albums since), but I did at the time, because Weather Report were less exciting with him on board. And by this stage, it seemed as if Zawinul and Pastorius were ganging up on Shorter, and gradually squeezing him out of the composing and performing limelight. Pastorius had to be on drugs to keep doing his lengthy solo spots, despite the adverse boos from much of the audience. (He looks half out of it when he attempts a short-ish solo on the excellent Joni Mitchell 'Shadows and Light' concert DVD of 1979.) So the seeds of Weather Report's decline were being sown, and Pastorius was set for departure and tragedy soon after.

8:30 doesn't stand up well as a live album. The sound quality is poor, and the fact that they tack some studio pieces (including the dire 'Orphan') on at the end indicates that the band recognise they are short-changing fans. It's a real shame that none of the classic line-ups -- in my book, from SWEETNIGHTER to HEAVY WEATHER -- laid down a great live album. 8:30 isn't awful, and I find it more listenable than the earlier LIVE IN TOKYO, but really Weather Report were at their best in the studio, producing many layers of percussion, bass and keyboards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

8:30: Live
8:30: Live by Weather Report (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews