Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new breed of music?
Incredible music from one of the best bands around. This is more 'metal' than their later albums, much faster, but very badly produced(compared to Chris Goss' amazing work on the other three albums). This still has very groovy desert beats, but if you are buying your 1'st KYUSS album, get BLUES FOR THE RED SUN. It is one of the greatest albums of all time. It has...
Published on 24 Aug 2000

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Garage Metal
After buying the other Kyuss albums, I was a bit surprised by Wretch. Its a very different sounding record & is more Garage-metal than Stoner / Desert Rock as they dont quite have that Bass heavy, gut punching sound. It is still a very good album, but get the other ones first.
Published on 2 Feb 2004 by James N. R. Goad


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Garage Metal, 2 Feb 2004
This review is from: Wretch (International Release-Explicit Version) (Audio CD)
After buying the other Kyuss albums, I was a bit surprised by Wretch. Its a very different sounding record & is more Garage-metal than Stoner / Desert Rock as they dont quite have that Bass heavy, gut punching sound. It is still a very good album, but get the other ones first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kyuss - Wretch, 6 Aug 2011
By 
Gentlegiantprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wretch (International Release-Explicit Version) (Audio CD)
Wretch is the debut studio album from the legendary stoner/desert rock band Kyuss. Who's lineup features Josh Homme, Nick Oliveri, Brant Bjork and John Garcia all of whom have become synonymous with interesting and creative music.

Released in 1991, the album sounds a lot different to the later Kyuss albums, all of which are essential listening for any fan of the genre, and even the band have stated at different points how they were unhappy with the sound quality on this early album.

While Wretch may not sound musically all that similar to the better Kyuss material or as good in terms of production, it is still an interesting and enjoyable record that fans should give a fair try. Tracks like "Katzenjammer," "Son Of A Bitch" and especially "Stage III" are high quality and worth a listen.

Overall; Wretch shouldn't be your first Kyuss album, but if you have already tried their three main studio albums and if you just want some more music from Kyuss, don't feel that this isn't worth trying out as there is still a lot to enjoy about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new breed of music?, 24 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Wretch - AUTOGRAPHED (Audio CD)
Incredible music from one of the best bands around. This is more 'metal' than their later albums, much faster, but very badly produced(compared to Chris Goss' amazing work on the other three albums). This still has very groovy desert beats, but if you are buying your 1'st KYUSS album, get BLUES FOR THE RED SUN. It is one of the greatest albums of all time. It has been called 'as heavy as a concrete brontosaurus', and that is just 'cos of Chris Goss' work. WRETCH is the last kyuss album you should buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MINT, 29 Oct 2008
This review is from: Wretch (International Release-Explicit Version) (Audio CD)
This is where they began ( sort of ), so it isnt fair to compare it to the later more complexed and honed Kyuss sound.

I held out on buying this as the reveiws lead me to beleive it may not be as good as the later albums. It certainly is , its just different, which is nice because its raw, and you get a better impression of the band as 'One', very cohesive.

The bass is imense ( sorry Reeder ),as much as I dont want to like the chap, Oliveri sparked something special there. All aspects of this album are very good, just because it doesnt have the same unusual but fantastic production as the later albums, doesnt meen its badly produced ( this was mentioned in another review ).

This is a straightforward, raw Kyuss, and an absolute MUST HAVE! The very srong, and sure footed foundations for a legacy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The beginnings of genious..., 31 July 2003
This review is from: Wretch - AUTOGRAPHED (Audio CD)
After buying 'Welcome to Sky Valley' and 'Blues for the Red Sun' I decided to follow up my growing interest in Josh Hommes former band, Kyuss. After seeing him perform live with his newer band, Queens of the Stone age and listening to their back catalog (along with my two other Kyuss albums) I have to say that alot of expectation was placed upon 'Wretch' even for a debut album. At first listen, I was astounded. A teenage Josh Homme surley wasnt capable of such eclectic mastery we hear later on in his career. HWY 47 provides an explosive induction to everything they were about, tuned down riffs, creeping bass lines and thrashing drums - switching from progressive to aggresive seemlessly. Kyuss display their love for slowly building rhythms just to go all out on songs like Black Widow and the Law. Uncharacteristically for the end of a Kyuss album is still, and i am adamant to this day - one of their most original peices of music (instead of spoof tracks like at the end of 'Valley' and 'Blues') Stage III is an instrumental that is almost a marching beat that progresses into a thumping rhythm with killer effects. If you like other Kyuss albums, you will be impressed. If your wanting to purchase your first Kyuss album - get a feel of their greatness with a later albums -a dn when you've grown to appreciate them that you can worship them no more - come to this and it will all start again.... happy listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Shape of things to come, 19 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wretch (International Release-Explicit Version) (Audio CD)
I think this is an unfairly overlooked album - some great playing on it and the band had already got its signature sound, Josh Homme's guitar is unmistakeable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stoner filth!!!!, 24 Jan 2003
This review is from: Wretch - AUTOGRAPHED (Audio CD)
Their first and hardest hitting album. Dirty, sludgy and full of powerfull, earth shaking riffs deisgned to melt your head. These guys have a masters degree in the art of beef warfare!!! The questionable recording quality in my opinion only enhances the album. A must-have for stoner fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent debut!, 7 Dec 2005
This review is from: Wretch (International Release-Explicit Version) (Audio CD)
in my opinion this is the best album kyuss have done, and possibly out of wretch and rated r (qotsa) my faveourite piece of josh homme's work. it was the first kyuss cd i bought, after being a huge qotsa fan, and this was my first real listen to stoner music (excluding qotsa!).
like i have said before, this is my fave kyuss album, although this is usually me with mixed reactions with people opting for blues for the red sun. to be honest though, you cant go wrong with any kyuss - they are all amazing!
stand out songs include deadly kiss, the law, love has passed me by and im not, as well as countless others.
i highly recomend any1 buys this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews