Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best around
Compilations - particularly those which include only sub-selections from individual works - are often frowned upon by classical purists. However with opera in particular it is entirely possible that you might not want to listen to the whole work, but only to individual musical elements within it. For what it is (note that my opinion here is likely coloured by the fact...
Published on 13 Mar 2010 by A Reviewer

versus
6 of 46 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware
All true music fans beware! This is not Wagner from X Factor, in fact I'm not sure it's even music. It sounds like pretension, wrapped in boredom, with a big side order of YAWN.
There isn't even any bongos, how can I get my party on without bongos?
Dull, dull, dull.
Published on 26 Jan 2011 by Richard


Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best around, 13 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wagner: Overtures and Orchestral Highlights (Audio CD)
Compilations - particularly those which include only sub-selections from individual works - are often frowned upon by classical purists. However with opera in particular it is entirely possible that you might not want to listen to the whole work, but only to individual musical elements within it. For what it is (note that my opinion here is likely coloured by the fact that - with respect to opera - I am very much NOT in the 'whole work or nothing' crowd) this compilation is the best available. No obscure, technically iffy and musically mediocre renditions here: this compilation centers around orchestras and conductors which need no introduction. In particular the Karl Bohm version of the Prelude to Act III from Lohengrin is among the best recordings of _any_ classical music I have ever heard. It really is no exaggeration to say that it is worth buying this CD for that track alone - but you also get very good recordings of other Wagner music too. Put this in your 'definite buy' column!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sublime music performed by one of the world's greatest orchestras., 24 Oct 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wagner: Overtures and Orchestral Highlights (Audio CD)
I would have given this five stars if the compiler had decided on a theme rather than choosing this rather odd mix of the heroic and heartrending. However I have to say that the performances of The Good Friday Prayer, the Funeral Music from Gotterdamerung and the Liebestod from Tristan und Isolde are among the best you could hope to find. It is worth adding the disc to your collection to be able to hear these three beautiful pieces whenever you wish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite!, 26 Nov 2012
By 
Mr. Bryn M. Jones "flying V" (Anglesey, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wagner: Overtures and Orchestral Highlights (Audio CD)
The music is superb, but unfortunately (for me), "Ride of the Valkyries" includes some singing, which is not what I wanted or expected. That is my only gripe, as I thought I had ordered an orchestral only "Overtures and Orchestral Highlights" CD. The clue was in the title, but I'm sure most Wagner lovers won't mind one little bit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Observation for Amazon, 24 Aug 2010
By 
L. J. Austin (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wagner: Overtures and Orchestral Highlights (Audio CD)
Wagner overtures and orchestral highlights.Amazon needs to be more specific as to precise details of compilations stating title of an excerpt and who the performers are.

LJA New Zealand
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect choice for Wagner's lover, 23 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Wagner: Overtures and Orchestral Highlights (Audio CD)
Finding Wagner was one of the greatest discovery in my life. But I found that Wagner's compositions could be enjoyed maximally if they were performed by Berlin, Vienna, Bayreuth, or Concertgebouw. I collect Wagner's CDs btw, coz I'm crazy about it. This CD is a perfect choice for those who love Wagner, or love music with feelings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wagner Overtures &orchestral Highlights, 12 April 2009
By 
Thomas Dodd (IE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wagner: Overtures and Orchestral Highlights (Audio CD)
I enjoyed this CD ,it was very carefully made .The orchestras & conductors are the cream off the top. Sincerely Tom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars asxxs, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wagner: Overtures and Orchestral Highlights (Audio CD)
dds ddss dsdd dsd sds dsds sdsd sdsd sdsd sdds dsds sds sd sdsd sdds sd sdd sds sdds sdds sdsd dsd sdds
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 46 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware, 26 Jan 2011
This review is from: Wagner: Overtures and Orchestral Highlights (Audio CD)
All true music fans beware! This is not Wagner from X Factor, in fact I'm not sure it's even music. It sounds like pretension, wrapped in boredom, with a big side order of YAWN.
There isn't even any bongos, how can I get my party on without bongos?
Dull, dull, dull.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wagner: Overtures and Orchestral Highlights
Wagner: Overtures and Orchestral Highlights by Richard Wagner (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews