Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars25
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 23 March 2008
For the vast majority of artists, a greatest hits or best of collection is the ideal entry point into their catalogue. For NWA, that's not the case. As influential as they were, if you're a casual fan, it's not the greatest hits you want, it's Straight Outta Compton, the rap landmark that basically brought gangsta to the mainstream. Somewhat uniquely, This Greatest Hits collection is really much more for the fans than the passers by, featuring as it does a number of skits, songs and mixes that were previously unavailable.

The cuts from Compton are all classics, although some would have enjoyed the inclusion of, for example, 'Parental Discretion Iz Advised,' or even pre-album single 'Boyz N The Hood,' written for Eazy-E by Ice Cube. What's more, somewhat annoyingly, Compton's title track and 'Express Yourself' are both present as remixes rather than their original mixes. 'Compton' in particular has all its momentum ruined by random inserts that add nothing to the song and don't actually give an impression of the impact of its big drumbeat and squalling brass. 'Gangsta, Gangsta' is mercifully intact and shows just how playful NWA were at the time, spinning off into a totally different direct three and a half minutes in - something modern rap artists are mostly afraid to do.

From that point on, it was mostly downhill for NWA. Most importantly, Ice Cube quit and things were never quite the same. However almost all of NWA's best post-Cube moments are collected on this hits collection - although notably absent is 'Appetite For Destruction,' a single, showing this is not in fact a greatest hits - with the two most important being '100 Miles And Runnin'' and 'Real N****z Don't Die.' The latter is the opener to the band's second and final album 'Efil4Zaggin,' and its spiralling, apocalyptic beat shows just how ahead of his time Dr. Dre was even as early as 1991. The former is arguably NWA's greatest song, the sound of NWA doing a James Bond theme with a random Motown sample thrown in for good measure.

Also included are two NWA 'reunion' tracks, with Eazy-E obviously being absent having passed away in the 1990s. Snoop Dogg's inclusion seems a bit off-colour considering what he was saying about Eazy after the break-up, and in truth, neither track lives up to anything NWA did before and they aren't worth including.

Indeed, this compilation isn't really worth including in your record collection if you aren't already a hardcore fan - if you only want one NWA record, then make it Straight Outta Compton instead.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2003
Lets look at the track listings: 'F*** tha Police' a song that shook the L.A.P.D, 'Straight outta Compton' an insight of life in one of the roughest parts of south central L.A. 'Gangsta Gangsta' it's ryhmes tell you what a youth does in south central.'I ain't tha one' tells you about women that play men for there money. There are also 17 other great tracks. N.W.A are 5 gangsta's telling people what really goes on in the hood. Filled with anger, humour, dope beats and rhymes, this is a unstoppable album that will be loved by those who love old-school hip-hop, hustlers and G's. 5 Stars no doubt.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2004
Indeed. The worlds most dangerous group sums up Dr dre, Eazy E, MC ren and Ice cube. This album explodes with talent covering every single topic of N.W.A's interest, including disses to almost everyone you can think of, slick fast rhymes and beats, and quick witted humor. There are some wonderful tracks featured on the disc. (Some of the best are: '100 miles and runnin','Gangsta Gangsta','Real ni**az don't die' and '**** tha police') Greatest hits? Too right!! Mouth-watering hip-hop that all rap fans will enjoy.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2004
What can i say. This album really is big! The tunes are classics and with dre, ice cube etc this group is unstoppable.
Buy this album you wont regret it.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2000
For those people who know that DRE and ICE CUBE are not new to the industry you should be well aware that they were members of the infamous NWA. They were the one of the groups that changed the rap industry to become what it is today. Hits such as "Straight outa Compton" made NWA one of the best selling Rap/Hip-Hop groups of all time. This is the album containing all the great hits of the original NWA.
With the untimely death of Eazy-E Dr.DRE has found a replacement in Snoop Dogg. This will continue the legacyof the group but will not change the market as much.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2013
I don't love all of the songs on this album, but the average quality is high. I bought this mainly because of "100 miles and running" which I find amazing.
I was kind of fed up of the modern hip hop, as in the recent years more and more rappers don't rhyme on the beat's flow. My ears bleed when I hear those atrocious crimes. So I needed to go back and listen to something from what I believe is the golden period.
My favourites are Public Enemy, Run DMC, Ice Cube, Ice T, Cypress Hill and Snoop Dogg. I almost forgot Lords of the Underground. I admit I never listened much to N.W.A, and now I regret it.
This album contains a nice booklet with lots of information on the tracks and on the band. The recording quality is high; the bass frequencies are there but they're not overwhelming, so you can crank up the volume and still pick up the nuances.
If you're into 90s hip hop, this is a must-buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2001
This album is just outstanding, NWA really push the limit here with songs such as Straight Outta Compton, Fu*k Da Police and 100 Miles And Runnin', there not afraid to express themselves and they pushed Gangsta Rap to the limit. Of Couse Eazy E, Dr Dre, Ice Cube, Mc Ren and DJ Yella were the most Dangerous Group in the World and they proved it with this album. This is a must buy album for all the Hardcore rap fans, so go out and get it now.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2011
This is a very good compilation album, I have listened to it so many times since i purchased it. There are some of there best songs on it!
My only criticism is the fact it has these annoying inserts between songs and I feel they could added some songs such as Dope Man instead of them.
But overall still a 5* album :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2002
Man, this album introduced to the darkside of rap from its hardcore lyrics by cube to the phat baseline produce by dre. If your wondering what real hip hop gangster rap is - buy this album
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2008
To put it simply, this is the best album ive ever brought! Eazy-E, Ice cube and the rest of the group made songs that are still popular today. You're not going to get that from todays rappers. If you like rap GET THIS ALBUM!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)