Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sasha Ibiza - lifting the listener towards dance perfection, 15 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: SASHA PRESENTS / GLOBAL UNDERGROUND - IBIZA (Audio CD)
To those unfamiliar to the joys of progressive house, the thirteenth release from the universally acclaimed Global Underground series offers a sublime example of the qualities of the genre, with legendary DJ Sasha presenting a two CD insight into the sounds that draw worlwide dance music enthusiasts to Ibiza's finer nighteries. Global Underground have long since departed from the 'live set' approach to the mix CD, instead describing releases as indicative of the music played by featured DJs in respective locations. With some justification, the words 'Ibiza' and 'compilation' are generally indicative of non-descript, uninspiring chart-fodder. Here is the exception. CD1 takes the listener from the chilled sense of anticipation invoked by Raff and Freddy's 'Deep Progress,' into the driving, uplifting 'My Lexicon' by Sander Kleinenberg to the sheer musical bliss of Natious' 'Amber.' CD2 embroils a more club-oriented, peak time sound, taking in the seminal 'Xpander' towards the climactic finale that is 'Heaven Scent.' At the end of 'Ibiza' I cannot help but sit for a moment to reflect upon the quality that has just been experienced, the gradual shift between mood and emotion that is so effortlessly achieved, and the satisfaction that such enjoyment can be enjoyed again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Future is Trance - The Future is Sasha's!, 28 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: SASHA PRESENTS / GLOBAL UNDERGROUND - IBIZA (Audio CD)
I'll be honest, before I heard this, I first listened to the breathtaking "Xpander EP" which for me still stands as the most original, hypnotic, devastatingly deep and progressive trance record that has ever existed. Straight away, I knew that whatever Sasha would ever have produced or would ever make would be pure gold...
On my search for his material, I decided to go for his Global Underground classic which again left me lost for words, even though I bought this album some 12 months after it was released.
The first disc is good with two magical contributions from Sander Kleinenberg - "My Lexicon" and "Sacred" - just listen to the mixing from Medway to "My Lexicon" it is unreal! "Stage One" and "Amber" are the other two highlights of the first half, finishing it off in style.
In my opinion, though, disc two is the better of the two and quite possibly one of the best CD of it's kind. BT's "Fibonacci Sequence" is monumental as is their other smashing tune "Mercury & Solace". Cass and Slide bring in an incredibly atmospheric "Perception" and in the middle there's the Mother of all tunes "Xpander". To round it off with a bang Sasha borrows "Heaven Scent" from his partner in crime John Digweed's own collection - Bedrock!
In short, you can dance like mad to this album or you can chill to it.. proving the point that the whole trance/dance/techno deal is not just a bunch of synthesisers which many would never appreciate because they're often to dunk to do so - it's something that you could easily be listening to alone, tapping your right foot off the floor, your left hand off the armchair and holding a drink on your right!!! This also redefines the growing phenomenom that Progressive Trance is becoming. It sets whole new standards and is simply engrossing.
It's THE Masterpiece of Epic porpotions which you won't want to let go of, nor would you want to let it pass you by.
"Tonite and forever, God is a Dj... and His name is Sasha"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars They should stop making compilations after this!, 10 July 2000
This review is from: SASHA PRESENTS / GLOBAL UNDERGROUND - IBIZA (Audio CD)
After having listened to this CD over and over it still blows me away every time. It must be nigh on impossible to condense into a box set the emotion of a 6 hour set but this is what he manages to do. On CD 1 He takes you from the early set grooves of Deep progress and then driving on with a three track sequence of the Baseline Track, My Lexicon and the extraordinary Breeder remix of 'Nothing left' then just blows you out the other end with Space manoeuvres. CD 2 then takes it back down with a four track build up to Expander, this is epic progressive house if such a thing exists, a chugging monster of a track that will have you reaching for the volume every time then through the ethereal classic that is Mercury and Solace and on a majestic meander that finishes with his soul mate John Digweed's huge Heaven Scent. A true masterpiece. Why did the world bother making another compilation after this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sasha at his best, 3 Oct 2000
This review is from: SASHA PRESENTS / GLOBAL UNDERGROUND - IBIZA (Audio CD)
To summarize the emotions that this CD produces is easy...its simply the best form of dance music recorded. San Francisco is up there with Ibiza in what some people call technically perfect CDs. IF you dont have GU09 and GU13, u better get them right away because of everything that there is in dance music, this is the best, period! Sasha is a magician and he puts you in a dreamworld that only he can create. Progressive dance music at its best. Cracking tracks from BT make this Cd tops. Get hold of both San Francisco and Ibiza, there are the only two CD's u'll ever want. Sasha is GOD & his mixing is the best that's out there. Well enuf said......u get the picture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The King returns., 25 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: SASHA PRESENTS / GLOBAL UNDERGROUND - IBIZA (Audio CD)
An unrelenting wall of awesome sound. Sasha's unique ability to build a tune, break it back down to its bare components, then re-assemble with one almighty finale sets him apart as the world's best club DJ. The man is a legend and once more has redifined clubland with this seamless collection of deep trance. You will listen and listen to this, each time finding some section of a tune to blow you away. Forget 'if you buy one album this year', if you buy one album in your life, make it this one. Truly majestic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sasha is the bestist at this thing, 10 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: SASHA PRESENTS / GLOBAL UNDERGROUND - IBIZA (Audio CD)
Yes, San Francisco was topsd, especially because it had the geezer mouthing off about hippies at the beginning of one the CDs. However, Ibiza might just about top it. Anything with Orbital in it (they don't often get in a mix) gets my thumbs up. I have no particular desire to spend two weeks with thousands of nutters in Ibiza, but if I could have been transported to the venue for this particular mix, I could have put up with it for few hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars God is a DJ and his name's Sasha!, 3 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: SASHA PRESENTS / GLOBAL UNDERGROUND - IBIZA (Audio CD)
What can I say? This is just pure summer magic. CD1 conjures up images of the perfect sunset by the sea, while CD2 is the night right through to sunrise, which comes in the form of the glorious 'Heaven Scent'. As long as Sasha keeps showing us love with CDs like this, we'll keep showing it back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best in the series, 28 Feb 2011
By 
F. M. Havicon (Brighton, East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SASHA PRESENTS / GLOBAL UNDERGROUND - IBIZA (Audio CD)
Sasha never disappoints in this, the GU series, and also the Renaissance series with co-mixer Digweed - he's hit the nail on the head and finds some excellent tracks for our delectation, never drifting off into the dull repetitive house that we get from many other DJs on the GU scene. Gentle progressive trance at its finest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best CD Ever, 12 Dec 2000
This review is from: SASHA PRESENTS / GLOBAL UNDERGROUND - IBIZA (Audio CD)
Listen People, Sasha is here and he beats any Dj out there. I think the only Dj out there who is even close to sasha s talent is John Digweed. This Cd is a must have...Best tunes include solace and xpander(prehaps the 2 best tunes ever made)so if u r into deep house and trance this is the one...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A total dreamworld in 2 CD's!, 8 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: SASHA PRESENTS / GLOBAL UNDERGROUND - IBIZA (Audio CD)
Sasha's taste in electronica/trance music surpasses everything that I have listened to before. Sasha's mixes puts the listener in an ecstatic dreamworld from mellow and uplifting to intensifying dance music. "Xpander" was in my opinion one of the best tracks ever created by Sasha.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

SASHA PRESENTS / GLOBAL UNDERGROUND - IBIZA
SASHA PRESENTS / GLOBAL UNDERGROUND - IBIZA by Global Underground (Series) (Audio CD)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews