Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars another must buy album for every fan of Colin Vearncombe
Yet again Colin Vearncombe,has come up with the goods with this album, the Accused.The opening song "Sleeper",immediatly lets you know this album is a bit special.His vocals are fantastic throughout the album and his distinctive blues'y voice leads you invitingly from track to track. The album has 10 tracks in all,and they are all very good.The album is very...
Published on 13 Feb 2001

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Damaged CD cover
Whilst the CD itself was fine the case was completely broken when received which was very disappointing as I wanted to pass this on as a present
Published 6 months ago by Stuart Rostron


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars another must buy album for every fan of Colin Vearncombe, 13 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Accused (Audio CD)
Yet again Colin Vearncombe,has come up with the goods with this album, the Accused.The opening song "Sleeper",immediatly lets you know this album is a bit special.His vocals are fantastic throughout the album and his distinctive blues'y voice leads you invitingly from track to track. The album has 10 tracks in all,and they are all very good.The album is very much in keeping with what we now expect from Colin Vearncombe.I would recommend this album to all and especially to anyone who is perhaps looking for something a little bit different away from boy bands or steps.A very well written,produced and performed album,as Colin says,Black is dead,long live the Accused
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Colin comes up trumps again!, 28 May 2006
This review is from: Accused (Audio CD)
Anyone who was seduced by the now classic tunes 'Wonderful Life' and 'Sweetest Smile' in 1987 will know who Colin Vearncombe is. A rather odd looking chap who dosn't look like your average pop star appeared on 'Top Of The Pops' along with the likes of Alexander O'Neal, Swing Out Sister and Bros singing this sublime song which had the power to raise the hairs on the back of your neck!

Well, he's back with this 1999 release on his own Nero Schwarz label having temporarily ditched the 'Black' tag. His style has not changed over the years, an extraordinary voice encased in strong arrangements and rhythm sections.

The songs are still as you would expect, very romantic, mini sweeping epics.
'Number One' was the first single release which had all the usual trademarks, only Colin would come up with the amount of seconds it took him to realise that a girlfriend only cared for herself!
'Better Letting Go' is just how we all feel when we know a relationship has hit rock bottom. If everyone just played this record when they wanted to part with someone then there would be a lot more amicable seperations in the world!
It's the ballads I keep coming back to Colin Vearncombe for, he appears to write exactly the right song for my own personal ups and downs in life.
'The Way She Was Before' is my favourite on the album depicting a yearning for someone special who is no longer around, quite brilliant.
'Blue Sky' is more upbeat, being optimistic for once!
'Sleeper' is played in the same vain.
'Ghosts' starts with a brass section reminiscent of Dvorzak's Largo, a song for piano and voice executed with clarity.
'Yves Klein Blue' sounds a little disjointed with a foray into strings for the first time,
'St Cecilla' and 'Storm Cloud Catherine' don't really do the album justice hence the reason for 4 stars.

Notable musicians included on this set include Boo Hewerdine who co-wrote 'Sleeper', Martin Ditcham and Martin Green who co-produced the album with Colin. This was the first release since the self promoted 'Are We Having Fun Yet?' in 1993 and it was well worth the wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Colin is back in town..., 25 Aug 2003
By 
Korhan (Istanbul, TURKEY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Accused (Audio CD)
Black or Colin again doing his best. Lyrics, arrangements are very good. In this album he began to use strings (Yves Klein Blue), also uses different styles but voice is still flow like a water in the river... Black is back in town... I dont understand why he doesn't make video clips and many stupid albums makes commercials but this excellent album sells by its quailty...
also the new album "Water on Snow" is perfect, her wife also sings in this new album...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scott Walkers soulmate, 23 Dec 2008
This review is from: Accused (Audio CD)
The Collection

Well what can I say. Its nearly 2009 and this album eluded me until now. Magnificent. If you liked Blacks first album, you will love this. Colin hasnt quite got Scott Walkers soaring voice, but songs like st cecilia and storm cloud katherine (not universally loved!) are right in there with Scotts songs (and thats not said lightly). And just cause he hasnt got that voice...he sings his songs better than anyone in the world could (except for.....)

To echo a previous critic...why doesnt Colin play anywhere near me (Torquay UK )!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars love theatrical straight men, 15 Aug 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Accused (Audio CD)
While not as dramatic as his previous stuff, which I highly recommend, this still delights. One of the artists who has remained fabulous and a very talented songwriter for over one and a half decades, he has the sexiest voice that caresses like silk covered in melted chocolate. Of course, the best song is 'Surrender'. Just one question- why does he never play live anywhere near me?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Colin's got a great voice !, 9 Jun 2000
By 
C. Churchill "VivaLasVegas" (Las Vegas, NV) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Accused (Audio CD)
Colin Vearncombe is not known in the U.S. (unfortunate for America!) I was lucky to hear of him thru a British friend I met thru the internet. I loved BLACK when I first heard the music and now have as much of Colin's music as I could find. Bought "The Accused" without hearing it - It's Good ! I agree with the other reviewer - "Sleeper" is my favorite. While most of the songs are not as upbeat and cheerful as I'd like to hear from this artist, his voice is outstanding and the CD has gotten many repeated plays. Hopefully Mr. Vearncombe will offer more CDs to his fans in the near future. If you like BLACK and Colin, you won't be disappointed with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the accused is not bad at all, but it could be better, 14 Jan 2000
By 
This review is from: Accused (Audio CD)
Colin Vearncombe doesn't seem the formerly artist known as "Black". His voice is still excellent, but the music he did before was more elaborated. Songs like "No-one, none, nothing", "Paradise Lost" or his eternal mealncholia "Wonderful Life" seem to me that they were made by another artist. Nevertheless, I have to admit his voice is as brilliant as it was before. "Sleeper" maybe is the best song of the album, although many people would not agree with me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Damaged CD cover, 2 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Accused (Audio CD)
Whilst the CD itself was fine the case was completely broken when received which was very disappointing as I wanted to pass this on as a present
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Accused
Accused by Black (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews