Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bright Upbeat Funk Temporarily Halts Numan's 80's Decline
This was Gary Numan's last album of the 80's and relative to the gradually declining quality of his recent output, was rather good.

The album benefits from crisp, shiny production and a wide range of new synth sounds that give the material a lush texture. And maybe it was because this was the first delivery of a new record deal, the songwriting was sharp and...
Published on 13 Feb. 2012 by Pink

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Below par electro funk
Electro funk again, with Gary following trends of the time to boost record sales. This is almost as bad as Machine and Soul! Saved by the brilliant extra tracks, such as I Don't Believe, My Dying Machine and America. Don't Call My Name is yet another lovely slow, heart filled ballad which Gary is so good at! Not an essential purchase, but is still much better than his...
Published 11 days ago by Mystic Man


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bright Upbeat Funk Temporarily Halts Numan's 80's Decline, 13 Feb. 2012
By 
Pink (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Metal Rhythm (Audio CD)
This was Gary Numan's last album of the 80's and relative to the gradually declining quality of his recent output, was rather good.

The album benefits from crisp, shiny production and a wide range of new synth sounds that give the material a lush texture. And maybe it was because this was the first delivery of a new record deal, the songwriting was sharp and the mood was `up', with a melodic sense that had been missing for a while.

`Metal Rythmn' has a number of highlights, which include the rocky `New Anger', the lively funk of `Young Heart', the breathy pop of `America' and fan-favourites `Voix' and `Respect' amongst others. The new songs worked really well live too and the shows that year were excellent.

If you're new to Numan, you might be better off starting somewhere earlier in his catalogue, or with any releases from 1994 onwards. But otherwise it was certainly one of the best in a relatively weak period and a worthy addition to the Numan canon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of the funkier material, 10 Nov. 2002
By 
This review is from: Metal Rhythm (Audio CD)
I always found that opinions on 'Metal Rhythm' fell into two categories:

A) that it was an excellent, tough piece of electro-funk
B) that it's sound had strayed too far from the sounds of 'Replicas' and 'Telekon'

While I understood the concerns of fans who were 'point B', I basically thought that 'Metal Rhythm' stands not only as one of Numan's better collections from the middle years, but is also arguably his last really well-produced album.

Numan adopted a funkier, yet more aggressive stance for this album, losing the dreaminess and occasional lack of cohesion of 'Strange Charm'. From the superb opener 'This Is Emotion' (he generally opened albums well) right through to the final track 'Don't Call My Name', Numan carves up an electro-funk feast with stuff like 'Respect', 'Hunger', 'Cold Metal Rhythm' and the now classic 'Voix'.

Although there is undoubtedly some blatant creative-copying flying around on 'Metal Rhythm' this is still a tremendous album and undoubtedly among Numan's finest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars HARD TO DESCRIBE !!!!, 10 Mar. 2006
By 
JUAN MARTIN GABASTOU (Weston Hills, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Metal Rhythm (Audio CD)
Funk ? yeah ! Pop ? indeed ! Dance ? you bet ! Industrial ? somewhat. This album is a dense,powerful amalgam of all of the above styles,in Numan´s very own.Very synth heavy,loaded with samples,very polished,with a slick guitarwork somewhat (unfortunately) purposely compressed and buried in the mix .
There's even a wink to Robert Palmer on track 3.I've never listened to a single song by Janet Jackson but she's cited as an influence.This is cold black music.Sounds contradictory ? You bet,but then again it's G.Numan we're talking about.This album is in the middle of his infamous ¨mid-period¨ which some fans appreciate (if to a lesser degree) and most despise.The female backing vocals reach flat out excess this time when compared with his previous work (I could have used them a tad lower in the mix).There are 5 excellent bonus tracks at the end some of which are imaginative DJ remixes,one of which strikes one as an odd,anachronic choice,the My Dying Machine William Orbit.I was even reluctant to give it a first listen till I noticed there was a great deal of loud,upfront guitarwork in it,making it almost better than the original,despite a rather murky sound.The overall sound is very good to excellent,it has been remastered but it's a little tonally uneven from song to song.The 7''mix of ¨America¨ is definitevely not the same as the one I got on my ¨New Dreams For Old ¨ comp making it a good addition to my Numan collection.
Nice,but not an essential purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars HARD TO DESCRIBE !!!!!!!!, 28 May 2006
By 
JUAN MARTIN GABASTOU (Weston Hills, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Metal Rhythm (Audio CD)
Funk ? yeah ! Pop ? indeed ! Dance ? you bet ! Industrial ? somewhat. This album is a dense,powerful amalgam of all of the above styles,in Numan?s very own.Very synth heavy,loaded with samples,very polished,with a slick guitarwork somewhat (unfortunately) purposely compressed and buried in the mix .

There's even a wink to Robert Palmer on track 3.I've never listened to a single song by Janet Jackson but she's cited as an influence.This is cold black music.Sounds contradictory ? You bet,but then again it's G.Numan we're talking about.This album is in the middle of his infamous mid-period which some fans appreciate (if to a lesser degree) and most despise.The female backing vocals reach flat out excess this time when compared with his previous work (I could have used them a tad lower in the mix).There are 5 excellent bonus tracks at the end some of which are imaginative DJ remixes,one of which strikes one as an odd,anachronic choice,the My Dying Machine William Orbit.I was even reluctant to give it a first listen till I noticed there was a great deal of loud,upfront guitarwork in it,making it almost better than the original,despite a rather murky sound.The overall sound is very good to excellent,it has been remastered but it's a little tonally uneven from song to song.The 7''mix of America is definitevely not the same as the one I got on my New Dreams For Old comp making it a good addition to my Numan collection.

Nice,but not an essential purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars HARD TO DESCRIBE !!!!!!, 28 May 2006
By 
JUAN MARTIN GABASTOU (Weston Hills, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Metal rhythm [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Funk ? yeah ! Pop ? indeed ! Dance ? you bet ! Industrial ? somewhat. This album is a dense,powerful amalgam of all of the above styles,in Numan's very own. Very synth heavy, loaded with samples, very polished, with a slick guitarwork somewhat (unfortunately) purposely compressed and buried in the mix.
There's even a wink to Robert Palmer on track 3. I've never listened to a single song by Janet Jackson but she's cited as an influence. This is cold black music. Sounds contradictory? You bet, but then again it's G.Numan we're talking about. This album is in the middle of his infamous mid-period which some fans appreciate (if to a lesser degree) and most despise.The female backing vocals reach flat out excess this time when compared with his previous work (I could have used them a tad lower in the mix). There are 5 excellent bonus tracks at the end some of which are imaginative DJ remixes, one of which strikes one as an odd, anachronic choice, the My Dying Machine William Orbit. I was even reluctant to give it a first listen till I noticed there was a great deal of loud, upfront guitarwork in it,making it almost better than the original,despite a rather murky sound.

Nice, but not an essential purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gary at he's funkiest, 16 Nov. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Metal Rhythm (Audio CD)
Around this time Gary Numan was getting some bad press saying that he was a retro pop star that should retire from making hisa own music. When he brought this album out I bought it on audio cassette and just a few months ago. It is an excellent album, probably one of his best in his electronic era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gary numan gets funky?, 3 Oct. 2001
This review is from: Metal Rhythm (Audio CD)
this is my favourite gary numan album .This album is more funky than his previous albums songs such as america new anger devious contain a very strong bass line with pounding drum machine beats you could call it a dance album overall excellent melodies excellent beats buy this album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Below par electro funk, 20 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Rhythm (Audio CD)
Electro funk again, with Gary following trends of the time to boost record sales. This is almost as bad as Machine and Soul! Saved by the brilliant extra tracks, such as I Don't Believe, My Dying Machine and America. Don't Call My Name is yet another lovely slow, heart filled ballad which Gary is so good at! Not an essential purchase, but is still much better than his 21st century prolonged 'goth' period. How pathetic is a 50 year old Goth, anyway!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Metal Rhythm- Definately!, 24 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Metal Rhythm (Audio CD)
Another electro pop classic from the leading synthesizer icon of the eighties.Five bonus tracks of which three have beeen remixed.These include Devious and America which are worth buying this album for on their own.Well worth adding to your Numanoid collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Late 80's Funk Still with the Essence of Numan, 19 Feb. 2008
This review is from: Metal Rhythm (Audio CD)
In, 1988 Numan signed to IRS Records a year after the dissaster of his own independent label NUMA records.

By the time of this release Numan was behind the times in terms on music technology, and he took over a year out to learn the new processes of Digital Synths, Sequencers. This was also his first album to be recorded in third party studios as Rock City was sold in Mid 1987.

The album is probably the best he has produced and uses session musicians wisely on this record. Standout tracks are, "Voix", "Cold Metal Rhythm" and "Hunger", all of which have a melodic Synth hook to them. The only downfall is his love for the Roland D-50 which is all over this record, a lot are slightly altered presets, unfortunately it does age the album a bit. Still it's his strongest album, and musically aggressive. With the right marketing and distributing this would have made Numan the comeback this album deserved, but unfortunately it sunk without trace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Metal Rhythm
Metal Rhythm by Gary Numan (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews