Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An original masterpiece.
What can I say...this is an absolute classic!

I first really discovered Chris through Audioslave and I am at a complete loss that I have not found this CD sooner. Perhaps it is it's apparent 'failing' (from reading some of the reviews)that is to blame for it slipping through my normally very vigilant net.

The quality of the songwriting is first...
Published on 19 Dec 2006 by Carol

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars a different cornell
chris cornell is a rock icon with sound garden etc but this is a cd he must be experimenting with a mix match but still unmistakable voice and one or two rockin tracks maybe I was expecting more still a good buy may be something to measure his future cds by got to be better
Published 10 months ago by blue


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An original masterpiece., 19 Dec 2006
By 
Carol "Kaz" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Euphoria Morning (Audio CD)
What can I say...this is an absolute classic!

I first really discovered Chris through Audioslave and I am at a complete loss that I have not found this CD sooner. Perhaps it is it's apparent 'failing' (from reading some of the reviews)that is to blame for it slipping through my normally very vigilant net.

The quality of the songwriting is first class, the vocals are superb as always and all in all this is a timeless album that deserves to be appreciated by generations to come.

It is different from Audioslave (who just rock, by the way), very chilled and melodic and while drawing from a wide range of familiar musical influences, Chris has produced an unique sound that only a truely talented musical craftsman can.

The highlights for me are Can't Change Me, Flutter Girl, Preaching the End of The World, When I'm Down, Disappearing One and Pillow of Your Bones, but in all honesty all the tracks have a little something that leave you wanting more.

In my eyes Chris is up there with the most influential songwriters of the 20th/21st century and I await the release of his next solo offering (rumoured to be early 2007)with sheer desperation.

'Euphoria Morning' is totally gorgeous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Discover Audioslave singer's past glories, 2 Sep 2003
By 
C. O'Brien (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Euphoria Morning (Audio CD)
If you've only recently discovered singer Chris Cornell via Audioslave, don't be fooled into thinking his previous band Soundgarden is all there is to discover. His 1999 solo album Euphoria Morning is his forgotten masterpiece - a beautiful album of adventurous, experimental and often introspective songs written and recorded with the help of Natasha Schneider and Alain Johannes of Californian band Eleven. Beautifully sung and including everything from the middle-eastern flavoured Can't Change Me to the stark epic of Steel Rain and the almost Elizabethan acoustic ballad Sweet Euphoria, this album also contains some of Cornell's best ever lyrics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Euphoria Morning, 15 July 2007
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Euphoria Morning (Audio CD)
This is a great first solo album from Cornell. It is no way as hard as Soundgarden or Audioslave to come, but the songs are well written and his voice is superb. I was surprised at the style of the album, but with repeated listening and heard in it's own right, you appreciate the music and lyrics a great deal. Well worth a try if you're a fan of the above mentioned bands, and worth a listen if you like the slightly softer side of rock music in general.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mellow triumph from mighty SOUNDGARDEN frontman, 13 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Euphoria Morning (Audio CD)
As a huge fan of both Soundgarden and Temple of the dog (Soundgarden/Pearl Jam side project), I was eager to pick up the debut solo album of ex SG singer/guitarist Chris Cornell. Anybody expecting the heavy guitar sound of his former band will be surprised to find this album matching chris' vocal ability with an occasionally layered, occasionally minimalist guitar. The songwriting is superior and although the mood is mellow, Chris still returns to the what he does best on songs like "Steel Rain" and "Preaching the End of the World". These find him in familiar Sg territory and are to "Euphoria Morning" what "Black Hole Sun" and "Fell on Black Days" were to "Superunknown". The only detractor from this fine album is an appalling Gallic version of the opening track (Cant Change Me) which is tacked on the end. This version lacks impact and also dampens the impact of the true album finale (Steel Rain).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best singer/songwriters of all time, 24 Jan 2004
By 
julia phillips (camborne, cornwall United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Euphoria Morning (Audio CD)
i just wish that chris cornell(who turns forty this year)would write more solo stuff as this album is phenomenal! check out'follow my way' 'moonchild' 'pillow of your bones and 'steel rain' not to mention 'when im down'which is very similar to temple of the dog.as a no.one fan of soundgarden and everything that chris has ever done, in this album he turns to his more softer side but still with amazing vocals, well worth a purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Along the right lines, 30 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Euphoria Morning (Audio CD)
Hype, don't you just love it? The critics, particularly in metal circles, went absolutely wild over this debut solo release from the former Soundgarden frontman, and while it's certainly an accomplished album, a world-beater it isn't. Still, when you've got songs like "Can't Change Me", the wonderfully bluesy "When I'm Down" and the apparent Jeff Buckley tribute of "Wave Goodbye", you can't go far wrong.
Anyone expecting the Soundgarden style will be disappointed, though - it's only on the last track, "Steel Rain", that Cornell lets himself really be taken back to "Down On The Upside"-era vocal acrobatics, and bloody good it sounds too, though I appreciate that he had to carve himself a new niche in the wake of the band's split.
Oh, and I say "last track", but in fact the European release of the CD which I happened acorss has a laughable French version of "Can't Change Me" bolted on to the end - "Elle ne peut pas me changer" - it might work without the accordeon and with someone who can pull off a credible French accent. Sadly, neither of these criteria are met. Be thankful it's the British release on offer here!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 1 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Euphoria Morning (Audio CD)
I immediately fell in love with this album and it is one of the best CDs i own! If you are a fan of Soundgarden and Audioslave then this may surprise you and not be to your liking. Although, in saying that, i am a fan of both Soundgarden and Audioslave and i love this album! Euphoria Morning is mellow and there isn't any songs that you could rock out or jump around to! Chris has been experimental with the music and i think the result is wonderful! Stand out tracks would be Preaching The End of the World, When I'm Down and Moonchild. If you can appreciate the album the way i do, then the songs will have a big effect on you. The lyrics are superior to any SG or Audioslave album in my opinion and if i could only describe this album in one word it would be 'beautiful'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid first solo album, 12 Jun 2007
By 
Ric (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Euphoria Morning (Audio CD)
As a big Soundgarden fan, i felt that this was an essential purchase for me, so i bought it on its first release but never really got into it first time around. Mybe i was used to the heavier sound of 'garden so dismissed it as a bit soft. However, I starting finding myself humming some of the tunes to this album, even though i hadn't listened to it for a couple of years, so i decided to try it again recently and now i can't stop playing it! I don't believe there is a bad song on the album, and in my opinion is one of the finest albums by a solo artist that i own.

give it a try, but if like me you don't get into it straight away please don't dismiss it as there are some real gems on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An album that grows on you until you're hooked., 20 Mar 2000
By 
This review is from: Euphoria Morning (Audio CD)
Was a little suprised when I first heard it as I was expecting it to be a lot more like soundgarden. As I perservered, however, the lack of heavy Kim Thayil guitar didn't concern me anymore as I was pulled in by the superb Chris Cornell vocals and progressively catchy songs. The first five tracks are great as well as Moonchild and not forgeting Sweet Euphoria recorded at home with just Chris and a guitar. Very inspiring for vocalists and songwriters although being a guitarist I wasn't as drawn to play along as I am with Soundgarden music. A fine chill-out album however, with that catching Soundgarden rocking edge. I can't stop listening to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chris Cornell at his best!, 1 Dec 2010
By 
This review is from: Euphoria Morning (Audio CD)
If there was ever a record to show Chris Cornell for the true talent he is then Euphoria Mourning is that record.
Euphoria Morning, along with Temple of the Dog, is the sound of Cornell at his best. The album is full of beautiful arrangements and unexpected musical twists and turns and a welcome deaprture from Soundgarden's sonic palette. It does help that Natasha Schneider(RIP) and Alain Johannes of Eleven performed with him, both fantastic muscians and writers themselves and they provide a more melancholy organic sound to every song and really help to show case one of rocks best vocalists. Cornell has never sounded so good, just check his vocals on When Im Down and Steel Rain, absolutely amazing!
This is a must have for any self respecting rock or metal fans CD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Euphoria Morning
Euphoria Morning by Chris Cornell (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews