Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My personal favorite
out of all of the ocean colour scene album's this is my absolute favorite. This is one of the only ocs ablums that i can actually play from start to finish. When i first got it it didn't come out of my stereo for weeks. So Low, Emily Chambers, and the Waves Are some of the best songs i've ever heard. July is also good but i prefer the single version (can also be hard on...
Published on 11 Jan 2002 by damonminchella@hotmail.com

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best they've done.........
....but then again not the worst either. I'd recommend this one for hardened OCS fans, but I have to admit it's not half as good as the Shoals or Marchin' Already. That "can't stop listening to it" feeling just doesn't seem to be there on this album. All the same, it's all classic OCS. You could liken it to how Noel Gallagher described the last Oasis album...
Published on 30 Nov 1999 by anna_lydon@hotmail.com


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My personal favorite, 11 Jan 2002
This review is from: One From The Modern (Audio CD)
out of all of the ocean colour scene album's this is my absolute favorite. This is one of the only ocs ablums that i can actually play from start to finish. When i first got it it didn't come out of my stereo for weeks. So Low, Emily Chambers, and the Waves Are some of the best songs i've ever heard. July is also good but i prefer the single version (can also be hard on songs for the front row) this is a must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Ocean Colour Scene Album...until the next one!, 6 Jan 2001
By 
This review is from: One From The Modern (Audio CD)
Once you have bought this album, it will live in your cd player for many weeks! When I bought it I couldn't stop listening to it. By far the best song has to be "July", that unmistakable sound of Steve Craddocks guitar sends shivers down my spine every time! "Profit in Peace" is another classic-a protest song for a new millenium! The funky "soul driver" will get your toe tapping and the powerfully dramatic "Waves" is another favourite. On the whole, a must have album for every ocs fan! And we're all awaiting the next album!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On par with ''Moseley Shoals'' and ''Marchin' Already'', 8 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: One From The Modern (Audio CD)
This really is a fantastic album, and is worthy enough to earn a place in anyone's collection. From the fast-paced ''I am the News'' to the brilliant, moving ''I won't get Grazed'' (not crazed), this album continues to amaze me every time I listen to it. There's a pretty wide range of songs on here; I've rarely heard anything like ''Soul Driver'' from anyone other than the fantastic Gomez (another great British band). Mind you, to enjoy this to the full, I'd recommend first buying ''Moseley Shoals'' and ''Marchin' Already.'' Fantastic...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Work Of Art!, 26 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: One From The Modern (Audio CD)
This album is brilliant, no mistake. These guy's are probably the best musicians in the world and are not appreciated as such. They're past two albums (Mosely Shoals and Marchin Already) were fantanstic, with there origional spin on mellow indie working a treat. Now One From The Modern provides fans with something new to shout about. A great selection of some of the finest tunes I've herd in ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Flawed genius, 13 Aug 2007
This review is from: One From The Modern (Audio CD)
This album, in my opinion is greater than the sum of any of it's parts.

It has it's flaws, some of the recording, the levels and the mastering is a little off. Perhaps there are some lesser tracks. There are flaws.

But it doesn't matter. The songs are great and that's what counts. Profit in Peace and So Low open up the able and set the mood. These are instant classics. The middle of the album is made up of rock, folk and soul, with great musicianship thrown in.

The last song, "I won't get grazed", is a haunting tune to finish the album. If left on repeat it also becomes the perfect intro back into track 1.

When I listen to this I feel that it was perhaps not the easiest album to record, an album created from a 'third album' struggle, which gives it a unique sound and place in Ocean Colour Scene's discography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly charming and how you say beguiling in places, 4 Sep 2006
This review is from: One From The Modern (Audio CD)
OCS are not band that generate much affection in many quarters but on 1999's "One From The Modern" they actually sound interesting.

Opener "Profit In Peace" is a shouty chugger that should be discarded. "So Low" is where it starts to become interesting. It soars and swirls and is irrefutably lovely-sounding. "No One At All" is soft and wonderful. "Emily Chambers" is quintessentially English folk-pop and is most beguiling. "I Won't Get Grazed" is one of the most affecting things this often brash-sounding band have ever put down.

Not a ground-breaking album but a very good one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I have listened to it a million times!, 25 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: One From The Modern (Audio CD)
This is great, I have to admit this is my first OCS album and I just can't stop listening to it. It features well known tracks such as 'So Low' and 'Profit In Peace' and some little gems such as 'July', 'Soul Driver' and 'Waves'. If you like the accoustic guitar sound with some great lyrics, brilliant drumming and a bit of harmonica thrown in then this is for you! OCS don't get the credit they deserve for this spectacular and classic album and I strongly recommend that you go and buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This band deserves a lot more credit, 16 Dec 2000
By 
Tim Woods (Locks Heath, Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: One From The Modern (Audio CD)
This album is of extreme quality. I admit it's not as good as their previous work, but songs like So Low and I am The News, are worth buying the album for alone. The Scene deserve a lot more appreciation than what they get, simply listen to BSide Seasides and Freerides to hear some of the finest music ever produced, they are truely one of the greatest bands around. Buy It..!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hidden gem, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One From The Modern (Audio CD)
Excellent album in good condition and speedy delivery. Not a huge fan of OCS (not in recent years anyway) but this album is great. Definitely recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars present, 12 Feb 2013
By 
B. M. Spice - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One From The Modern (Audio CD)
my son was very pleased with this.
It was a Christmas Present which he chose himself. Thank you very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

One From The Modern
One From The Modern by Ocean Colour Scene (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews