Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Original Janis album - complete with the indispensible Big Bro & the Holding Co.
Janis was complete when she was playing with Big Brother, whatever the tensions and insecurities. It is a marriage of mutual dependance and both contribute enormously to the relationship. The later albums, Kozmic Blues and Pearl, without Big Bro, lack this passion, naivety, excitement and raw energy. This first tentative album does not have the power of Cheap Thrills but...
Published on 25 Feb 2007 by Moz

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst Packaging Ever ! !
I have never experienced something like this before. This is the worst box ever! I'd rather had them have sent me the CD's in a paper. There is no way that you'll ever take out the CD's and place them back without seriously damaging them... Horrible. Music is awesome by the way.
Published 5 months ago by Valdemar Vangeel


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst Packaging Ever ! !, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have never experienced something like this before. This is the worst box ever! I'd rather had them have sent me the CD's in a paper. There is no way that you'll ever take out the CD's and place them back without seriously damaging them... Horrible. Music is awesome by the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Original Janis album - complete with the indispensible Big Bro & the Holding Co., 25 Feb 2007
By 
This review is from: Big Brother & The Holding Company (Audio CD)
Janis was complete when she was playing with Big Brother, whatever the tensions and insecurities. It is a marriage of mutual dependance and both contribute enormously to the relationship. The later albums, Kozmic Blues and Pearl, without Big Bro, lack this passion, naivety, excitement and raw energy. This first tentative album does not have the power of Cheap Thrills but it is beautiful none-the-less. It's embryonic, not just for Janis but of the whole San Fransisco mid-sixties music scene. This is an album at the birth of psychedelic rock. 'Light is (indeed) Faster than Sound'. Then you have 'Coo Coo' and 'All is Loneliness' - only in the summer of love could these tracks blossom.

Did I say naive? This is naive in spades and gains much from being rushed, fresh and under produced. 'Down on Me', 'Call on Me' and 'Women is Losers' are archetypal Janis tracks. For the techies and pefectionists this album isn't. It's flawed, innocent, tinny some say and recorded in a hurry, straight off the street, to satisfy the band's live audiences craving for a record of their show. For me this is a landmark, coming of age album and one that fits perfectly into its unique niche in rock history. Rest your Soul Janis - this was your sanctuary if only you could have realised it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MAKE SURE YOU ORDER THE CORRECT ITEM, 17 Nov 2013
By 
Christopher W. Brierley - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Amazon have put the wrong title here, "Big Brother & The Holding Company", which is a single CD, even the mp3 link is to that single album.
What you should have here according to the track listing is "Box Of Pearls" which has all 4 studio albums issued by Janis Joplin, (Big Brother & The Holding Company + Cheap Thrills + I Got Dem Ol' Kozmic Blues Again Mama! + Pearl) with a bonus CD of rarities, so 5 CD's in total and 55 tracks.
To make matters more complicated, there is more than one issue of this box set, some very expensive, even 5x more expensive, strange but true, but all seem identical apart from minor packaging differences and year or place of issue.
Anyway, getting back to what should be a 5 CD box set, it can represent excellent value for money, (Amazon do not allow prices to be mentioned in reviews) and it is an easy way to buy a huge amount of JJ's small output, coupled with decent presentation and booklet, plus the sound is digitally remastered and cleaned up.
It certainly can work out cheaper than buying all 4 individual albums, plus you get the rare takes etc.
If you want one box set only of JJ, then this is about as good as it gets and is currently quite a bargain.
I own "Janis" by Janis Joplin, a 3 CD box set with almost as many tracks, 49 against 55, sadly as it is out of production and so it is usually very expensive, even in used condition. It has many similar tracks but more rarities.
I highly recommend either but if you want a single CD and cheaper alternative, buy "18 Essential Songs."
PS Be careful reading other reviews as Amazon has the ridiculous policy of putting reviews against any similar album, so some reviews here refer to a single CD issue, not a 5 CD box set. Reviews on Amazon are often in a mess due to this policy, I have even seen reviews for the wrong artist because the album titles have been the same, eg "20 Best Of" etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I liked this product. Excellent.

This box is essential to my collection.

The best regards.

Thank you
Fernando Luiz Lopes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Check it Out!, 7 Sep 2004
This review is from: Big Brother & The Holding Company (Audio CD)
This is Janis at her earliest and she rocks! Although the material on this album is not so fraught as her later works (Ball and Chain being the classic in my view), it makes great and relaxing listening, bluesy yet mellow. In my view this album is a appetiser of what was to later come from Janis, you hear this and you know she was going to go somewhere from there. Sad that her later masterpieces were so obviously tied in with her fraught personal life and her impending death, but the same can be said of most great rock and roll heroes.
Janis lives!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Second time I have owned this set and it brings ..., 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Second time I have owned this set and it brings together all her famous albums,just a pity there isn't more unreleased stuff on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SEEDS OF GENIUS, 30 July 2002
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Big Brother & The Holding Company (Audio CD)
Don't expect Big Brother's acid-rock roar. This is completely unlike their classic Cheap Thrills, with a much thinner sound but still an interesting mixture of blues, folk-rock, and psychedelic rock. I like Janis' vocals on Call On Me although she doesn't sound quite as desperate as usual; my other favorites include the bluesy, droning "All Is Loneliness" where Joplin sounds like nowhere else (but it's too short!), and "Women Is Losers" where she demonstrates the seeds of her genius that would fully flower on albums like Kozmic Blues and Pearl. It's a solid rock album, but not as memorable as "Cheap Thrills". I think the band were still finding their feet here. Only for Joplin/Big Brother completists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Janis Could Shout the Blues with the Best, 10 Jan 2011
By 
Stephanie De Pue (Wilmington, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Big Brother & The Holding Company (Audio CD)
"Big Brother & the Holding Company: Remastered], is an early recording by Big Brother and the Holding Company, a psychedelic blues rock San Francisco-based band during the late 1960's. The record survives largely because of their great, great chick singer, Janis Joplin, of course, who joined them on a Chicago gig. Although Joplin fans will know that she did not, unfortunately, survive the 1970's, as she passed on October 4, 1970 (aged 27), in Los Angeles, California. But in her brief career, despite her troubled life, she left behind a stunning, gutsy repertory of work that has long since floated free of, and outlived, Big Brother. This record, however, was laid down about six months before she (and they) achieved lasting blazing stardom at the 1967 Monterrey Pop Festival.

This record, although made rather early in her all-too short career, functions almost as a best-of: it's got a number of her hits on it, including "Bye Bye Baby," "Easy Rider,""Call on Me,"and a very bluesy "Down on Me,"all delivered thrillingly, and in her trademark growling/shouting style that owed a lot to the women blues shouters before her. Weren't very many female blues shouters in Janis's day, although, actually, one of the best of them was the Chicago-based Koko Taylor(What It Takes: The Chess Years [Expanded Edition]). (Somehow or another, I have to tell you, I saw Taylor perform live twice, each time seemingly wearing a house dress and $10 wig, but each time, she tore the roof off the venue, even at Brooklyn's open-air Prospect Park.)

I also actually somehow managed to see Janis live, with "Big Brother," performing this repertory, at a famous venue of the time, Bill Graham's Fillmore East, on New York's Lower East Side, when it really was pretty scrappy. All these years later, I still remember the expectant hush when the house lights went down, the sweet aroma of various illegal substances, and Joplin's electrifying performance. It was quite a night, I can tell you. But don't wish you could have been there yourself that would make you as old as me....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Aug 2014
This review is from: Big Brother & The Holding Company (Audio CD)
love it. had it on vinyl years ago.then lost it b
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Early days, 20 April 2004
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: ...With Janis Joplin (Audio CD)
Don't expect Big Brother's acid-rock roar. This is completely unlike theirclassic Cheap Thrills album, with a much thinner sound but still aninteresting mixture of blues, folk-rock, and psychedelic rock. I likeJanis' vocals on Call On Me although she doesn't sound quite as desperateas usual; my other favourites include the bluesy, droning "All IsLoneliness" where Joplin sounds like nowhere else (but it's too short!),and "Women Is Losers" where she demonstrates the seeds of her genius thatwould fully flower on albums like Kozmic Blues and Pearl. It's a solidrock album, but not as memorable as Cheap Thrills. I think the band werestill finding their feet here. Only for devoted fans of Joplin/BigBrother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Big Brother & The Holding Company
Big Brother & The Holding Company by Janis Joplin (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews