Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars21
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.52+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 10 May 2001
I've said it before and I'll day it again, Richard Fearless is a musical genius and this album is definitive proof of this. In the shadow of the Chemical Brothers and other Big Beat bands, 'Dead Elvis' failed to receive the critical acclaim and exposure that it deserved.
This follow-up is just as innovative but perhaps more mature in its production. 'Lever Street' is the best and most simple track on the album. It's basically a beautiful peice of organ music, which really pushes the boundary of Fearless' talent. The track that follows ('Aladdin's Story') is a chilled out, guitar-laced ditty with a lazy summer bass line. Excellent Stuff!
'Aisha' and the collaboration with Bobby G. are a change in mood and explore the more funky, moody and angry sounds of Fearless's music. Whilst 'Dirge' is an ultimately cool groovy track, 'Flying' is a floating psychedelic journey and impressive guitar hooks run through both tracks. In terms of both technical production and accessibility, this is a truly excellent album and one can't help but anticipate the next Death In Vegas record.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 1999
Their first album, the fine Dead Elvis, contained a few tracks worthy of the 'dip-in' status that most albums deserve.
This new one however is a different beast; each track is a stand alone treat - Check out Soul Auctioneer, a rambling poem by Bobbie Gillespie with a killer treatment by Fearless:
'The Stones in my shoes get sharper all the time, The soft, sick underbelly and the carcass of these times.'
Like eating opiated Turkish Delight.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2000
You come in at 3.00am, you want that certain sound to relax and unwind...then this album is for you. It has a quality that makes you want to put your head back and unwind, with the first trak Dirge being almost an instrumental number with a gentle voice in the background. I would recommend this Album anyone and everyone, old or young...it will find a place in any collection.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2000
This latest Death in Vegas record has got to be one of my favourites purchases so far this year! It reminds me a little of Chemical Brothers... but with much more of a live sound, especially the drums. It also has a much darker sound than most big beat tunes. With tracks called 'Dirge', 'Soul Auctioneer' you even begin to wonder if there is a Goth revival going on! The current U.K single 'Aisha' portrays a mass murderer, and features vocals by Iggy Pop. Funnily enough, although there are happier tracks on the record (the closing track 'Neptune' for example), I prefer the intense, claustrophobic sound of the tracks mentioned above. In any case, this extraordinary album is a must have for any music lover!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2014
I bought this on the strength of the song 'Aisha' and whilst all the other songs aren't quite as good and certainly not as intense, there are some really strong songs. Being a rock and metal fan, this was quite a departure for me. Apart from calling the sound 'Death in Vegas' the best pigeon hole or label for the band would be electronic minimalism...I guess, with a little bit of rock thrown in as well. Opener 'Dirge' is exactly what the title suggests, an eerie atmospheric number with a melody beatifully sung by a female voice. 'Soul Auctioneer' featuring Bobby Gillespie is slow and sleazy and one of the best tracks to feature the frontman for a long time. My personal favourite 'Aisha' featuring Iggy Pop on vocals portraying a murderer confessing his crimes to a girl he's just met (that's basically a large chunk of the lyrics!), is dark, intense and features heavily distorted guitars and reasonably similar to Nine Inch Nails.
Despite its attention grabbing moments, this album is also great background music as well. A lost classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2013
Anyone with the slightest interest in music should own a copy of this seminal work from DiV. Even if you hate it, you will have experienced something unique by listening to it. If you like it then many new musical paths lay before you. Go exploring!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2009
This is a great album. I bought it when it first came out and I am still enjoying it all now.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2011
After hearing the song Aiesha on the radio I decided to investigate Death in Vegas more so purchased this album.
It is a phenomenal peice of work. If you are into The Prodigy and that type of music then check out this album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2015
Moody grungy rocking and edgy. I my opinion the best DIV album of all. LOVE the inclusion of Aisha track with Iggy Pop vocals!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2015
Great album! I heard this a long time ago.in the late 90's and I still love the tracks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.99
£9.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)