Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I Fall for This CD Every Time....
Technically a band, "The Divine Comedy" is centred around singer-songwriter Neil Hannon. Hannon was born in Northern Ireland in 1970 and models his singing style on Scott Walker. Aptly enough for the son of a Bishop, his band provided the theme tune for the classic sitcom "Father Ted". They also recorded a version of "My Lovely Horse", the song Ted and Dougal entered into...
Published on 8 Feb 2007 by Craobh Rua

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Secret History
Having listened to The National Express on the radio I thought I would Give the album a go, Sad to say with exception of something in the wood shed the rest of the album was a dissapointment
Published 11 months ago by John Scott


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best songwriter ever, 21 Dec 2005
This review is from: A Secret History ... The Best Of The Divine Comedy (Audio CD)
Neil Hannon is the best musician that I have come across, and yes I mean ahead of Brian Wilson - sorry Brian! Hannon is simply a genius. I need only rely upon this collection as evidence. It is difficult to single out the best songs here, there are few that are not classics, but there is one song that to me is in a different league to anything I have ever heard. That song is "The Summerhouse". Here Hannon aimes to revive, with astonishing success, memories of childhood play, travel, innocence, daring escapades and the happy experiences of childhood. He does this with beautiful, compelling background music that is eminently listenable. Thank you for this song Neil.
Mark
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good listening, 10 July 2013
By 
SBR (yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been a fan of Divine Comedy for some time but bought this for someone who hadn't heard of them. They've been pretty impressed .... thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought this on CD many years ago,, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have loved this album for many years, good to have it again, I had forgotten just how good Divine Comedy were during this period. A great listen, good humoured fun with superb music used on many different TV shows, such as Father Ted & Tomorrows Word. If you liked divine comedy in the 90s remind yourself just how good they are!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great place to start!, 6 April 2011
If youve heard a few Divine Comedy tracks and want to hear more, this is a brilliant place to start...the perfect mix of accomplished musical writing and comical lyrics make thorn a cut above 'chamber pop'. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eclectic, vivid, unique., 31 Dec 2009
By 
T. West (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A Secret History is one of the better albums i've bought this year, even if it is quite old now. There are some great individual tracks to be enjoyed, some of which jump at you (National Express, I went to a Marvellous Party, In Pursuit of Happiness) and some which grow on you (Lucy, The Certainty of Chance).

The range of Hannon and his orchestra is enough so that each song brings a new sound to the listening experience, and the material that influences the songs is a very eclectic mix of cultural touchstones, from classic poetry to institutional coach carriers.

It's well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eclectic sounds of a youthful generation, 25 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: A Secret History ... The Best Of The Divine Comedy (Audio CD)
A Secret History by the Divine Comedy is a compelling collage of several of the best tunes to be recorded in the last decade.
It's pop-tastic melody combined with deep orchestral pieces provides an exciting eclectic sound for a youthful generation.
If you want to get into the divine comedy but don't know which album to buy - buy this one and you will have to buy the rest.
For me the most outstanding tune is Lucy, an amalgamation of several William Wordsworth poems which have been beautifully adhered to an amazing melody.
BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice compilation!, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Secret History ... The Best Of The Divine Comedy (Audio CD)
Very listenable. Funny and poignant in turns and always full of the ironic lyrics that Divine C is famous for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very good, 5 Jun 2014
This review is from: A Secret History ... The Best Of The Divine Comedy (Audio CD)
I'm too much of a fan to agree with a particular best of but this (early) collection is fine for an introduction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic journey in musical poetry, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Secret History ... The Best Of The Divine Comedy (Audio CD)
This collection of tracks from neil hannon is a pure lyrical emotional journey that will leave you wondering why this man has had so little recognition that he truly deserves . A rollercoaster of emotions and sounds that everyone should experience , a must for all music lovers . Simply brilliant !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a good mix, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Secret History ... The Best Of The Divine Comedy (Audio CD)
some excellent songs a very good mix ,of songs ans some of the hits ,i liked it a lot .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Secret History ... The Best Of The Divine Comedy
A Secret History ... The Best Of The Divine Comedy by The Divine Comedy (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews