Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a funky yet original album
This is a must have album to have,perfect for listening to whilst getting ready for a saturday nights. The album has a mixture of funky and chilled songs and is brilliant from start to finish. I can't really say anymore about this album apart from BUY IT and you won't be disappointed!
Published on 20 Nov. 2000

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars As far as I'm concerned...
This is a fairly good album. It absolutely whoops ass over FanMail which I give just 1 ickle star(why do we all compair them?) but I'm not sure that it's the best album on the market.
I got the special edition with 2 CDs, and so that makes up for some really desperate album fillers. Everything starts of extremely promisingly with So Good and Bills Bills Bills and...
Published on 9 May 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a funky yet original album, 20 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
This is a must have album to have,perfect for listening to whilst getting ready for a saturday nights. The album has a mixture of funky and chilled songs and is brilliant from start to finish. I can't really say anymore about this album apart from BUY IT and you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MODERN MASTERPIECE., 15 Jun. 2003
Fact. Any r'n'b fan should own this album. Why? Because, quite simply, it is the best r'n'b album of the last ten years, and there are four simple reasons for it: Beyonce Knowles, Kelly Rowland, LaTavia Roberson and LeToya Luckett. So the line-up stood at the time.
The Writing's On The Wall is from the days when Destiny's Child were all-out r'n'b, no dabbling in pop tracks whatsoever, and when the girls were a quartet, minus Michelle Williams.
This is the album which got Destiny's Child the recognition they deserve, and that started them on the path to superstardom.
THE TRACKS:
1) Intro: 5/10: well, it's an intro, not really a song, so how can you rate it highly?!?
2) So Good: 8/10: a light song but with attitude.
3) Bills, Bills, Bills: 10/10: first single from the album, made number one in the USA and top 10 in the UK. fantastic, and original.
4) Confessions (feat. Missy Elliott): 9/10: a stylish song with dark beats, the girls come clean about their secrets...
5) Bugaboo: 10/10: didn't get the recognition it deserved as a single. one of the stand-out tracks on the album. great 'spiky' beats, too.
6) Temptation: 9/10: ultra-slick and super-sexy, slow r'n'b songs are rarely done better.
7) Now That She's Gone: 7/10: A decent enough song, doesn't stand up well to the rest though.
8) Where'd You Go: 8/10: Fabulous, the most pop-orientated song on the album.
9) Hey Ladies: 5/10: The worst song on the album, but not a disaster. Sounds too cluttered and too in your face.
10) If You Leave (feat. Next): 10/10: Classy duet, with Next being more than a match for DC.
11) Jumpin Jumpin: 8/10: based on the quality of the album, this wasn't the best song to choose to be released, but a good r'n'b club anthem.
12) Say My Name: 10/10: first single after the line-up change. spectacular, deservedly became a massive hit for the girls. Anthemic chorus.
13) She Can't Love You: 6/10: a slow-burner, but not the best.
14) Stay: 10/10: The stand-out ballad on the album, the girls sound amazing. A really powerful track, holds its own against the r'n'b songs easily.
15) Sweet Sixteen: 9/10: All about growing up too fast, a real kind of anthemic song.
16) Outro: 5/10: Dedicated to friend of the group Andretta Tillman. Those who like gospel will love it, others won't.
17) Get On The Bus: 8/10: Another unusual choice of single, this is like something from the second Missy Elliott album.
Overall, this album is an r'n'b masterpiece, the critics loved it, I love it, and I have yet to listen to an r'n'b album that has bettered this, although some (Jill Scott and Kelis) have come close. Pure modern r'n'b has never sounded better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is the best album i have ever heard!!!!!!, 5 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
When I first put this Cd on I thought that I had put on the wrong CD! The first track is a bit misleading but if you listen to the words then you get what it is on about! But as the CD progresses it gets beter and better . This CD really shows off the girls singing abbility. The CD also has an interesting and intreging twist to it, by naming each song with a 'commandment of relationships' this is something to listen for. All in all I think that this is one of the best albums to come out in a long time and I would easily give it five stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thou Shall Love This., 25 April 2011
By 
Julia Havard "Heights47" (Swansea, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Writing's On The Wall (Audio CD)
Every Song from Beginning to end is great to amazing this is smooth chilled out R'N'B that feels as fresh in 2011 as it did in 1999 the overall production and feel of this album is so different to anything out there now and really of the time it was released and this is the album that really showcases Beyonce because thus far she has yet to make and album of the standard of The Writing's On The Wall both musically and lyrically it begs the question where the hell did she go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You Make me want to through my pager out the window!, 9 Dec. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Writing's On The Wall (Audio CD)
WOW! WHAT AN ALBUM. THESE GIRLS HAVE GOT TO BE ONE OF THE BEST R'N B GROUPS OUT THERE. PREVIOUSLY TO ME PURCHASING THIS ALBUM I HAD ONLY HEARD A COUPLE OF SONGS, BUT WAS PLEASENTLY SURPRISED TO FIND OUT THAT THE WHOLE ALBUM WAS FULL OF QUALITY. TRACKS LIKE 'SAY MY NAME' ARE BRILLIANT AND MY PERSONNAL FAVOURITE THE BONUS TRACK, 'GET ON THE BUS'. TAKE CARE YOU TEXAN BEAUTIES, KEEP IT REAL!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest R&B record of all times., 17 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Writing's On The Wall (Audio CD)
The soulful sounds of this cd are bound to please any R&B lover.I think most of it's tracck's are perfect for a romantic setting.It also has some very funky tracks to dance to.All in all you must be mad to let a cd with all good tracks pass like this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars As far as I'm concerned..., 9 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Writing's On The Wall (Audio CD)
This is a fairly good album. It absolutely whoops ass over FanMail which I give just 1 ickle star(why do we all compair them?) but I'm not sure that it's the best album on the market.
I got the special edition with 2 CDs, and so that makes up for some really desperate album fillers. Everything starts of extremely promisingly with So Good and Bills Bills Bills and the intermitant Bug A Boo, but then it trails off with about 5 songs that all sound similar. But, alas, as things all begin to go pear-shaped, along comes the absolutely outstanding Say My Name...it nearly convinced me to give this 4 stars. But, as with other people who have reviewed this, there are too many fillers and not enough of the brilliance of Say My Name and Bills Bills Bills...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars bombdigity, 30 Nov. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Writing's On The Wall (Audio CD)
This Album is the BOMB! Big up destiny's child. The best tracks are bug-a-boo,say my name, jumpin' jumpin'well actually they are all the Bomb! along with them selves. I'd get jiggy to this any day.
Peace,out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Destiny's Child At Their Best, 25 Jun. 2010
By 
This review is from: The Writing's On The Wall (Audio CD)
I bought this album a few years ago and it still sounded as funky as it did in 1999. This is definitely Destiny's Child's best album to date. The lyrics on every track are so meaningful but at the same time fun. Beyonce, Letoya, Latavia & Kelly's vocals are so amazing and strong on every track especially on 'Say My Name'.
This album is definitely a feel good fun album even though it is quite sad because this was Latavia and Letoya's last album with the group.
The top tracks are;
1. Say My Name
2. Jumpin' Jumpin'
3. Bug A Boo
4. Bills, Bills, Bills
5. Get On The Bus

For devoted R&B lovers this is a must have!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 5 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Writing's On The Wall (Audio CD)
Classic classic classic. I loooooove this album. Good rnb and never gets old in the ears. Sounds good still in 2014.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Writing's On The Wall
The Writing's On The Wall by Destiny's Child (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews