Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Death Metal album EVER, 8 Mar 2008
By 
This review is from: Left Hand Path (Audio CD)
I bought this album the day it came out having been an obsessive tape trader of anything of theirs I could get since their days as Nihilst and Left Hand Path still stands head and shoulders above any other Death Metal bands. It features the perfect blend of huge riffs and aggression with properly constructed songs that don't degenerate into unneccessary grunts and blast beats. The title track alone is worth buying the album for; if you're after DM and don't like that one, you're barking up the wrong tree.... an all time classic.
As far as I'm concerned, Death Metal soon became sanitised by the unwelcome muso noodling of bands like Cynic and any unfortunate group that Yngwie wannabee James Murphy latched onto; heaviness and ugliness gave way to excessive technical wizardry which did not belong in Death Metal; give me Master and Autopsy over pseudo prog noodlers any day!
The other end of the spectrum gave way to ridiculous Cannibal Corpse worshippers trying to shock their mums by saying naughty words and watching porn... try talking to a girl instead of sharing your masturbatory fantasies with a legion of pre-pubescent boys; who knows, you might even get a girlfriend one day.
Either way, Entombed (helped by godly producer Tomas Skogsberg) perfected the Death Metal sound with this album, they moved on later but never bettered this masterpiece.
This album didn't leave my stereo for months after buying and still comes with a whole hearted two thumbs up almost twenty years on. If you love your metal you NEED this piece of history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Monumental death metal debut., 2 Oct 2005
This review is from: Left Hand Path (Audio CD)
Entombed's debut offering was responsible (Along with Carcass's equally brilliant Heartwork album) for getting me into death metal back in the 90's. Monstrous, yet catchy riffing, thunderous drumming and LG Petrov's unmistakeable, guttural roar make for a brutally enjoyable album which is still among the finest examples of the genre some 15 years after it's release. Entombed set the standard for future Swedish death heads (Including Arch Enemy) to aspire to and Left Hand Path remains an essential part of any extreme metal collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rest In Festering Slime..., 12 July 2007
By 
Jane Aland (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Left Hand Path (Audio CD)
Entombed's debut album and the ground zero for Swedish death metal, 'Left Hand Path' is a bona fide classic that still stands up well today. A revolutionary guitar tone whose fuzzed out mid-tones were in complete contrast to the standard top-and-bottom-heavy US-style death metal bands of the time, and an album crammed with riffs so immense even the unfortunate lack of any lyric sheet can't stop these songs worming their way into your head. At this early stage in their career Entombed were playing full-throttle death metal and compared to this the majority of the bands later watered-down 'death and roll' sounds positivly tame. For me Entombed slightly improved on this forumla with their 2nd album 'Clandestine', but this is still unmissable stuff for metal fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential early death!!, 26 July 2008
By 
Mr. Karim Wanas "metal aficionado" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Left Hand Path (Audio CD)
This album goes back to the days before blastbeats became the driving force on a death album. Catchy, simple and brutal, it sums up how fantastic this band were at writing straight forward death metal songs.

This pips the follow up, Clandestine, mainly because LG Petrov had left the band temporarily, leaving Nicke Anderson to pick up vocal duties. Although he returned for Wolverine blues, the bands direction had changed.

When this album was released, I was still buying albums based on their cover art and it would have been tough to find a more sinister LP cover in 89/90. Their later album sleeves are generally pants when compared to Dan Seagraves creepy doodlings. Thoroughly recommended...........Enjoy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite possibly my number 1 album of ALL time......., 23 Mar 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Left Hand Path (Audio CD)
Mate... I'm gonna keep this short, n i'm gonna keep it pretty darn sweet!

This album is THE Entombed album of all time, and possibly the best album I have ever bought.....

The album opener Left Hand Path is an AMAZING track to open an album with, as it is just pure old skool Death Metal, n then the ending of the track.... MATE! You CANNOT put it into words.... Everytime i listen to this album I get the ol' shivers up the spine from word go! The way track 1 seemlessly blends into track 2 (after that deeply moving synth line) is pure unadulterated bliss, and the rest of the album jus snowballs from there to create, in my mind, the all time most amazing and influential Death Metal band of all time!

Consider the fact that (from what knowledge I've gained) when this album was created, the eldest band member was 19! I only wish that I'd achieved this much as that age.... I'm 24 and still hoping for that break, so pay respect for those that have achieved it! If you love Death Metal, it'd be a shame to miss out on one of this worlds greatest bands!

Enjoy!!! :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Entombed, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Left Hand Path (Audio CD)
That is what you feel when you listen to this album. For all the deathstars here this a treasure. For the rest please keep away. There are other supergroups for you to discover anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It is a monster, 22 Jun 2011
This review is from: Left Hand Path (Audio CD)
Slab of pure, brutal scandinavian Death Metal. It's heavy, distorted and generally pretty damn evil, which considering the name of the album is pretty appropriate. There are no breaks in this onslaught of noise, you just put it on and it utterly pummels your ears for ~40 minutes. It's almost a relief when it stops, because if it was any longer, you might actually disintegrate. A real must for fans of all that is brutal. With an umlaut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars this is teh beginning of swedens revolution in metal, 24 April 2006
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Left Hand Path (Audio CD)
this was released in 1989,of course death metal was going then,we also had carcass in the world of metal and then we had entombed who released left hand path as their debut and something changed forever,after this the swedish melodic metal trend brought in flames,dark tranquility,the haunted ,arch enemy,soilwork,and darkane to name a few and they all owe a tribute to entombed,its really that simple,this album has been classified as death metal but it is nowhere near as heavy as you may think,there are death vocals on show but they aint overbearing,the guitars ebb and flow with melodic class and its an album that leaves you purring,few death albums could ever do that,songs like album opener left hand path just snap at your soul and the piano outro which wouldnt look lost on the exorcist soundtrack can send shivers ripping through your spine.the song s supposed to rot and carnal leftovers show the bands ability to the hilt,its a sharp short album that will amaze
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Detah Metal classic by Entombed., 30 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Left Hand Path (Audio CD)
This is a Death Metal Classic, a Household name for Death Metal lovers. an excellent debut by Entombed from 1989, starting the entire career of one of the most influential death metal artists of all times. truly a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Left Hand Path
Left Hand Path by Entombed (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews