Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2001 HDCD Remaster Version Of A Forgotten 1982 Classic!
Released in November 1982 "Long After Dark" seemed to slip through the cracks - no-one seemed to notice it - especially in the UK - when it's actually a brilliant rock album with all the great Petty trademark hooks and catchy choruses. Tune after tune hits you with their economy and brilliance - just great.

But the reason for this review - and it's pricey value...
Published on 16 May 2008 by Mark Barry

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Long After Dark Tom Petty And The Heartbreakers
With few stand out tracks that really grab you this is not one of their best albums in my opinion. Solid if not spectacular.
Published 18 months ago by Graham Kitt


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2001 HDCD Remaster Version Of A Forgotten 1982 Classic!, 16 May 2008
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Long After Dark (Audio CD)
Released in November 1982 "Long After Dark" seemed to slip through the cracks - no-one seemed to notice it - especially in the UK - when it's actually a brilliant rock album with all the great Petty trademark hooks and catchy choruses. Tune after tune hits you with their economy and brilliance - just great.

But the reason for this review - and it's pricey value on the open market - is that this issue is not the crap 80's CD initially issued, but the hard-to-find 2001 HDCD version (High Definition Compact Disc) - and the difference in sound couldn't be more pronounced.

Remastered by Joe Gastwirt at Oceanview Digital from the original analogue master tapes - the sound on this issue is just stupendous - clear, rockin' and so loud, you may have to turn the stereo down! A truly fantastic remaster job.

The booklet is ok - reproducing the lyrics the original inner sleeve had - and the back inlay picture is different to the 80's issue, but that's about it. Doesn't really matter that because the sound is just so gobsmacking.

An absolute blinder of an album - and not nearly as dated as so much Eighties cack is. Thoroughly recommended - even at a price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'Long After Dark' - often overlooked, but a good one!, 24 Jun 2011
By 
N. Waters "Nicky" (Derbyshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
All Petty's albums are good - some, like 'Damn the Torpedoes' and 'Wildflowers' among others, exceptionally so. This one is often overlooked, and in all fairness there is nothing particularly ground-breaking here, nor are there any real classics. However, musically and lyrically it is a good, solid, consistent album and one I listen to often. Petty, Campbell, Tench etc, do what they do, and as always with this band, the whole is greater than the sum of the parts (which are in themselves never less than good!). Personal favourite tracks are 'Change of Heart', 'Finding Out' and 'The Same Old You', but I like the others too. Definitely deserves a place in any Petty collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Long After Dark, 31 Dec 2007
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long After Dark (Audio CD)
'Long After Dark' is an often overlooked album by Tom Petty and yet it has some particularly good tracks on it. The steady keyboard beat of 'You Got Lucky' drives the song along and it has some of the best Petty lyrics of this era. 'Straight Into Darkness' is one of my Petty favourites and sits perfectly in the middle of this album. This album doesn't have the blatant rock n roll fun of his first album, the fire and power of 'Damn The Torpedoes' or the exuberance of 'Full Moon fever', yet it has a solid sound and feel to it that makes it stand out in it's own right. Not my first Petty choice or recommendation, but a great album never the less.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Replacement, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great rock album, before it's time. Great to have CD copy, replacing old vinyl I bought on first release.
Memorable tracks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very pleasant surprise..., 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After reading a few scathing reviews, I decided to find out for myself what Long After Dark was all about. I was very surprised listening to this. Yeah, Granted, Petty's songwriting isn't the strongest here but just about every track is great sounding and very well produced, mostly thanks i think, to the band being a bit older and Jimmy Iovine at the desk. Standout tracks are: You Got Lucky, Deliver Me and Straight Into Darkness. Suck it and see people. Arrived quickly and with no problems. Cheers seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Almost as good as 'Hard Promises', 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a Tom Petty devotee I have listened to a few CDs. This is one of Tom's best! He rocks it out good and strong! If you haven't got it, you've missed out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Long After Dark Tom Petty And The Heartbreakers, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
With few stand out tracks that really grab you this is not one of their best albums in my opinion. Solid if not spectacular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars this is petty good !, 11 Jan 2011
By 
Neil sayce "nossa" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long After Dark (MP3 Download)
I bought this after watching a tv special about petty just for completism really and boy what a little gem it is . Very good remaster with real heavy arrangements from the band .This to me stands alongside any of Pettys albums old or new and is a good end to the first period of his career pre Jeff lynne and George Harrison making him into an ELO Beatle bodge up.Which was ok but this is much better.Dont hesitate download now and enjoy .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Tom Petty Album, 17 Jun 2010
By 
Heathcliffe "nalafud" (Winchester Hampshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long After Dark (Audio CD)
Recent Tom Petty has been disappointing frankly, as so much of his output in recent years. This takes you right back to what made him brilliant in the first place - not a Dylan flunkie, but a great tight band with seriously good material and some sharp lyrics. Some iconic stuff here - You Got Lucky, Change of Heart, The Same Old You - but dive into Staight Into Darkness 'There was a moment when I really loved her, then one day the feeling just died - we went straight into darkness, straight into night....'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bought AS A Gift, 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really don't know, as I bought it as a gift for somebody else. I cannot possibly speak on somebody else's behalf. All I can say is that the item arrived within the estimated time slot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Long After Dark
Long After Dark by Tom Petty (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews