Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a masterpiece
Yanni is one of modern instrumental music's most distinctive and popular composers. Yanni moved to the USA in 1972 where he attended the University of Minnesota, pursuing a degree in psychology while also playing with rock band Chameleon. However, he is now a naturalized US citizen based in Los Angeles, California, leaving behind his academic studies to concentrate on...
Published on 3 Sept. 2003 by paula6714

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
Already have Yanni in America but this music was disappointing. Expected London orchestra to make it, but it worked in the opposite way, being too orchestral. also, a little of Yanni himself was down in volume. However, still very listenable.
Published on 3 Mar. 2013 by Oddbitz


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a masterpiece, 3 Sept. 2003
This review is from: Yanni Live At The Acropolis (Audio CD)
Yanni is one of modern instrumental music's most distinctive and popular composers. Yanni moved to the USA in 1972 where he attended the University of Minnesota, pursuing a degree in psychology while also playing with rock band Chameleon. However, he is now a naturalized US citizen based in Los Angeles, California, leaving behind his academic studies to concentrate on richly orchestrated and complex keyboard compositions - he was already a self-taught musician with perfect pitch in Greece, as well as a one-time national swimming champion, though to this day he insists he cannot "read" music. His statement of intent: "My goal is to connect with people emotionally. I take life's experiences and translate them into music", though perhaps a little pompous, has resulted in albums that have developed a huge following in his adopted homeland.
The best example of this, and something of a career summation, was Yanni Live At The Acropolis. Planned over two years, this concert in front of 2,000 people in September 1993 (the first time Yanni had played live in his own country) developed an astonishing chart life when released as a double album, reaching platinum status several times over. One of the most phenomenal bestsellers of the mid-90s, it saw Yanni joined by his own band as well as the Royal Philharmonic Concert Orchestra.
Please give this cd a try, YOU WON'T REGRET IT!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yanni at his Peak!, 30 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Yanni Live At The Acropolis (Audio CD)
This really is the ultimate Yanni album- it shines with his breathtaking talent to create original, highly melodic music. His best works receive the honour of being played by the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, and what a splendid job these musicians do. Each track is strong in its own right, making the album something of a must-have. The highlight for me is the reworking of his most famous piece "Aria". Karen Briggs, part of Yanni's own band, is great on violin. I recommend you purchase the video from Amazon as well as you will be able not only to listen to this top-notch work but see it performed in the spectacular setting of the Acropolis. A truly special CD, fully deserving its five stars (Yanni fans: try checking out Water's Edge by Tim Janis on Amazon.co.uk)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply unbelievable, 26 Feb. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Yanni Live At The Acropolis (Audio CD)
I'm not usually into music of this genre but when a relative gave me the CD as a gift i had soon promoted this to the top of my entire collection. The raw passion, emotion and energy that is conveyed through the music is one that can touch the soul of any music lover. I personally am into rock, garage and trance so even if you're not into orchestral music don't look the other way. please give this a try, you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Passionate music for a passionate soul., 15 Nov. 2000
This review is from: Yanni Live At The Acropolis (Audio CD)
This album is just packed with emotions, passion being the strongest one. It is rare that you experience the composer's feelings through listening to his/her music but with Yanni and Live at the Acropolis in particular no soul is left untouched! The music is calming, exciting, envigorating and passionate all at once, hardly with a moment to catch your breath! Purely fantastic. His album "In my time" is also fantastic and very recreational but the power of the orchestra in Live at the Acropolis I find must be unbeatable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vibrant, exciting music making., 16 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Yanni Live At The Acropolis (Audio CD)
Yanni's amazing style once again. Such massive impact music. Where does he find these immensly talented musicians ? Or do they find him because he writes so brilliantly. Wonderful to hear musicians from other recordings - like old friends - just love the jazz violin and the talking bass. Yet Yanni can tinkle the piano keys in a way like no other. Magical !!!! Romantic - exciting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best relaxation music album of all the times, 28 Sept. 2000
This review is from: Yanni Live At The Acropolis (Audio CD)
This is the best New age album of all the times, it helps u to relax, as they say, music is like soul food, and this Album does really feed up your soul with passion. Yanni has a number of excellent releases and no one wouldn't agree that this one is the best. His other album Tribute is also good, but it's not as good as this one as all the tracks in this release are brilliant, u'll put it in your CD player all the time ! Miss it and miss out !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love the music, 4 May 2014
By 
Hobbers "NH" (Bromley, Kent UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yanni Live At The Acropolis (Audio CD)
I have just 'discovered' Yanni and became such a fan of his music. After watching a lot of his tracks posted on You Tube I really wanted a CD of this concert. The CD has selected tracks but contains some of the best music he played at the Acropolis over 20 years ago. Excellent compilation if you are a Yanni fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 3 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yanni Live At The Acropolis (Audio CD)
Already have Yanni in America but this music was disappointing. Expected London orchestra to make it, but it worked in the opposite way, being too orchestral. also, a little of Yanni himself was down in volume. However, still very listenable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Music, 2 May 2010
This review is from: Yanni Live At The Acropolis (Audio CD)
I bought this CD after finding this composer and artist on Utube. This is such a beautiful CD if you are a lover of classical romantic orchestral music. Very relaxing to listen too, and the tunes are really quite moving and I would have loved to have been there live at the show. My only comment would be it does sound slightly tinny, so the quality could have been slightly better, but I enjoyed this CD and so pleased I bought it, I m sure you would not be dissappointed at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Yanni, 28 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yanni Live At The Acropolis (Audio CD)
Haven't heard these tracks for such a long time. Saw this concert live hence the purchase. Extremely good quality CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Yanni Live At The Acropolis
Yanni Live At The Acropolis by Yanni (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews