Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Motor-city madman at his best
The combination of Derek St-Holmes rock/blues voice & Nugent's "rifftastic" guitar work is an irresistable blend that has rarely been equalled.This mid-70's classic albumopens with the predatory "Stranglehold"featuring one of those "simple but effective" nugent riffs.
This album is packed with meatand no filler,save for the jazzy"You make me feel right at home"which...
Published on 25 May 2003 by procklington

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars New music.
My son has become a big follower of Mr. Nugent, so I reviewed the
feedback and chose this as my "trial" album. Not bad, but not exactly
my cup of tea. However, a good range of music, and remastered so
sounds good. I wouldn't buy this artist again, but as with all music, its
a personal choice.
Published 22 months ago by boxster1david


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Motor-city madman at his best, 25 May 2003
This review is from: Ted Nugent: Remastered (Audio CD)
The combination of Derek St-Holmes rock/blues voice & Nugent's "rifftastic" guitar work is an irresistable blend that has rarely been equalled.This mid-70's classic albumopens with the predatory "Stranglehold"featuring one of those "simple but effective" nugent riffs.
This album is packed with meatand no filler,save for the jazzy"You make me feel right at home"which shows a more mellow side.
Tracks such as "Stormtroopin'","Snakeskin cowboys","Hey baby" and the incendiary "Motorcity madhouse" are songs that Nugent still performs to this day.
Buy this album then follow it up by purchasing "Free for all " and "Cat scratch fever".This glorious triumverate of releases from the Detroit city rocker are musts for any self-respecting rock fan's collection.
As the fourth track suggests definitely "Just what the doctor ordered"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ted's first and best!, 22 July 2006
By 
This review is from: Ted Nugent: Remastered (Audio CD)
I first bought this album back in 1978 as a teenager when I was buying classic rock and punk stuff too. Mostly I bought it on the strength of the cover and the sleeve notes, not the most sound of reasons for choosing a record!! When I got it home and put it on the deck I wasn't disappointed, right from the growling start of the smouldering 10 minute opening number it was a winner and I still love it today.

Ted came up through the same Detroit scene as The MC5 and the Stooges, and like them he's all about energy - that Detroit rock sound. Ted never went in for the political or social statement in his music like the other two acts which built up a cult following but not the commercial success. Ted's foundation was a high energy Rock and Roll, like a turbo charged Chuck Berry.

This was his first album and he never really surpassed it for an overall package of songs, there isn't a bum track on this record, it has some great riffs and mean attitude. There is a manic intensity to a lot this album.

'Stranglehold' is a smouldering guitar work out, the tone of Ted's guitar is just awesome. 'Just what the Doctor ordered' is a great riff too as is 'Snakeskin Cowboys' which swaggers along.

Even the couple of more mellow tracks are alright, kind of jazzy almost. But as a great pure heavy rock and roll (as opposed to heavy metal or heavy rock) this is hard to beat. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Nug`s Great Debut !, 6 Aug 2007
This review is from: Ted Nugent: Remastered (Audio CD)
As the previuos reviews have said this is a great thumping bumping grinding beast of an album. It introduced Ted to the masses across the globe. Most of the songs on this album became staple songs on the road for well over a decade. "Stranglehold" "Stormtrooper" "Motor City Madhouse" "Snake Skin Cowboy" there all here. A testament to a better time at least musically that is. Teds playing is hotter than hot as he wrings every last note out of his Gibson Firebird. If you have Van Halens 1st album & Montrose`s debut then you`ve gotta get this to make your collection complete ! One of the best debuts of the Hard Rock/Metal music scene. Go Buy !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ted Nugent, 16 Oct 2011
By 
Stephen Crawford (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ted Nugent: Remastered (Audio CD)
I can't believe I never listened to this guy in the 70's when I was a teenager, having only come across Stranglehold recently while listening to Planet Rock radio. I ordered a copy right away and found the whole album superb with the sound quality matching the guitar playing on this remastered disc. Shame I only discovered him now, but at least that's something to look forward to, as I check out some more of his work.
Thoroughly recommended listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One satisfied Birthday boy, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ted Nugent: Remastered (Audio CD)
Bought as a gift and the birthday boy is happy with it . It is Nugent at his rocking best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best of the 70's hard rockers., 6 July 2012
By 
Michael Dobey (colorado springs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ted Nugent: Remastered (Audio CD)
Ted nugent created one of the best of the 1970's hard rockers here. This is powerful stuff with not one poor song on it. "stranglehold', 'stormtroopin' , 'queen of the forest" and the hit single 'hey baby' are all on here. the first two were monster fm radio hits. In ost of the world. Ted was a wild arrow shooting madman and a great guitar player. His vocalist who is back with him again derek st holmes carries most of the singing here. This and the next two releases from ted are among the best hard rock discs ever created. If you like seventies metal rock then this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Motor City Madman!, 25 Sep 2011
By 
James N. Beatson "Jim Beatson" (Basingstoke, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ted Nugent: Remastered (Audio CD)
The album that launched Ted's new career following the split from the Amboy Dukes gives a taste of the good things to come. Hard, driving rock with plenty of flash guitar, this appeared the same year Nugent played Reading and took the festival by storm!

If you've never experienced Ted's brand of gonzoid rock put this in you machine, sit back, and be amazed. Then go out and buy "Free For All" (lyrics sung by a then unknown Meatloaf) and the superb "Cat Scratch Fever". Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ted's best?, 11 Jun 2014
By 
os - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ted Nugent: Remastered (Audio CD)
Ted Nugent as a political thinker and orator is a dubious and not altogether appealing prospect, some might say. Sure,Ted has an opinion on most things but at least in the cartoon character persona he has created for his public ruminations he at least expresses himself with some humour and sincerity. However, most rock fans of a certain vintage would agree that Ted Nugent the hard rocker is at his best when he allows his guitar to do the talking.

The first five tracks on this set essentially show Ted at his absolute peak. The undoubted live energy of Ted and his band are well caught on this record. It's a stripped down no-nonsense production job. Just Ted and the boys blasting it out. It helps to that there are some really good tunes to support all this energy. 'Stormtroopin' is one such example. Featuring an irritatingly catchy riff, a meaty vocal and a guitar interlude of such intensity that it seems to come screaming out of the speakers, it shows what Ted can do when he tries. Other Ted classics include the groovesome 'Hey Baby' and the stomping yet strangely sophisticated `Stranglehold'. The formula begins to pale towards the end of the album as the song writing quality begins to wane a tad.

What can't be denied though is the patented Ted Nugent energy that runs all the way through this set. He is loud and brash,deeply juvenile and indefatigably vulgar but that's why we like him! Tribute seriously ought to go to Ted as a guitarist. Yes he is a heavy rocker, but he more than just reheated stock blues-boogie licks to offer. His guitar tone is big and warm and Ted has real 'feel'. Yet he plays with precision and his solos rarely outstay their welcome. So for lovers of hard rock '70's style, this is a very, very good album. It wouldn't win any prizes for originality, subtlety or lyrical insight. But that is not what Uncle Ted is selling. He wants to give you a good time and on this disc he succeeds handsomely. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nugent!, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ted Nugent: Remastered (Audio CD)
I've had this album on vinyl since the 70's, after seeing the great gig, Hammersmith Odean, same period, always loved it, time to purchase the cd. Still good stuff, even after all this time, especially the opening track, Stranglehold, which still holds it own! Listen, if you will to Snakeskin Cowboys, and revel in the solid sound of a great rock guitarist.If you like the man, check out the two excellent cd's by Damn Yankees (1990) & Don't Tread (1992) Ted still flying high!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb., 23 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ted Nugent: Remastered (Audio CD)
A brilliant and classic album from this superb guitarist, featuring that great track, Stranglehold. If you want to hear the master at his best, this CD has to be added to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ted Nugent: Remastered
Ted Nugent: Remastered by Ted Nugent (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews