Customer Reviews
Aja


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the Best
I can remember sitting a car in 1977 when the song 'Deacon Blues' came on the radio. I was instantly mesmerised. Having never heard Steely Dan before I was amazed by the quality and feel of both the song and the recording. I immediately went out and bought the 'LP'. It was this that started my love of the music of Messers Becker and Fagen.
If you are considering your...
Published on 22 Jun. 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Super Audio CD in 2 way stereo
Little bit disapointed about the SACD Sound. On vinyl The drums on the title song sound much more natural.
It is a new player by Marantz. The SA14s1. I hope the player still needs a Break In period.
Published 13 months ago by Harry van Enckevort


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 47 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Smooooooth stuff, 24 Mar. 2014
By 
A. Sajip (Cambridge, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aja (Audio CD)
Not their best record, perhaps, but very accomplished nonetheless - great licks from Larry Carlton et al., and although many complain of its polish and shine, it's certainly more than just a cold husk. 'Deacon Blues' is warm and compassionate, 'Black Cow' has a killer bassline, 'Peg' is a perfectly subversive little pop song, and the title track is the Dan at their elegiac prettiest.

I'm not sure it deserves to be their highest-selling album; lyrically, all of their previous ones are more interesting (save perhaps 'The Royal Scam', which is also underrated). But it's a great album nonetheless - their last of the decade. Buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 14 Oct. 2009
By 
KHerbst (Copenhagen, Denmark) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Aja (Audio CD)
Clearly one of the best albums from Steely Dan. The LP has got a real good sound quality to it, but this digitally remastered CD edition is even better, at least on a great system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brings back memories, 13 Mar. 2009
This review is from: Aja (Audio CD)
I bought this for my husband and he now can't stop playing it. He loves it. Unfortunately the kids aren't too keen but it is great fun to hear the old music again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Crimson Tide of Steely Dan, 29 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aja (Audio CD)
An album you can listen to a hundred times and still hear something new. The lyrics seem to hang around in your brain long after the music has finished, demanding your attention. "They call Alabama the Crimson Tide", an intriguing line, but what does it mean? A few minutes on Wikipedia reveals that this is the name of the sports team at Alabama state university, which sheds light on the rest of the lyrics in this song. Not pop music, not straight rock or jazz, but a stylish amalgamation of idioms plus the Steely's own brand of eccentric magic, with virtuosity in every area. Steve Gadd's drumming on the title track would have secured it legendary status by itself.
You really need to have this CD in your collection, and listen to it at least 5 times before you make up your mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest Rock/Jazz/Fusion/Blues album ever!, 19 Dec. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Aja (Audio CD)
You need more than 10,000 words to describe the skill and structure of this email.Take the best session musicians in L.A. and two of the best Jazz musicians in the world and you get Aja.My tip for the best song is "PEG" the bass and the drums setup an amazing groove with Rick Marotta and Chuck Rainey both playing amazingly.A must for any fan of Blues, Rock, Jazz or fusion!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is THE one, 27 Oct. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Aja (Audio CD)
I could wax lyrical about this album for ever and have indeed had many a drunken conversation about it's merits over all other DAN albums if not anything else in the universe. Suffice to say that I'm Aja'd out and can't extol it's virtues enough. So I won't say any more other than if you don't already own it or have never heard it I feel great sadness for you having missed out on THE ONE! Go out and get it and make your world a better place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Delight, 2 July 2015
By 
This review is from: Aja [VINYL] (Vinyl)
This is Steely Dan's best album for me - and believe me I love them all - and to have this on pristine vinyl again - the way I first heard it ( a copy which had been bled white through excessive turntable wear) is a pure delight.
Great price too for what normally retails for almost double this cost
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the most musical of all the Steely Dan albums, 19 April 2013
By 
Mr. W. Allbrook "willduo" (West of England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aja (Audio CD)
Although very much of its time Aja is one of those albums that you can treat like an old friend. You may not play it for a couple of years then you go back to it and find you still have so much in common. Beautifully produced if you like Steely Dan I can thoroughly recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still Brilliant!, 11 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: STEELY DAN-AJA (Audio CD)
It was always one of my favourite vinyls and now on CD it just shines! Dazzling, clever, lyrical and so sly and funny. "Deacon Blues" still the best of a wonderful bunch, but the two hits "Peg" and "Josie" showing what good pop songs should be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just cool., 2 Mar. 2014
By 
NickB (South Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aja (MP3 Download)
Music tastes and styles may come and go , but Fagan and Becker have consistently turned out classy material, this album is no different. It may not have the rockier styles of say Reelin in the Years or Bhodissatva (?), but this album contains some gems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 47 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Aja
Aja by Steely Dan (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews