Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still Controversial After All these Years
This 40th anniversary edition of Miles Davis Bitches Brew is beautifully produced and a reminder of the furore that greeted it on its release .Many used to the melodic records of the previous decade or more did not understand it or like it much though they recognized Davis, virtuosity and inventiveness.Even today it has none of the accessibility or wide appeal of the...
Published on 18 Oct 2010 by Mr. C. W. Livett

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bitches Brew: Miles Davis - Miles runs the voodoo down in a gloriously ambitious experiment
I know I am about to be shot down for this, but I have always felt this work from all round jazz great and musical innovator Mile Davis to be less than successful, and is one that I very rarely, if ever, listen to.

I can see the merits of it. It's a grand experiment, pushing the boundaries of music. Such things are to be lauded and encouraged. And while it...
Published on 22 Mar 2012 by Victor


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still Controversial After All these Years, 18 Oct 2010
By 
Mr. C. W. Livett "colin Livett" (Hull Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This 40th anniversary edition of Miles Davis Bitches Brew is beautifully produced and a reminder of the furore that greeted it on its release .Many used to the melodic records of the previous decade or more did not understand it or like it much though they recognized Davis, virtuosity and inventiveness.Even today it has none of the accessibility or wide appeal of the previous decades Kind of Blue.Even after 4o years it is not exactly an easy listen but parts of it are works of genius Some tagged this the first Jazz Rock Record,some one of the greatest Rock records ever made and more still would see it as one of the most influential recordings ever made.I am certain that Davis himself would have had no patience with any attempt to pigeon hole him and went on developing his music until the end of his life.

Bitches Brew is not an easy listen.You,like me,might start by hating it but with repeated listening you will hopefully, like myself ,grow to love it.Someone once spoke of the 'shock of the new' Even after 40 years and much imitative music since this still has the power to shock. It is an essential purchase,but please don't throw it in the bin after the first listening
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another landmark Miles album: the fusion revolution!, 16 Jan 2003
By 
Adam Ventress (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bitches Brew (Audio CD)
It is hard, 37 years on to imagine the impact this album had on its release in early 1970. It out sold all Miles' previous albums in its first year, inspired a new movement in jazz, and crossed musical boundaries, yet it led conservative jazz critic Stanley Crouch, amongst others, to dismiss it as an act of 'self violation'

Miles had already taken steps down the path of fusion, the use of electric instruments and rock sounds in jazz, with Filles do Kilamanjaro and especially In A Silent Way. However this was a much louder, bolder, brasher statement. This was the point of no return.

This controversial classic was both a logical continuation of where Miles' music was going, and a groundbreaking, unique album, which still sounds fresh exciting and compelling today. It incorporates a range of influences Miles was bringing to his music: jazz improvisation, blues, Jimi Hendrix inspired rock, African grooves and rhythms, Sly Stone and James Brown inspired funk.

The same principles of a deep groove laid down by layers of rhythm, electric keyboards and guitar, and of post performance studio editing and reconstruction, follow on directly from In A Silent Way. The sound though, is much denser and heavier, with bass clarinet, thudding electric bass and powerful rock backbeats and African rhythm adding to the 'brew' to create a swampy, menacing and bottom heavy texture.

Over the top, Miles is the main solo voice, his trumpet deliberately louder in the mix than the solos of guitarist John McLaughlin and Wayne Shorter on soprano sax, both of whom emerge more subtly through the dense backdrop. In this sense, Miles was to some extent retreading a fusion version of the call and response work on Porgy and Bess and Sketches of Spain where he was the lone solo voice over the orchestral ensemble, only here the ensemble was far noisier, abstract and experimental. His playing is magnificent on this album, some of his most powerful and declamatory soloing on record, with just the odd touches of mournful vulnerability, made more poignant by their scarcity.

While an atmosphere and sound pervades the whole album, the 2 discs neatly contrast with the first 2 tracks being lengthy studio reconstructions, heavily edited from experimental jams with a minimal theme, and the shorter tracks on disc 2 being untouched complete studio takes, released as they were recorded.

Both Pharoahs Dance and the title track are fascinating examples of post production, and while mostly compelling, are less immediate and obviously structured, and both would have benefitted from a little more trimming. Pharoahs Dance slowly creates an atmosphere, the 'theme' of which is only played towards the end by Miles, otherwise only hinted at before, but it somehow makes sense of the previous 16 minutes. B Brew itself is a little too long, but the opening and repeated 'call and response' fanfare is beautifully done, one of the most memorable parts of the album, with Miles' trumpet calls treated with reverb and echo to give a more majestic sound.

The standout track for me, and one of the finest things he ever recorded, is Spanish Key. It follows in a long line of Spanish/Flamenco flavoured tracks Miles recorded: Blues For Pablo, Flamenco Sketches, the Sketches of Spain album, Teo. In fact, as is pointed out in the liner notes, it is related to Flamenco Sketches also in its structure, the use of scales and key centres, cued at the improvisers will. The tighter structure of Spanish Key, obvious solo spots and continuations from his previous work make a nonsense to some of the critics claims at the time that Miles was abandoning jazz in his search for new sounds and forms.

The dancing rhythm and thudding bass line propel the track along with extra rhythmic sounds from Don Alias. Miles plays with passion ecomomy and precision, slowly building tension to fever pitch in the first few minutes, while in his second solo, he briefly slows things down with some beautiful haunting and lonely phrases, as the rhythm dies down to a whisper before picking up again for the final coda. In between, McLaughlin and Shorter solo from deeper in the mix but to great effect. A brilliant track from start to finish.

The bluesy Miles Runs The Voodoo Down is similarly more approachable than disc 1, but is slower, prowling along like a big cat stalking its prey. Miles gradually and powerfully builds up a head of steam, no hint of vulnerability here, then sits back until the ensemble reaches a messy peak of intensity before he returns at the end.

Sanctuary is curiously made up of 2 separate takes simply glued together, when just one would possibly have been more effective. It is by far the most becalmed thing on the album, but still has an underlying unsettled, restless feel and is an effective closer.

All these tracks were recorded on just 3 days, in August 1969, but were not unleashed on the world until April 1970, when Miles had already recorded several other studio sessions, breaking further new experimantal ground, which is fully documented on 'The Complete BB Sessions'

This album stands as it is though, and is one of the most fascinating albums amongst Miles' vastly varied output. The dense new music is not always successful, as there are passages which are a little cluttered or lacking in direction, but for the most part this is remarkable, trailblazing and thrilling music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mindblowing, as always..., 8 Sep 2010
By 
J. G. Hastie "GogolH" (SCOTLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This latest edition is worth it for the Copenhagan DVD alone - space age jazz, with Dave Holland still on acoustic bass (and doing some remarkable things, including an uncanny "impersonation" of Miles at one point), but with Chick Corea on Fender Rhodes. This is the "lost quintet" - thankfully, these days some of the extraordinary music they made has been found, and the DVD is yet another revelation for us. By Isle of Wight less than a year later the music was getting funkier (with Holland by now on Fender bass) - it's a shame that Columbia are saving the Tanglewood session, around the same time as Isle of Wight, with Gary Bartz on saxes and Keith Jarrett doubling with Corea on keyboards for those who can afford the deluxe edition - it can, however, be found at Wolfgang's Vault and is, of course, extraordinary. By the end of the year Michael Henderson was in Holland's shoes and the music had changed yet again, into something funky, primal and quite scarily intense, and bearing little resemblance to the Copenhagan set (Live/Evil; the Cellar Door Sessions). All great music, of course - that was Miles, who was playing the most powerfully brilliant trumpet of his career (probably).

Bitches Brew still blows my mind - as Paul Buckmaster says on the Isle of Wight DVD, it is so intense at times that one can hardly take it. I've no idea how many times I've listened to BB since first hearing it in 1970, but I've no doubt I will return to it again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bitches Brew - Still A Classic 40 Years On., 5 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Most people reading this review will probably be familiar with the 40 year old classic Jazz/Fusion album 'Bitches Brew' and are probably asking themselves whether its worthwile buying this new Legacy 2CD + DVD edition. This set features the original double album, an additional 2 alternate takes of ` Spanish Key' and ` John McLaughlin' and the 45 rpm single edits of `Miles Runs The Voodoo Down', `Spanish Key', ` Great Expectations' and `Little Blue Frog' plus a DVD of a live concert filmed in Copenhagen in 1969.

This really is a great box set to celebrate the 40th Anniversary of Miles first `Gold Album', and probably its the closest that Jazz/fusion ever came to rock music.

Whilst, if you have the original album and/or the Complete Bitches Brew sessions, you would have the majority of the audio content, this is still a very worthwhile purchase if you appreciate this era of Miles music, where he came close to being the Jimi Hendrix of his genre. 'Bitches Brew' still features in the Rolling Stone Greatest 100 albums of all time and I highly recommend this edition of what I consider to one of the best albums from 1970s, as the additional audio material and previously unreleased DVD concert from Copenhagen make this essential for people who enjoy Miles late 60's/early 70's music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars directions in music? he didn't know, he just drove!!, 20 Nov 2003
This review is from: Bitches Brew (Audio CD)
There are two ways to listen to Bitches Brew, probably, in my opinion, one of the greatest pieces of music ever recorded. One way is to sit and listen and try to analyse and be a critic. This way you have to be knowledgeable about what came before and after in jazz or improvised music. The other way is to walk around whilst you're listening - drink some wine, play with your children (they love the freedom in this music), snarl and grunt like Miles does, play 'air trumpet' in that 'walking on eggshells' way in which Miles played his instrument. This way you will be true to (I think) Miles' intentions in making this album. This music is constantly searching. In the best of the improvised or even the modern European musical tradition, it is all content and form goes out the window. The trick to appreciating this music is to recognise that it is of the moment. You can enjoy repeated listening but each time will not be like the time before. These are not songs, more snippets of melody backed by a gargantuan backing band who push and kick Miles to respond, ever moving, ever reaching. You CAN dance to this music (if you like) and although it was recorded in a time before the modern obsession (in popular music anyway) with style, with standardisation, with safety - you are allowed, I think, to ENJOY it.
The best track on the album for a newcomer to jazz or improvised music is 'Miles Runs the Voodoo Down' which has a compelling vamp kind of rhythmic movement that pulls you into the music. The must hear track however, once you have got to grips with the actual sound, which is quite 'other-wordly', is the title track where Miles plays to himself through the echoplex - quite haunting. Another album that shares a similar style to this with its use of multiple electric pianos is Joe Zawinul's (another player on BB) excellent 'Zawinul' (1971).
The sound on this issue of BB is also much cleaned up from the original which was a bit of a mush. I would advise anyone who is serious about actually appreciating musical sound to buy this album. The tracks really are like little pieces of the great Miles's thoughts cut up and jumbled around and then stuck back together. It is funny though, and it perhaps says something about our rock tradition in music, that if the lead instrument here was an electric guitar (say like Hendrix or Radiohead), nobody would be saying anything about not being able to understand it or it being difficult or 'a noise'. Because it is a trumpet and a trumpet is not meant to sound like this, everyone is not sure. I think this was Miles's intention behind recording this album: ever the musical revolutionary he wanted to say forget about what you know and what has come before, this is a new direction.
This music will linger with you long after you have first heard it and it does repay you - honest. Give yourself a chance and buy this wonderful album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius at play, 5 May 2001
This review is from: Bitches Brew (Audio CD)
For me, Bitches Brew represents the pinnacle of Miles Davis' genius. It may not be the most commercially popular, and it is not the most critically acclaimed, but it is audacious, cohesive and thoroughly enjoyable.
The wonderful feeling of communication and understanding which bubbles beneath the surface of the music is glorious. The editing also plays a crucial role, especially to deliver such effect as the delay on the trumpet line on the title track.
While these ideas, and the material itself, are incisive, the only truly outlandish concept is the instrumentation. For example, the beginning of "Pharaoh's Dance" is a barrage of electric piano sounds which is a shock to the system. Miles also uses bass clarinet to add a unique sound.
All round, these two discs have that rare combination of initial interest and depth, which will make anyone want to play them again and again. Wholeheartedly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful and excellent; musical art of the highest order, 19 Jun 2003
This review is from: Bitches Brew (Audio CD)
What a blast! I bought this album only yesterday and so far, I am finding it exhilarating, rewarding and immensly enjoyable (and surprisingly accessible).
At least for 5 of the 7 tracks on this version, it's like the aural equivalent of a high octane roller coaster ride (the other 2 are more a little more relaxed and ethereal and don't have the same driving rhythm, although still excellent in a different manner). The rhythm and percussion lines carry you along superbly whilst Miles' trumpet soars and swoops, the woodwind compliments well, the keyboards jam along furiously and John McLaughlin's guitar adds a hard, rocky feel to it which heightens the exhilaration.
Its one of those albums where you are listening to one fantastic cut, loving that, and looking forward to hearing the album again from the start at the same moment.
I must admit the 'negative' sound needs a couple of hearings to adjust to, but once you are past the 'differentness factor'; wow! What a ride! By 'negative' I mean atonal not 'bad'. It is this use of atonal notes combined with the driving rhythm which creates the exhilaration, I think (armchair philosopher alert).
If you are prepared to give it some time and have a MATURE, OPEN-MINDED and INTERESTED approach to music as an ART FORM, then this is a must.
Just a caveat before I sign off:
If you are able to apply yourself, Bitches Brew makes nearly all other music seem trivial or bland. Where do I go from here on my musical journey, hmmm? Learn to love at your own peril. It's intoxicating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bitches Brew is FUN!, 8 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Bitches Brew (Audio CD)
I mainly want to take issue with some of the other reviewers, who make listening to Bitches Brew sound like hard work. For me it was a pure pleasure from the first spin. Far from being difficult to get into, I found it groovy, dazzling, sumptuous and sexy. If ears could have orgasms, mine would listening to this! Anyone who's open-minded enough to give it a go shouldn't have any problem with it. If the other reviewers have scared you, then ease yourself in with In A Silent Way, the record Miles made just before this with some of the same personnel, which in today's idiom is kind of a chill-out room to Bitches Brew's dancefloor. But if I were you I'd just go for it. In spite of all its experimentalism, its extended jams, and the intellectual baggage it's accumulated over the years, above all Bitches Brew ROCKS. It's a blast!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bitches Brew, The Original Mix, 28 Jun 2012
This review is from: Bitches Brew (Audio CD)
This is not really a review, more of an informative comment.

This early CD issue of Bitches Brew (under the "CBS Jazz Masterpieces" branding) is currently the *only* way to hear the original 1970 vinyl LP mix of the album on CD outside of a rare Japanese mini-LP release from 1996 (Mastersound, SRCCS 9118-9).

All of the American/European CD remasters use a modern remix. When the remixers went back to the mastertapes they found they needed to recreate the echo effect on Miles' trumpet. This they did using modern digital technology, but due to the inherent constraints of digital replication the trumpet echo on the remix was left slightly mistimed. If you've never heard the original album it won't sound wrong, but if you were a fan of Bitches Brew on vinyl or cassette you'll probably quite clearly notice the difference in echo delay. It's also been reported that a modern edit during Pharoah's Dance throws the whole measure off by one beat.

So if you want to hear Bitches Brew as it was originally mixed and released, this early CD issue is your only easy-to-acquire option.

But. And sadly it's not a good "but".

Take note! Something happened during the mastering process for this early CD issue which left the recording sounding a bit too bassy and somewhat muffled.

So you pays your money and you takes your choice. A clean modern mastering with altered timings and new edits, or the original and untouched mix sounding a bit murky.

As for the music, I won't even risk attempting to describe it. I would however say that I've discovered the perfect time to play this album is during a rainy summer's day....with the window open to give you a background noise of light breeze and gently spattering rain. There's something about the ebb and flow of this album which seems to meld very naturally with the rhythm of that type of weather. That might sound crazy, but try it!

So, to conclude. 5 stars out of 5 for the music, 3 stars out of 5 for the mastering.... which I calculate makes for an overall Amazon rating of 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A review from a jazz newbie., 4 July 2011
This review is from: Bitches Brew (Audio CD)
A few years ago, my brother bought me my first jazz album; Miles Davis' 'A Kind of Blue'. After a couple of years of listening to the cool, laid back music of this album, I felt ready to explore Davis' other work. I was quite surprised to find that, a few years after 'A Kind of Blue', he had delved into much more experimental and extended forms, with weird and wonderful tracks stretching beyond the 20 minute mark. Being a progressive rock fan, I leapt on what was said to be another of his key works, the double album 'Bitches Brew'.

I was quite literally buzzing with excitement when I first heard it! It was so energetic, fresh, unpredictable and trippy. For example, the first track plays for a couple of minutes only to 'reset' itself (via a tape loop) and replay the exact same recorded sounds a second time. This was revolutionary stuff at the time and still sounds it.

I haven't yet digested the album fully as it is so packed with content that it's impossible to grasp it fully after even half a dozen listenings. But, nevertheless, I can say with confidence that this album is fantastic and has shown me that jazz can be weird and epic in the same way as progressive rock or classical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bitches Brew
Bitches Brew by Miles Davis (Audio CD - 1999)
Click for more info
In stock on August 29, 2014
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews