Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must for the collection of anyone with a social conscience
Something inside so strong could so easily be the description applied to the contents of this CD.
With such intensity of emotion contained in the lyrics, anyone with a social conscience cannot but be moved by Labi Siffre's commentary on the injustices of life.
Something inside so strong stands out in particular as it seem to be written with his blood and tears...
Published on 1 Sep 2001

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So Strong is so weak!
I have always liked this song and got this CD to let a class listen to the lyrics so that it would be more engaging than reading the words. Big mistake! The sound quality is so appalling, the words are too jumbled to hear properly. I could not play this and it is essentially useless as all the tracks are equally bad. I am surprised Amazon has allowed something of such...
Published on 28 Sep 2010 by Noodles


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must for the collection of anyone with a social conscience, 1 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: So Strong (Audio CD)
Something inside so strong could so easily be the description applied to the contents of this CD.
With such intensity of emotion contained in the lyrics, anyone with a social conscience cannot but be moved by Labi Siffre's commentary on the injustices of life.
Something inside so strong stands out in particular as it seem to be written with his blood and tears. It deserves to be immortalised as the rallying cry of the repressed.
This though does not diminish the appeal of the other tracks. "Listen to the voices" and "Hard Road" reflect the pain of contemporary life in the various arenas of life while "I will always love you" demonstrates that against such a backdrop, redeeming human qualities do exist.
This is a purchase that I would never regret.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 29 Jun 2001
This review is from: So Strong (Audio CD)
I have to admit I among a number of people who discovered Labi Siffre after hearing 'Something Inside So Strong' on a car advert, but I'm glad I did. His lyrics are simply phenomenal and the sincerity and passion in his voice make this an essential album. Don't let it pass you by like it did so many others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Strong, So Clear, So Good!, 12 April 2000
This review is from: So Strong (Audio CD)
It's been a few years and I always promised myself that I would find "So Strong". But tracks like "Listen to the voices" remind me that this guy has an excellent voice with great passion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a joyful hope, 3 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: So Strong (Audio CD)
The lyrical content is perhaps some of the most profound poetry to be found in music. Siffre remains utterly convincing in his sincerity, for his passionate belief in equality for all, beyond single issue rhetoric. This album should be compulsory listening, or reading for all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Labi Siffre at his musical and lyrical best., 7 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: So Strong (Audio CD)
Labi Siffre has always had the knack of matching beautiful music to telling and sincere words. Listen carefully to the lyrics and understand just where Siffre is coming from in is fight for equality. One of the most underated voices in popular music over the past 30 years he yet again proves that he should be up there with the greats. A wonderful CD that everybody should listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Labi isn't just a great singer, he has a big heart., 18 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: So Strong (Audio CD)
I have loved Labi,s work since the 70s, I have met him and served him, he is as genuine as his songs. He sings the truth unlike so many artists. No one can avoid being touched by his work and his honesty, and in real life he is no different,he and his misic are magic, nothing less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm exhausted after this..., 15 Feb 2007
This review is from: So Strong (Audio CD)
The greatest song ever written? It's either "Bridge Over Troubled Water" or "Something Inside So Strong". Labi Siffre's song just gets me, everytime. I want to cry - and I'm so not that kind of a person. Yet this one song just rips right through to the heart of what it means to be human. Check this lyric: "You hide behind walls of Jericho" - just think about it. What sense of a man can write like that? Perfection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music for minds, ears and soul!!, 11 Dec 2001
This review is from: So Strong (Audio CD)
His lyrics and his soulful tunes really do captivate. This is a pleasure to listen to and thankfully it's not just a one-track album!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great music, 11 Feb 2012
By 
This review is from: So Strong (Audio CD)
I had heard the song 'So Strong' on radio a while back and liked it so much I sang it to my Mum, so have bought it as a present to her.

The audio quality was good so the reviewer who complained must have got a duff copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: So Strong (Audio CD)
Applies the same as i have put for Labi Siffre
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

So Strong
So Strong by Labi Siffre (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews