Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
52
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.51+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 March 2002
What a superb album! Its not the type I normally go for, being a rock fan, but this is so chilled out, original and melodic that its hard to imagine anybody not liking it! Slowly seeps into your soul, and the music becomes like an old friend you call upon again and again. Best track for me has to be the slow burning Blindfold, but its all very good, not an album you have to skip tracks on which is a rarity it seems these days. A Masterpiece.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2000
I first heard the opening track on a TV show and fell in love with it instantly - it kept slinking around in my head for weeks before I found out what it was. Then I heard the rest of the album and it has become one with my stereo. It's a delicious mix of beautiful music that should be allowed to wash over you OR as people about have said, play it really load and (try to) sing along with it. Skye's vocals ARE sublime, have to be heard to be belived. Enjoy.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2001
This is a wonderfully dreamy album, thanks to Skye's beautiful, mellow vocals and the superb instrumentation offered by her bandmates. Unlike some other trip-hop acts, Morcheeba for the most part shun electronics and instead employ real instruments, with lush production that is a sheer delight to listen to. The best songs on this album include The Sea, which ebbs along beautifully and is so relaxing that you will be aching to go on holiday and chill on a beach somewhere with this on your Walkman. Other top tunes are the lilting Blindfold and of course, Part of the Process, which showcases Skye's syrupy vocals perfectly. This album could be prescribed by doctors as the ideal stress relief. If you want to feel uplifted and happy as well as chilled out and relaxed, then look no further than Big Calm. You won't regret it.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2001
It usually takes time for a small band with a largely experimental small but great debut to progess. The debut was trippy and hoppy and had its moments of brilliance, without being brilliant at all. Whilst this is somewhat perfect.
You dont need a summers day, you dont need to be by the sea or anywhere near a park. This is sublime and not music to fall asleep to, but allows you to dream and escape whilst being fully awake to appreciate and remember every second, every note, every word that drips like honey from Skyes lips.
Im not going to talk about tracks because they mayb big songs and it mayb called big calm but this is ultimetly one big album. BUY IT! and dont lose it, i did (im sure it was stolen!) and i mist it, alot. In fact dont buy it you wont be able to live without it.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2003
This was the first morcheeba album i bought, and it seems like such a long time ago. i remembered hearing my brother playing the Who Can You Trust ablum, and so when i saw this i decided to buy it.
It was instantly my favourite album and has continued to be one of my favourites over the years that ive had it. Personally i think this is the best Morcheeba album, although i love all of their stuff.
Skyes voice is really beautiful and the whole album flows and seems to wash over you. Skye and the Godfrey brothers know how good they are and this album shows it. Its great to listen to whatever youre doing.
I would really recommend getting this album, its a classic. After hearing this for the first time Morcheeba have become my favourite artists, and even my friends who like heavier music and have heard me play this, really like it. If you have any doubts at all about buying this album, ignore them. regardless of other reviews who say this album isnt real music, this is a real gem which everybody should own, for everything from chilling with your mates to those blissful quiet times that everybody needs, this is perfect.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2004
I was really impressed with this album. Right from the beautiful opener, the Sea, to the hip-hopy closing track, Big Calm, this is one of the best chill out albums I've heard.
I like the way the quality isn't affected by the diversity of the tracks. There are classic chill-out tracks like The Sea, Blindfold (probably the highlight of the album), mellow tunes like Over and Over and Fear and Love, an instrumental in Bullet Proof with its big funky beats a bit of hip hop at then end. The are the best tracks on the album. The others score 4 - 4.5 with the exceptio of Diggin' a Watery Grave with its Texan guitar effects, the only track I'd skip.
Don't be put off by Morcheeba not being a trendy band that are shunned by music critics. Check out reviews from real people and see for yourself.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2005
This was the first Morcheeba CD I bought and I have had it for ages. I have bought pretty much all of Morcheebas other CDs, and whilst the others are very good, I think that Big Calm is absolutely the best! This CD combines smooth tones with fantastically odd lyrics, and is an amazing CD to chill out to.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2003
Having first heard this album at a friends house i immediatley fell in love with it and rushed out to buy it. Now everyone i play it too has the same reaction! This album will chill you out,make you feel good and quite simply put you in a place where nothing can touch or trouble you. Skyes vocals are so pure and quite simply just amazing! I could try to pick a favourite track, but they are all so good in different ways that i have ended off loving each one for its little individualities that simply make this album one of the greatest i have heard! If its chilling out you need you cant go wrong with the Big Calm!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Paul and Ross Godfrey are musical visionaries: British multi-instrumentalists, composers and producers who form the core of this extraordinary partnership. On this second album once again the mellow, distinctively lyrical voice of young Londoner Skye (from her name Shirley Klarise Yonavive Edwards - a convenient acronym she adopted), provides the vocals to give character and definition to Morcheeba's distinctive, chilled-out yet upbeat sound. Owing something to the trip-hop sound of bands like Portishead, the Morcheeba ensemble brings much more to the party.

Virtuoso experimentation with loose arrangements and innovative instrumental combinations makes for a rich and stylistically diverse listening experience; everything seems possible with the Morcheeba sound - and it all works. Even after years of listening the music is fresh, and you never tire of it. Each track has a distinctive style, a different rhythm, a new mood - seamlessly flowing from first to last.

This is mature, interesting, joy-filled music with a sound like no other. It is clever, enriching, at the same time calming and energising with an occasional burst of humour. If you have this album in your collection you'll likely play it again, and again, and again. It's rich, complex yet chilled-out music for all seasons and is so delightful, quirky and original you'll love it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2013
Of the 3 Morcheeba albums I have tried, this one probably gets played the most. It tries a few different things vocally - not just the female vocal here - and this works well, and helps to make it stand out. Good rhythms too. Chill-out and enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)