Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ...slowly slips into your consciousness
What a superb album! Its not the type I normally go for, being a rock fan, but this is so chilled out, original and melodic that its hard to imagine anybody not liking it! Slowly seeps into your soul, and the music becomes like an old friend you call upon again and again. Best track for me has to be the slow burning Blindfold, but its all very good, not an album you have...
Published on 18 Mar 2002 by Jonathan Moss

versus
7 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars music for people who don't like music.
This is a nice album. Nice in the sense that you could take it home to meet your mother. it doesn't do anything new and it isn't going to move you in a way.
It rides the trip hop bandwagon and rides it very nicely. This album marks the exact point when trip hop went from being the most exciting and fresh sound around to being the sort of thing that gets played in...
Published on 14 Jan 2003 by Tom


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ...slowly slips into your consciousness, 18 Mar 2002
By 
Jonathan Moss "Environmentalist Aus" (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Big Calm (Audio CD)
What a superb album! Its not the type I normally go for, being a rock fan, but this is so chilled out, original and melodic that its hard to imagine anybody not liking it! Slowly seeps into your soul, and the music becomes like an old friend you call upon again and again. Best track for me has to be the slow burning Blindfold, but its all very good, not an album you have to skip tracks on which is a rarity it seems these days. A Masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The dreamiest of them all, 6 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Big Calm (Audio CD)
This is a wonderfully dreamy album, thanks to Skye's beautiful, mellow vocals and the superb instrumentation offered by her bandmates. Unlike some other trip-hop acts, Morcheeba for the most part shun electronics and instead employ real instruments, with lush production that is a sheer delight to listen to. The best songs on this album include The Sea, which ebbs along beautifully and is so relaxing that you will be aching to go on holiday and chill on a beach somewhere with this on your Walkman. Other top tunes are the lilting Blindfold and of course, Part of the Process, which showcases Skye's syrupy vocals perfectly. This album could be prescribed by doctors as the ideal stress relief. If you want to feel uplifted and happy as well as chilled out and relaxed, then look no further than Big Calm. You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect stress reliever, 15 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Big Calm (Audio CD)
I first heard the opening track on a TV show and fell in love with it instantly - it kept slinking around in my head for weeks before I found out what it was. Then I heard the rest of the album and it has become one with my stereo. It's a delicious mix of beautiful music that should be allowed to wash over you OR as people about have said, play it really load and (try to) sing along with it. Skye's vocals ARE sublime, have to be heard to be belived. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chill out music doesn't get much more chilled, 16 July 2004
By 
G. Andreou "G. Andreou" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Big Calm (Audio CD)
I was really impressed with this album. Right from the beautiful opener, the Sea, to the hip-hopy closing track, Big Calm, this is one of the best chill out albums I've heard.
I like the way the quality isn't affected by the diversity of the tracks. There are classic chill-out tracks like The Sea, Blindfold (probably the highlight of the album), mellow tunes like Over and Over and Fear and Love, an instrumental in Bullet Proof with its big funky beats a bit of hip hop at then end. The are the best tracks on the album. The others score 4 - 4.5 with the exceptio of Diggin' a Watery Grave with its Texan guitar effects, the only track I'd skip.
Don't be put off by Morcheeba not being a trendy band that are shunned by music critics. Check out reviews from real people and see for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big calm, no calm response 4 this great album., 18 Jun 2001
This review is from: Big Calm (Audio CD)
It usually takes time for a small band with a largely experimental small but great debut to progess. The debut was trippy and hoppy and had its moments of brilliance, without being brilliant at all. Whilst this is somewhat perfect.
You dont need a summers day, you dont need to be by the sea or anywhere near a park. This is sublime and not music to fall asleep to, but allows you to dream and escape whilst being fully awake to appreciate and remember every second, every note, every word that drips like honey from Skyes lips.
Im not going to talk about tracks because they mayb big songs and it mayb called big calm but this is ultimetly one big album. BUY IT! and dont lose it, i did (im sure it was stolen!) and i mist it, alot. In fact dont buy it you wont be able to live without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, great, great!!!, 17 Dec 2005
This review is from: Big Calm (Audio CD)
This was the first Morcheeba CD I bought and I have had it for ages. I have bought pretty much all of Morcheebas other CDs, and whilst the others are very good, I think that Big Calm is absolutely the best! This CD combines smooth tones with fantastically odd lyrics, and is an amazing CD to chill out to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing album! One of the best!, 4 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Big Calm (Audio CD)
Having first heard this album at a friends house i immediatley fell in love with it and rushed out to buy it. Now everyone i play it too has the same reaction! This album will chill you out,make you feel good and quite simply put you in a place where nothing can touch or trouble you. Skyes vocals are so pure and quite simply just amazing! I could try to pick a favourite track, but they are all so good in different ways that i have ended off loving each one for its little individualities that simply make this album one of the greatest i have heard! If its chilling out you need you cant go wrong with the Big Calm!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it love it love it, 26 Dec 2003
This review is from: Big Calm (Audio CD)
This was the first morcheeba album i bought, and it seems like such a long time ago. i remembered hearing my brother playing the Who Can You Trust ablum, and so when i saw this i decided to buy it.
It was instantly my favourite album and has continued to be one of my favourites over the years that ive had it. Personally i think this is the best Morcheeba album, although i love all of their stuff.
Skyes voice is really beautiful and the whole album flows and seems to wash over you. Skye and the Godfrey brothers know how good they are and this album shows it. Its great to listen to whatever youre doing.
I would really recommend getting this album, its a classic. After hearing this for the first time Morcheeba have become my favourite artists, and even my friends who like heavier music and have heard me play this, really like it. If you have any doubts at all about buying this album, ignore them. regardless of other reviews who say this album isnt real music, this is a real gem which everybody should own, for everything from chilling with your mates to those blissful quiet times that everybody needs, this is perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cool, groovy, chilled, 24 Dec 1999
This review is from: Big Calm (Audio CD)
The first Morcheeba album was, in my humble opinion, cracking. It sat together well as an album which, in my opinion is the main downfall of this. You see, while it is a great collection of songs, that's where it stops, it doesn't all fit together quite as well as the first. In saying that however, I would definatly recommend it, like the other guy said, in a similar vain to Massive attack but less dark, oh and by the way, Skye's vocals are FANTASTIC ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gives Eyes to your Ears!, 25 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Big Calm (Audio CD)
I class myself as a 'Jazz Music' fan and I got the chance to listen, unintentionally, to this album while away on Holiday. And WOW! What struck me is the feeling felt in each track, coupled with the sheer musical style in all the compositions. All the tracks have a part to play, though 'Big Calm' top's it for me as a track I love to stick on repeat.Great Album, well recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Big Calm
Big Calm by Morcheeba (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews