Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
Tom Jobim's "Wave" is a key album for any Bossa Nova fan, and a brilliant addition to any music collection. Simply a beautiful and enjoyable CD! If you like this, you perhaps may be interested in the other grandfathers of Brazilian music; for example, Joao Gilberto and Vincius de Moraes.
Published on 2 July 2010 by Tom Henry Ashurst

versus
1 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars wave
I didnt rate this at all : quite boring but worth a listen whilst driving if bored with your other cd's and nothing better on the radio
Published on 27 July 2010 by peter


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 2 July 2010
This review is from: Wave (Audio CD)
Tom Jobim's "Wave" is a key album for any Bossa Nova fan, and a brilliant addition to any music collection. Simply a beautiful and enjoyable CD! If you like this, you perhaps may be interested in the other grandfathers of Brazilian music; for example, Joao Gilberto and Vincius de Moraes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Redressing the balance, 21 Sep 2011
By 
Ajarn Col (Colchester , North Essex) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wave (Audio CD)
I'd reckon that anyone who gives this richly layered album only one star, as being someone who has probably fallen into the trap of thinking because it's deceptively relaxed that it's also superficial. Unless completely cloth eared , that's transparently not the case. Yes, it can be heard as what is now referred to as being 'elevator music' if that's as far as anyone wishes to dig. But more attentive listening with a sympathetic ear, then the richness of the underlying structures and interplay between players becomes apparent. For instance there's the leading jazz trombone along with flute, and piccolo played in parallel to the swinging melody of guitar and piano on most tracks. My only criticism is that there's only one track with Jobim singing.- he's pretty good at delivering his own material.This is an album of many pleasing aspects and recommended listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, excellent!, 22 Oct 2013
By 
Eric Mascarin Perigault (Panamá) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wave (Audio CD)
Not only Wave, most of the themes of this album are excellent. There can not be no reason to no like this music. Although you may not like the Bossa Nova rhythm assure you that you will love. Of course, there is not music for a dancing party.

No solo Wave, la mayoría de los temas de este álbum son excelentes. No puede haber razón para no gustar. Aunque a usted no le guste el ritmo Bossa Nova le aseguro que quedará encantado.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect little gem, 2 July 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Wave (Audio CD)
this is a fine album of superbly performed music. very simple, delicate, cool and quality. music doesn't get much better than this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Waving with delight!, 13 Feb 2014
By 
Jim Douglas (Dunstable, U K) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wave (Audio CD)
This CD replaces some of the tracks I had on vinyl and added some I had never heard. Wonderful album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Eternal music, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wave (Audio CD)
I had the LP version of this album and used to play it over and over again in my student corridor; much to my neighbour student's irritation. Great to hear it again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ace, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wave (Audio CD)
A high watermark for classically influenced bossa nova music.

Ideal for listening to on beaches. Has a dreamy, eery feeling but at the same time is very relaxing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nice, 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wave (Audio CD)
easy listening, very relaxing after work or the need to just chill with the tribe in the evening or when ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars wave, 27 July 2010
This review is from: Wave (Audio CD)
I didnt rate this at all : quite boring but worth a listen whilst driving if bored with your other cd's and nothing better on the radio
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wave
Wave by Antonio Carlos Jobim (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews