Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Very Best of Kris Kristofferson
Kris is a poet and it shows in every one of these songs. Listening to the warmth of his voice singing Loving Her Was Easier, the quiet desparation of Help Me and the pain in I'd Rather Be Sorry is a delight. I'm so glad I found this album
Published on 20 Feb 2005 by Isabel Cullen

versus
6 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent songwriter but poor singer
Kris has written many beautiful songs and can be considered as one of

the top writers in popular music especiallly in Country. However when

he interpretes his own songs I feel there's something lacking which

prevents him from being a "tophit scorer". His voice is sad and can't

reach the depth needed. Just listen to the same...
Published on 30 Jan 2007 by Ronald Van Scherpenzeel


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Very Best of Kris Kristofferson, 20 Feb 2005
This review is from: The Very Best Of Kris Kristofferson (Audio CD)
Kris is a poet and it shows in every one of these songs. Listening to the warmth of his voice singing Loving Her Was Easier, the quiet desparation of Help Me and the pain in I'd Rather Be Sorry is a delight. I'm so glad I found this album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poet with a heartbreaking soul, 17 Jun 2013
By 
Linda Wainwright "islandmomma" (Canary Islands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Kris Kristofferson (Audio CD)
34 years ago I had an excruciating summer of excitement and heartbreak, and what I thought what love - and Kristofferson's songs were the soundtrack. That those memories, which concern people no longer in my life, surface so readily when I listen to his music is a tribute to his talent, his knack of finding just the right words to touch my soul. I gave away my original copy of what was then a tape of these songs, because they hurt too much at the end. I thought I could stand it now, but it was hard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kris on his own and with Rita, Dolly & Joan, 3 July 2009
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of Kris Kristofferson (Audio CD)
All 23 of these tracks were written or co-written by Kristofferson with the exception of Hello In There, Help Me, Put It Off Until Tomorrow and We Must Have Been Out Of Our Minds. The numerous cover versions of this formidable artist's songs are more familiar than his own. Classics like Sunday Morning Coming Down, For The Good Times and Help Me Make It Through The Night demonstrate his unique compositional talent and ability to capture universal feelings and moods. This compilation is rather unusual as it omits well-known numbers like The Best Of All Possible Worlds, Casey's Last Ride & Darby's Castle in favor of earlier compositions and duets with Dolly Parton & Joan Baez.

Cover versions of Jody and the Kid hit the charts 1968 and From the Bottle to the Bottom in 1969. That same year Roger Miller took Me and Bobby McGee into the country charts whilst Ray Stevens scored both a pop & country hit with Sunday Mornin' Comin' Down. In 1970 Ray Price achieved the same with For The Good Times. The following year Janis Joplin's powerful rendition of Me & Bobby McGee reached number one whilst Gordon Lightfoot's flowing folk version also made the charts. Help Me Make It Through the Night remains one of the most covered songs of all time; this includes an atmospheric interpretation by Gladys Knight & The Pips.

The gospel song Why Me was probably Kristofferson's greatest hit as it stayed on the Billboard Hot Hundred for months round about 1973/1974. His collaborations with Rita Coolidge contribute Please Don't Tell Me How The Story Ends, I'd Rather Be Sorry and We Must Have Been Out Of Our Minds, the last two from Breakaway. The duet with Dolly Parton comes from the album The Winning Hand by Willie Nelson, Dolly Parton, Kris Kristofferson & Brenda Lee, plus there's a moving live duet with Joan Baez, a John Prine song titled Hello In There that reminds me of Leonard Cohen's Please Don't Pass Me By.

The Essential is a more conventional compilation of the work of this great composer who's considered a country singer but sounds more like a singer-songwriter in the Bob Dylan and James Taylor mould. Whatever his personal style, his timeless songs transcend all musical boundaries as they appear in a plethora of pop, rock, soul, gospel, classical, jazz, blues, latin, R&B, electronic & other interpretations. This collection deserves five stars for offering some obscure gems and on account of the duets with the aforementioned female vocalists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best, 4 Nov 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Very Best Of Kris Kristofferson (Audio CD)
Excellent. Atmospheric, true to life and moving. You won't regret buying this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding songwriter sings with conviction, 26 Sep 2003
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of Kris Kristofferson (Audio CD)
Kris was never blessed with a great singing voice but his voice is good enough on his own songs, which he sings with a conviction and honesty sometimes (but not always) lacking in cover versions by others. In that way, he may be compared with Bob Dylan, another outstanding songwriter with vocal limitations. As somebody who regards the human voice as the most important musical instrument of all, I cannot say that Kris is one of my favorite singers, but he has just enough to make me want to listen to his music every now and again. Perhaps it is the desperation with which he sings Help me make it through the night, or his attempt to find spiritual answers in Why me lord.
So on this compilation you will find his original recordings of songs that have become classics across several different genres of music, including pop, rock, country, soul, R+B and reggae. The most successful song of all is Help me make it through the night, which has charted for several different singers. Sammi Smith was first, selling two million copies in the USA, topping the country charts and reaching the top ten in the pop charts. John Holt, a fine reggae singer, took it high up the British charts. Another popular song, For the good times, was a country hit for Ray Price and a pop hit for Perry Como. Among the other singers who have been successful with his songs are Janis Joplin (Me and Bobby McGhee), Johnny Cash (Sunday morning coming down), Waylon Jennings (The taker) and Brenda Lee (Nobody wins), but this is by no means a complete list.
This collection features several duets on songs that (with one exception) Kris didn't write. Larry Gatlin joins Kris on Help me. Dolly Parton is featured on Put it off until tomorrow. Joan Baez joins Kris on a live version of Hello in there. Rita Coolidge, who recorded a couple of albums with Kris, is represented by three duets.
This, then, is a fine collection of music by an outstanding songwriter who, despite his vocal limitations, is worth an occasional listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Kristofferson, 2 Nov 2009
By 
Oscar (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Very Best Of Kris Kristofferson (Audio CD)
Classic Kristofferson sound.Very relaxing and easy to listen to. Recommended if you are feeling the need to relax and to recharge yourself. I'm not big into over analysing or critiquing music. I just like the sound and the atmosphere of this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
By 
G. Tilling "spinny" (Lincolnshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Kris Kristofferson (Audio CD)
very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars RECOMMEND!!, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Kris Kristofferson (Audio CD)
Classic!!! just the right mix of his songs ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The very best of Kris Kristofferson, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Kris Kristofferson (Audio CD)
I absolutely love this CD I think Kris writes amazing songs and it was one of my old records I had so great to listen to it once again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Th e very best of kris kristopherson, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Kris Kristofferson (Audio CD)
Much better sound quality than most of his other albums, though I must say that I paid for a new album & surprise surprise it was a used version !!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best Of Kris Kristofferson
The Very Best Of Kris Kristofferson by Kris Kristofferson (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews