Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Play this before hitting the town - it gets u going...
Many people i've spoken to have severely criticised this album along with questioning Ms Lopez' actual capability to sing. Fair enough. Her voice isn't great. But she has sassy bum-wiggling style, and let's not get pretentious here ... at least a few of your cd collection have to hold that as it's best quality. Oh, and i have to say the spanish track (NO ME AMES)...
Published on 29 April 2000

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but she can and does better
Jennifer Lopez's debut album is a mixture of different styles and sounds but is fairly subtle in doing this. There's pop, latino, rnb and a bit of dance added into some of the songs (especially Waiting Fot Tonight). If you like your pop music you should like this.

However, I only gave this album 3 stars because no way are all the tracks good. They can get all...
Published on 17 Nov 2006 by Laura


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Play this before hitting the town - it gets u going..., 29 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: On the 6 (Audio CD)
Many people i've spoken to have severely criticised this album along with questioning Ms Lopez' actual capability to sing. Fair enough. Her voice isn't great. But she has sassy bum-wiggling style, and let's not get pretentious here ... at least a few of your cd collection have to hold that as it's best quality. Oh, and i have to say the spanish track (NO ME AMES) is excellent ... these latin-blooded types always come across best in the true spanish songs (...only fully appreciated if you can understand spanish in most cases unfortunately). Viva Jennifer Lopez, i say. Her acting's not the best, her singing ... well, not the best either, but this cd is a winner and there's not much i wouldn't do to look like she does on the front cover ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT BRONX BABE, 20 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: On the 6 (Audio CD)
Jennifer Lopez - or J Lo - shot to fame with the track that everyone knows, If You Had My Love, which is a gem in the crown of the Bronx on this album. She ain't just a pretty face, she's talented beyond belief! Urban happy song Feelin' So Good will get anybody dancing, as will Waiting For Tonight and it's Spanish counterpart Una Nocha Mas. Open Off My Love is an infectious blend of beats, and Let's Get Loud is a party tune to die for! The only real downfall is the dreadful Baila, but overall the Bronx has a babe to be proud of!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but she can and does better, 17 Nov 2006
By 
Laura (Brighton, England) - See all my reviews
Jennifer Lopez's debut album is a mixture of different styles and sounds but is fairly subtle in doing this. There's pop, latino, rnb and a bit of dance added into some of the songs (especially Waiting Fot Tonight). If you like your pop music you should like this.

However, I only gave this album 3 stars because no way are all the tracks good. They can get all to samey, but then again there are quite a lot of songs on the record.

I have about 5 songs that I really really like, these are;

- Let's get loud, a fiesty girl powered latino dance number.

- Feelin' so good, has a heavy, pure Rnb vibe and features rapper Fat Joe. Third single to be released.

- Baila, probably the most lively and energetic song out of the lot, is strongly influnced by Jennifer's latino backgound. Totally amazing and completely different from anything else on the album. Took me a few listens to get used to it though.

- If you had my love, debut single for the singer/actress and the one you've most likely heard before. Is first and foremost a pop song but is Rnb driven. The kind of song you can't but help to singalong to.

- Waiting for tonight, my (current) fave song. Is always changing between this and If u had my love. Her second song that was released as a single. I love this song because I can listen to it again & again and to me it always sounds fresh and new, not several years old like it is. Is a latino dance song, and just makes me want to get and dance to the beat.

If you are reading this review and are possibly thinking of buying this album, of course I'm going to say buy it. If you like your pop music, latino and/or maybe dance I recommend it. And as I chose this album to do my first review that should say something too!x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nothing Special, 25 Feb 2003
This review is from: On the 6 (Audio CD)
Jennifer Lopez sure knows what she wants but hasn’t quite figured how to get it! On her debut album ‘On the 6’ Jennifer attempts to wow the pop crowd with a predictable mix of Latin, R&B and dance fused pop. On the opening track ‘If You Had My Love’ she gets it right with the help of top R&B producer, Rodney Jerkins, who manages to weave her very weak vocals over some contemporary R&B beats to great effect. When she moves onto the slower R&B fare of ‘Should’ve Never’ and ‘Too Late’ she fails miserably because of poor vocal performance. In the chomps of Toni Braxton or Whitney Houston the tracks would still be pedestrian but at least listenable, and for me that’s where this album falls down. Vocally, Ms Lopez, doesn’t even match the talents of ‘small voiced’ vocalists like Janet Jackson and Britney Spears, and cramming half the album with pop-soul fodder that she just can’t deliver is a big mistake. But she does get it right on the up-tempo R&B tracks like the debut single and P Diddy produced ‘Feelin So Good’ and Latin R&B track ‘It’s Not That Serious’. However, she shines best on the up-tempo Latin and dance pop tracks where her vocals suddenly come alive and the ‘sexy and sultry’ Jennifer Lopez of the screen emerges.
Listening to this album you get the feeling that Jennifer Lopez wanted to cover all bases. She wanted to ride the R&B pop bandwagon, hence the contributions from well known R&B producers like Rodney Jerkins, P Diddy and Trackmasters as well surf the Latin pop wave currently flooding the charts. Both of which she could carry off if she just focused on the up-tempo grooves and dropped the slow jams. Then Ms Lopez will follow Madonna, Britney, and Ricky Martin into global superstardom, and hopefully next time around she will have taken a few more singing lessons before dropping an LP! In the meantime, avoid the CD and just buy the singles.
Standout cuts on the album: If You Had My Love, Feelin’ So Good, It’s Not That Serious, Let’s Get Loud, and Waiting For Tonight. But my personal fave is the mixed up R&B merengue sounds of ‘Open Off My Love’ and the worst track has to be her cover of ‘Theme From Mahagony’, originally sung by Diana Ross, where her limited vocal skills are stretched beyond belief.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A really great first album, 1 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: On the 6 (Audio CD)
A lot of the songs on this album are quite slow, but there is always that unmistakable latin beat going on, which sounds great. Jennifer has a great voice, and this album is a must for her fans. "Let's Get Loud" is very good, it makes you want to get up and dance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nothing Special, 25 Feb 2003
This review is from: On the 6 (Audio CD)
Jennifer Lopez sure knows what she wants but hasn't quite figured how to get it! On her debut album 'On the 6' Jennifer attempts to wow the pop crowd with a predictable mix of Latin, R&B and dance fused pop. On the opening track 'If You Had My Love' she gets it right with the help of top R&B producer, Rodney Jerkins, who manages to weave her very weak vocals over some contemporary R&B beats to great effect. When she moves onto the slower R&B fare of 'Should've Never' and 'Too Late' she fails miserably because of poor vocal performance. In the chomps of Toni Braxton or Whitney Houston the tracks would still be pedestrian but at least listenable, and for me that's where this album falls down. Vocally, Ms Lopez, doesn't even match the talents of 'small voiced' vocalists like Janet Jackson and Britney Spears, and cramming half the album with pop-soul fodder that she just can't deliver is a big mistake. But she does get it right on the up-tempo R&B tracks like the debut single and P Diddy produced 'Feelin So Good' and Latin R&B track 'It's Not That Serious'. However, she shines best on the up-tempo Latin and dance pop tracks where her vocals suddenly come alive and the 'sexy and sultry' Jennifer Lopez of the screen emerges.
Listening to this album you get the feeling that Jennifer Lopez wanted to cover all bases. She wanted to ride the R&B pop bandwagon, hence the contributions from well known R&B producers like Rodney Jerkins, P Diddy and Trackmasters as well surf the Latin pop wave currently flooding the charts. Both of which she could carry off if she just focused on the up-tempo grooves and dropped the slow jams. Then Ms Lopez will follow Madonna, Britney, and Ricky Martin into global superstardom, and hopefully next time around she will have taken a few more singing lessons before dropping an LP! In the meantime, avoid the CD and just buy the singles.
Standout cuts on the album: If You Had My Love, Feelin' So Good, It's Not That Serious, Let's Get Loud, and Waiting For Tonight. But my personal fave is the mixed up R&B merengue sounds of 'Open Off My Love' and the worst track has to be her cover of 'Theme From Mahagony', originally sung by Diana Ross, where her limited vocal skills are stretched beyond belief.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exclusively for everyone!, 28 May 2001
This review is from: On the 6 (Audio CD)
How many artists can you think of whose musical tentacles reach to the flavours of latin, soul, rap, hip-hop and R&B? Jennifer's angelic voice narrates crystal clear emotions into these songs incessantly. A distinctive voice and sound which could only have come from one person, this album truly is, exclusivlely for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars broken case not packed correctly, 25 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the 6 (Audio CD)
case was smashed cd could have got broken and scratched then it would be returned but its ok apart from that
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ok, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the 6 (Audio CD)
different to what I listen to but good the more you hear it would recommend it to others to listen to it a few times before you make your mind up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love JLo!, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the 6 (Audio CD)
I adore JLo! And I adore On The 6! Waiting For Tonight is a top song and so are the others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

On the 6
On the 6 by Jennifer Lopez (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews