Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very different selection
i was really suprised when i heard the album! I never heard of them before but i never realised how good they are and what amazing variations there are on the disc. Very Good despite MARK and Dolphin99
Published on 15 Aug 2000

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Time For A Re-Evaluation, I Think
Shed 7 have recently anounced that they will split after one last tour in December, having struggled to have their voices heard since the supposed demise of Britpop at the end of the nineties. Never a critic's darling, their press coverage got increasingly negative (and sparse) over the years. This is a shame as they have more to offer then they are given credit for...
Published on 9 Nov 2003 by Frog6


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very different selection, 15 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Going For Gold (Audio CD)
i was really suprised when i heard the album! I never heard of them before but i never realised how good they are and what amazing variations there are on the disc. Very Good despite MARK and Dolphin99
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Under estimated! Why?, 5 July 2000
By 
This review is from: Going For Gold (Audio CD)
Why do people see shed 7 as a poor mans Oasis? They make their own music and great it is too. I bought this album before seeing them live at leeds t+c club which remains the best gig i ever saw which was suprising to myself. There is not an average track on this album and there are some stunners too."Disco down","standby", "she left me..","where have u been tonight", "its gettin better", r all fantastic songs smoothed out by the melodic chasing Rainbows and high hopes. It backs these up with the Smiths-like "Mark" and great rythms such as bully boy, ocean pie and dolphin 69. Shed 7 were as good as oasis but shouldn't have been compared to them because that wasn't their aim.They made Progress never sold out and never deceeded like some bands id l like to mention. ONE OF MY BEST ALBUMS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Going for Gold!, 1 Mar 2014
By 
ReviewBlog51 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Going For Gold (Audio CD)
This aptly titled compilation of Shed Sevens' greatest hits is the one to buy if you only intend to have one of their albums in your collection.

Although Oasis and Blur (both bands of which I love) dominated the Britpop music scene, Shed 7 were always very popular back in the day. As the informative CD booklet states: the band scored more top 30 singles in 1996 than anybody else.

All of the band's hit singles from 1994-1998 are collected, including the famous title track which was played to death at the Olympics, and other radio friendly tunes like 'Getting Better', 'On Standby' and the beautiful 'Chasing Rainbows'. Two tracks that you possibly might not recognise are the funky 'Disco Down' (although it was released as a single off the back of this album and peaked at no.13 in 1999) and 'High Hopes', both were new songs especially for this collection. Also, the band re-recorded their debut hit 'Dolphin' and early album track 'Ocean Pie', and these new versions are included here.

With virtually every song a classic, 'Going For Gold' is a timeless reminder of one of the best, if somewhat now under-rated indie rock bands of the nineties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I knew every song, yet I'd never heard of them, 31 Oct 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Going For Gold (Audio CD)
It was only recently that I saw Shed seven live, and after that I had to get their best of album Going for Gold. There are some fantastic songs in this album with the most notable being "Disco Down" and "Where have you been Tonight". Now that I have got the album, I can't stop playing it, they are truly the most underestimated band in Britain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Takes me Back, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going For Gold (Audio CD)
Think i have Blown one of the speakers in the car blasting this out, takes me back to my 20's and you forget how many great songs this band had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Something different, 19 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going For Gold (Audio CD)
I heard a friend of mine listening to Shed 7, so decided to get hold of some of their music. Very pleased with their distinctive sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great album!, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going For Gold (Audio CD)
Every track on it is great, don't know why I didn't buy the album sooner. Really enjoying listening to it over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars back in the day....., 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going For Gold (MP3 Download)
This music takes me back. Listened to it and couldn't believe how many song I knew. Not one of the biggest bands of the 90's compared to blur or oasis but with catchy songs and great guitar rifts, one of the best. Reliving my youth all over again.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent trip down memory lane :-), 19 April 2013
By 
Maggie Runghasawmi "Maggie" (Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going For Gold (MP3 Download)
Every bit as good as I remember. Bought in order to replace old CDs.
Would also recommend to new 'guitar music' fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice one Mazzarak!, 10 Dec 2007
This review is from: Going For Gold (Audio CD)
In fact nice one to all below. It is so good to read proper reviews about one of the best bands the UK has ever produced. You've got it in one about this is what you should have been listening to when the press were going ape over wonderwall (they should have given the Bluetones a listen too). This album covers so many good songs from the staple tracks like bully boy and disco down to true indie classics like on standby. Noel Gallagher slagged them off recently on the box so of course loads of people followed suit. It's brilliant that they have re-formed, I missed their last farewell gig so hopefully I'll catch them this time around. One of the best voices in the business backed by equally good musicians, I'm over the moon a proper Indie band are back to show these poxy heard one you've heard 'em all bands how it's done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Going For Gold
Going For Gold by Shed Seven (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews