Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Overlooked Album
1998 through 2000 were bad years for bands whose highpoints were the 80's. Def Leppard, along with other bands from their era tried to change their sound to fit in -- the only other alternative was to fade away. With "Euphoria" the band returned to the signature sound they left off with after "Hysteria". Had this album been released after "Hysteria" rather than...
Published on 15 May 2004 by James Choma

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Half decent, but that's all.
I bought this album when it was first released. I was immediately unimpressed by it. The best I can describe it is that it's very similar in style with Adrenalize, which again I was never that impressed with ... I guess I'm one of those who still hanker for another Pyromania or Hysteria (or even a High'n'dry). However, it's not all bad. Demolition Man is a song that would...
Published on 26 Dec 2008 by TickledPink


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Overlooked Album, 15 May 2004
This review is from: Euphoria (Audio CD)
1998 through 2000 were bad years for bands whose highpoints were the 80's. Def Leppard, along with other bands from their era tried to change their sound to fit in -- the only other alternative was to fade away. With "Euphoria" the band returned to the signature sound they left off with after "Hysteria". Had this album been released after "Hysteria" rather than "Adrenalize," I think it would have done much better. Since it was released during the "Dark Ages" of music: the boy-band-brainless-teen-pap era, the album never had a real chance for chart success. Now that the music listening audience at large seems to be coming back to its senses, I'm hoping people rediscover the good music that was being produced during these lean years. This is one album that deserves another listen.
This truly is a very good album of material. "Demolition Man," "Promises," "Paper Sun," "It's Only Love," "21st Century Girl" and "Day After Day" are really good Def Leppard songs while the rest are only so-so. There is definitely a high level of energy throughout "Euphoria" that the band seemed lacking on their previous effort, "Slang," and it shows in the music. There are a few exceptions on the CD (the cheesy "Back in Your Face" comes to mind), but those tracks are forgivable for all the good material contained within.
If you lost track of the band after "Hysteria," pick this album up, as it's a good place to see all the good music you've been missing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Def Leppard "Back in Your Face"!!!, 10 Nov 2002
By 
M. D. Rathbone (Runcorn, Cheshire - UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Euphoria (Audio CD)
After getting the "Retroactive" album (a collection of older bits n pieces) and the "Vault" greatest hits album out of their system, Def Leppard released "Slang" and we finally got to hear what the new line up (now including Vivian Campbell) would sound like... and it was a bit of a disappointment as Def Leppard really did try something new and probably left most of their older fans scratching their heads. So what would the next album bring??? "Euphoria" was the answer... literally!
This is Def Leppard getting back to basics with the feel of energy and enthusiasm that was in the earlier albums. Tracks such as "Day after Day" (sounding a bit like "Fractured Love" or "Gods of War" or perhaps "High N Dry" in parts??) and "Disintegrate" demonstrate that, whilst "Kings of Oblivion" will grow on you instantly and make you want to play the whole album again!
Even fans of the middle Def Lep period of Hysteria/Adrenalize won't be disappointed with songs such as "Promises" and "All Night" very much fitting into that period with their feel... and with tongue in cheek humour returning again! "I'm back in your face" sings Joe... Never a truer word uttered!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great return to classic Def Leppard rock!, 18 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Euphoria (Audio CD)
After a slight "pause" in their career with the previosly released "Slang" album, the Leps are back in fine form with "Euphoria".
"Euphoria" is very reminicent of their heady "Pyromania" and "Hysteria" days and favourite tracks for me are "Back In Your Face" which they certainly are and the beautiful ballad "Goodbye".
To all fans of classic rock, especially the early Def Leppard sound, this is definitely worth a listen. One of the best albums they have released in years. There isn't one bad track on the album - ENJOY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE LEPPS ARE BACK!, 2 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Euphoria (Audio CD)
You can say what you want about Def Leppard, but it won't stop them to make great rock music. There was many of us that was quite disapointed about "Slang" back in 1996, and we thougt their finest moment was past. But this album proves that they are BACK IN YOUR FACE again. At least they should, cause this is nothing but a masterpiece! Their opening track "Demolition man" is probably the best they ever done, and "Promises" (the first single) is something between "Animal" and "Photograph" - the result has to be great! "Back in your face", (already mentioned) does really prove their talent. I can't comment all the songs, but there is really no poor songs here. Of course you have to buy this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "EUPHORIA"...DEF LEPPARD AT THEIR BEST!, 17 July 2000
This review is from: Euphoria (Audio CD)
The Webster's Dictionary defines Euphoria as "A feeling of well being or elation." After listening to Def Leppard's "Euphoria" I would have to say that Def Leppard fans will be in this state with this album. "Euphoria" is solid on every track. The overall feel is like their "Hysteria" album, with catchy tunes and a definite upbeat style. They have also included two beautiful ballads on this one, "Goodbye" and "It's Only Love". This album earns itself an immediate "Classic Def Leppard" title. It is another shining example of a melodic hard rock band sticking with their original style and proving once and for all that these bands and this style of music are here to stay. LOTS of bands within this genre have recent releases that ROCK. If you like Def Leppard then DEFINITELY pick up "Euphoria", but also take a look at some of your other favorites. You may be surprised how many of them have recent releases. "Don't wait for a better day. Or you won't get there at all."-Kane Roberts-(Used with his kind permission)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ahhhh, nice to see you..., 10 April 2001
This review is from: Euphoria (Audio CD)
Let's be honest with each other here: Slang was not the best album the Leps ever did. To be brutally honest, apart from a couple of tracks, it sucked. The Def Leppard I enjoyed had huge guitars, big harmonies and more rock than a Yorkshire quarry, and this certainly wasn't it. Imagine my surprise when I stuck the CD of Euphoria in my player and hit that button, to be greeted with the awesome blast of the Leps back on true rocking form. My favourite track on the album just as to be Demolition Man, the thundering opener, and from there the album just doesn't slacken off. I saw Def Leppard when they toured the album and it was plain to see that they were proud of what they'd done. It's been a while boys, good to see you back. Come back soon, in a world dominated by plastic pop we need something that rocks as well as you...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Half decent, but that's all., 26 Dec 2008
This review is from: Euphoria (Audio CD)
I bought this album when it was first released. I was immediately unimpressed by it. The best I can describe it is that it's very similar in style with Adrenalize, which again I was never that impressed with ... I guess I'm one of those who still hanker for another Pyromania or Hysteria (or even a High'n'dry). However, it's not all bad. Demolition Man is a song that would have graced either of those big selling albums (and has a nice piece at the end by former F1 World Champion, Damon Hill), as would 'To be alive' which is highly reminiscent of 'Love Bites'. Although many people like 'Promises' I actually think it's a pretty weak song which doesn't really seem to get anywhere and is just an excuse for Phil Collen to show his guitar playing stamina. Other songs on the album are even weaker.

I've long since lost this album but will be getting it again, but only to help reconstruct my Def Leppard collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 23 Nov 2004
Leppard return with a great Album, 'Euphoria', which strangley fits in with the previous album, 'Slang', the last track on which was called 'Pearl Of Euphoria'.
The album brings the writing talents of the members forth in great detail, especially the Guitar Solo written by Phil, 'Disintegrate'.
If you're a long-time fan of Leppard or like me a new fan, this album is DEFinatly worth buying.
The album also contains some good ballads such as, 'To Be Alive', 'GoodBye' and 'It's Only Love'. There are also some great Rockin' tracks, such as the very Glitter-like 'Back In Your Face', and as mentioned before the guitar solo, 'Disintegrate'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great classic Def Leppard CD, 28 Oct 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Euphoria (Audio CD)
I think this is one of Def Leppard's best collections of songs to date. It has some of the old sounds of "Hysteria" and "Pyromania" yet they make it all sound new and exciting again. "Demolition Man" is a great opening song. It is up beat and fun. The first single,"Promises," is a great song that would have easily fit on "Hysteria." "Back In Your Face" is a wonderful song to include on this long-awaited CD from the band. It shows that they are indeed back in our faces.The secong single, "Goodbye," is one of my favorite songs on the CD (partially because their bassist, Rick Savage, wrote it). It is a beautifully written ballad. I think this could do well on pop radio stations as well as the more rock stations. "All Night" is a fun, up-tempo song. It is fun to sing along with and could also do well on today's record charts. "Paper Sun" is one of the harder songs on the CD. It has heavy guitars and deep lyrics. Another one of my favorites.
"It's Only Love" has more of a pop flavor than what we are used to hearing from the band. It is one of the most mellow songs on this CD. However they go on to another fun rocker with "21st Century Sha La La La Girl." The lyrics are fun and light-hearted. This is another song that I think would do well on radio. "To Be Alive" is a really good song. It was recorded by Clock, a band that Def Leppard's guitarist, Vivian Campbell, performs with sometimes. I think this is one of the best ballads on the CD. "Disintegrate" is an instrumental. It has great guitars and is very up-beat. "Guilty" is another one of those songs that could have been recorded on "Hysteria" and would definately not have been out of place. "Day After Day" has a harder beat and great guitars. It and the last song, "Kings of Oblivion" are two of the heaviest songs on the CD. I can hear a definite influence from earlier Def Leppard music on these two songs. I think this is a very good CD. I own it on CD and cassette and am wearing both out. If you are a Def Leppard fan this is a must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is an album that has more balls than Wimbledon!!, 14 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Euphoria (Audio CD)
This album is sheer brilliance. My favourite track is, well all of them! I just can't narrow it down to one! "Back in your Face" has all the clout of a true glam-rock anthem, "All Night" has the sleek sexiness of "Pour some Sugar on me", and "Promises" couldn't be more perfect as a single. The big stand out track on the album has to be "Paper Sun". Boys, you really have excelled yourself with this one. This is the song that holds importance for everyone. It has power guitars by the dozen and a big, fat pounding bass drum. There are ballads aplenty too on this album, (talk about value for money!). "To be alive" has to be my favourite, with "Goodbye" running at a close second. The only question is why is the album not very popular in Britain? Could it have anything to do with the lack of airplay on British radio stations? Radio executives take note. This album is perfection on a stick. Go and buy it to improve your standard of living!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Euphoria
Euphoria by Def Leppard (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews