Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!
I'll admit, I bough this album for "Video", only to discover that the entire album is excellent. Standouts of course would include "Clean, Clean", "Elstree", "Plastic Age", and of course "Video Killed the Radio Star". It should be mentioned that although Amazon's review mentions drum machines, all the drums were actually...
Published on 29 Sep 2001 by Steven LeBeau

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An 'average' album.
'The Buggles', like so many groups that had just one major hit, probably made a mistake in the choosing of their follow-up single which was not so powerful. However, three Top 40 hits to your name in such a short period of time can not be bad!

This includes the extended version of their massive number one classic from 1979: 'Video killed The Radio Star'...
Published on 2 July 2008 by FAMOUS NAME


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Buggles pure magic, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Age Of Plastic (Audio CD)
I have just replaced my original album with this CD. This is a Classic in every sense. The lyrics are great, but it is the pure musicianship which stuns.The extra tracks included for CD purposes are weak, but the originals still sparkle as new especially at full volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buggles Revisited, 20 Nov 2012
By 
This review is from: The Age Of Plastic (MP3 Download)
I first bought this album on cassette in 1979, whilst working in Germany and when I rediscovered it recently great memories came flooding back to me.
I remember that the actual album received mixed reviews at the time and sales were not that great because people wanted an album of Radio Star clones. But this album is much more than that and is filled with catchy and innovative pop songs which more than hold their own after more than 30 years. If you are looking for an album where you don't have to skip a track give this a try, you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DVD killed the video star, 30 May 2007
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Age Of Plastic (Audio CD)
Recorded on the threshold of the synth-dominated 1980s, Buggles' first album felt like a gateway to that decade. In a way, it's a shame that the catchy but twee 'Video, etc' made number one as it cast Horn and Downes as opportunist one-hit wonders. Via Yes, Asia and a host of hugely-successful productions for other artists, the duo proved that they were worthy of more than that. There's no doubt that this was conceived as glossy, cutting-edge fodder for the pop market, but quality will always out and Buggles' writing, playing and recording standards were way above the younger artists Horn would go on to produce. If you've heard Frankie Goes To Hollywood's Peel sessions, you'll know what I mean. 'Relax' was Horn's triumph.

All but two of the songs here are cartoon sci-fi, a colour fantasy to contrast Gary Numan's darker universe. The album is full of good, romping tunes, flawlessly presented. The exceptions are the nostalgic chart-topper and 'Elstree' (the best song). An album to be enjoyed without worrying about intellectual challenge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ahead of their time....by 2 decades..., 30 Oct 2003
By 
Damien Boyd - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Age Of Plastic (Audio CD)
Buggles most remembered by "Video killed the Radio Star" and "Clean Clean" were another synthesier band in the early 80's who came, sang, experimented and then disappeared.
Well, they left a couple of decent albums that somehow seem to fit right into the 21st century. The feel of the album is the realisation of technology and change- using words like Plastic age, miss robot, astroboy, proles etc. a sign that the Buggles, perhaps, felt Big Brother was arriving?
Overall this little collection is another reminder of the wonderful inventiveness of the early 80's..an era that could not fit into the musically aesthetic 2000's..
Highlight of the album ?...Astroboy (and the proles on parade)..simple and gentle and I dont care what it means!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funk Cool!, 8 Nov 2002
By 
This review is from: The Age Of Plastic (Audio CD)
This is an amazing album, from the synth intros to the tunes - this thing ROCKS! This is one of the greatest albums of all time, and I would recomend you all get it.
It has minimalism (Island) and what can only be called funk-synth-cool in the others.
Absolutely amazing - buy it, you won't regret it, really, you won't - they're all as good (if not better than) Video Killed the Radio Star!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An 'average' album., 2 July 2008
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Age of Plastic (Audio CD)
'The Buggles', like so many groups that had just one major hit, probably made a mistake in the choosing of their follow-up single which was not so powerful. However, three Top 40 hits to your name in such a short period of time can not be bad!

This includes the extended version of their massive number one classic from 1979: 'Video killed The Radio Star' and just seven other songs which leads to a comparatively short and average pop album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An 'average' album., 2 July 2008
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
'The Buggles', like so many groups that had just one major hit, probably made a mistake in the choosing of their follow-up single which was not so powerful. However, three Top 40 hits to your name in such a short period of time can not be bad!

This includes the extended version of their massive number one classic from 1979: 'Video killed The Radio Star' and just seven other songs which leads to a comparatively short and average pop album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An average album., 17 April 2008
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Age of Plastic (Audio CD)
'The Buggles', like so many groups that had just one major hit, probably made a mistake in the choosing of their follow-up single which was not so powerful. However, three Top 40 hits to your name in such a short period of time can not be bad!

This includes the extended version of their massive number one classic from 1979: 'Video killed The Radio Star' and just seven other songs which leads to a comparatively short and average pop album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock On Buggles!, 24 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Age Of Plastic (Audio CD)
This Cd Is Brilliant! I Love The Song Video Killed The Radio Star! I Normally Listen To Nirvana And Green Day But I Like The Song Video Killed The Radio Star! Buy This CD It Is Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars None of the other tracks come close to 'Radio Star', 8 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Age Of Plastic (Audio CD)
It's not exactly a bad album. But it's hard to avoid comparing the other tracks to 'Radio Star'.

Were they too busy promoting the single, but under pressure to produce an album quickly while the single was still hot? Or did they simple get lucky when writing 'Radio Star'? Whatever the reason, the other tracks are not up to the same standard, both in terms of writing and production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Age Of Plastic
The Age Of Plastic by Buggles (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews