Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars34
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.47+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 January 2003
This was the album Ozzy released before his early retirement after being misdiagnosed with illness he did not have. Nearly to say Ozzy has returned since then but this Album still stands out. Tracks such as 'Perry Mason', 'I just want you', 'Ghost behind my eyes', 'See you on the other side' and 'My Little Man' are great tracks worth the price of this album. This version of the album unlike the original release has two extra tracks, 'Whole world fallin down' and 'Aimee' a track written for his first daughter to wife Sharon. For Ozzy to release and album with two songs written for and about his children certainly shows his tender side and less of the crazy madman side in his earlier work. A good album at a great price buy it today.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 3 September 2012
I own all of Ozzy Osbourne's studio albums, all of his records with Black Sabbath, and regard his so-called 1995 'farewell' album 'Ozzmosis' as his very best work.

From start to finish, this is just a brilliant hard-rock album, the stunning 'Perry Mason', with it's incredible intro is the perfect opener. Other stand out tracks include the melancholic 'I Just Want You', 'Ghost Behind My Eyes', 'See You On The Other Side' and 'Old L.A. Tonight', all of which are great ballads. The piano driven 'Old L.A. Tonight' is the perfect song to close things out with.

This album has a great flow about it, and certainly ranks as one of the greatest things he has recorded as a solo artist. For any Ozzy fan's collection, I'd say that 'Ozzmosis' is absolutely essential, and that really is saying something considering all of the other brilliant albums we had already heard from him over the years. Luckily for us, it turned out that it wasn't to be his last offering after all. Still, it would have been an excellent way to finish a great musical career, and if I'm honest, I don't think that the big man has come even close to making a better one since.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Ozzy Osbourne's seventh full length studio album Ozzmosis was released in 1995. This was the third album to feature Zack Wylde on guitar, following up the terrific No Rest For The Wicked and No More Tears albums and as well as that, it was his first to feature former Black Sabbath artist Geezer Butler on Bass.

With their previous two albums; Osbourne and his band set about modernizing their sound, but Ozzmosis took things one step further with some of the heaviest music and production on any Ozzy release ever.

Musically, Ozzmosis is a solid and relatively consistent album. Standout tracks include the massive singles `Perry Mason,' and `Thunder Underground,' as well as `My Jekyll Doesn't Hide,' which are some of Ozzy's heaviest ever compositions.

The album is more than just heavier metal numbers however, as the previous album No More Tears, there are a few big ballads mixed in to keep things varied as well.

While the album still feels like a solid band affair, the band actually received additional songwriting help from the legendary Lemmy and Steve Vai, as well as producer John Purdell and former song doctor Jim Vallance.

If you have an interest in Ozzy then you should probably check out this album; its solid, surprisingly heavy for Ozzy and has Geezer Butler on bass, all that definitely makes it worth investigating. Overall, Ozzmosis rates among the better Ozzy albums and is probably the best album he made after his brief retirement from music in the 90s.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2000
The album kicks of with Perry Mason that has a thundering bass line and a guitar riff to keep even the most sceptic of head bangers happy. You can tell Zack Wylde (check out Pride & Glory) was involved in this one even though he is not the guitar player on the main credits.
The album changes feel with a classy track 'I Just Want You' showing a more modern approach. There are some very Ozzy moments' My Jeckyl Doesn't Hyde' being one of them and also a mature side with a song called 'My Little Man' that I assume is about Ozzys son Jack.
On the tape version side one ends with a fine song 'See You On The Other Side' and when you turn over you are assaulted by the best track on the album. Listen to it loud and have an Ozzy moment. A dynamic song in the vain of No More Tears puts a shiver down the spine and will rattle your speakers to destruction. Another 'Zack' riff and solo leave you wondering how the hell does he get that sound...? and why can't I? This song alone gets the 5 star rating. Everything else is a bonus.
Ozzy is a real legend and one of our finest exports. This album although not his best will do his reputation him no harm at all and, is a must for anyone who wants something to shock their grandchildren with in years to come. Having seen this line up live it has to be said this album translated superbly live. Its good to hear true grit in a boy band infested world....
'Nuf Said, buy it, play it, damage your speakers...... Classy....
Artie.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2006
Ozzy has been on record as saying he's still trying to make his Sgt Pepper album, well he did it with this one, with a little help from no more tears along the way, in my eyes he kinda lost his way during his "american, blonde hair days", always the true showman live as I've seen him many times, but musically a bit comercial (as in writing for an audaince), but WE as fans will let him have that, for after all he is OZZY!

Then out of that misty L.A sky (or where ever he was), he comes out with what can only be called a classic album, gone is the bleach, gone are the radio friendly "HOOKS", but there in their place are songs that make you happy, sad, and want to shake your hair, all in all a thoughtful album, with great lyrics, and musisianship from begging to end, and an album, like classic sabbath albums, that you put away for a year or two, put it on........and remember the songs! well done OZZ
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2010
When you ask most die hard metal fans what their top five albums are, this little gem will sledom appear. I think thats wrong. This album is expertly mixed with absolutly sumptuous tracks and Ozzy and his ensemble sounding like the gods of metal haveing glorious, passionate sex in your ear! from the heavy pounding guitar notes of Zakk Wylde on 'Thunder Underground' to Ozzy singing like a proverbial angle in, the seeming tribute to 'Changes', 'Old L.A. Tonight' thsi album is awsome from start to finish, A must for any metal collection!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2003
This was the album Ozzy released before his retirement from the music would after being wrongly diagnosed with an illness which he did not have. The songs, 'I Just want you', 'Ghost behind my eyes', 'See you on the other side', 'My little man' are very good songs. Perry Mason is the best track on the album and the rest of it falls pretty flat. I like the album because I like Ozzy but if you are going to by this, I'd look for the more recent version which has been remastered and includes to Bonus tracks, 'Whole World's Falling Down' and 'Aimee' a track written for his first daughter to wife Sharon. That version of the album is also available on amazon.co.uk and the one I would recommend, it's the same price as this with two extra songs, so go for that one.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2013
a completely nonobjective review: Bloody brilliant, big Ozzy fan, really good fun, like everything else, keep it up Mr Ozzy!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2013
Bit different from his previous releases, but all in all a very good CD, which is quite melodic and pretty heavy.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2015
Fantastic album - I think his best. You can hear that he is back to his best and as the blurb on the back of the CD says 'enjoying himself'. Lots of metal here plus a few ballads. Perry Madon, Thunder Underground & My Jeckyll doesn't hide are outstanding tracks. Great album at a great price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.