Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Was supposed to be Ozzy's farewell album.
This was the album Ozzy released before his early retirement after being misdiagnosed with illness he did not have. Nearly to say Ozzy has returned since then but this Album still stands out. Tracks such as 'Perry Mason', 'I just want you', 'Ghost behind my eyes', 'See you on the other side' and 'My Little Man' are great tracks worth the price of this album. This version...
Published on 5 Jan 2003 by Mr. C. Watmore

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just remember to steer clear of 'Down To Earth' okay ?
His last record before he decided "OH NO proper metal isn't working any more, i'll jump ship and get in with the pu-metal kids instead", what you get is basically a continuation of the 'No More Tears' sound. It starts off pretty killer; Zakk Wyle, a strapping young lad indeed of a guitarist shreds his guitar with the precision of an ancient mongolian killer cod fish...
Published on 9 Oct 2002 by The Holy Ferret


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Was supposed to be Ozzy's farewell album., 5 Jan 2003
This review is from: Ozzmosis (Audio CD)
This was the album Ozzy released before his early retirement after being misdiagnosed with illness he did not have. Nearly to say Ozzy has returned since then but this Album still stands out. Tracks such as 'Perry Mason', 'I just want you', 'Ghost behind my eyes', 'See you on the other side' and 'My Little Man' are great tracks worth the price of this album. This version of the album unlike the original release has two extra tracks, 'Whole world fallin down' and 'Aimee' a track written for his first daughter to wife Sharon. For Ozzy to release and album with two songs written for and about his children certainly shows his tender side and less of the crazy madman side in his earlier work. A good album at a great price buy it today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ozzy- Classy, loud and proud. A must., 28 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Ozzmosis (Audio CD)
The album kicks of with Perry Mason that has a thundering bass line and a guitar riff to keep even the most sceptic of head bangers happy. You can tell Zack Wylde (check out Pride & Glory) was involved in this one even though he is not the guitar player on the main credits.
The album changes feel with a classy track 'I Just Want You' showing a more modern approach. There are some very Ozzy moments' My Jeckyl Doesn't Hyde' being one of them and also a mature side with a song called 'My Little Man' that I assume is about Ozzys son Jack.
On the tape version side one ends with a fine song 'See You On The Other Side' and when you turn over you are assaulted by the best track on the album. Listen to it loud and have an Ozzy moment. A dynamic song in the vain of No More Tears puts a shiver down the spine and will rattle your speakers to destruction. Another 'Zack' riff and solo leave you wondering how the hell does he get that sound...? and why can't I? This song alone gets the 5 star rating. Everything else is a bonus.
Ozzy is a real legend and one of our finest exports. This album although not his best will do his reputation him no harm at all and, is a must for anyone who wants something to shock their grandchildren with in years to come. Having seen this line up live it has to be said this album translated superbly live. Its good to hear true grit in a boy band infested world....
'Nuf Said, buy it, play it, damage your speakers...... Classy....
Artie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Was supposed to be his farewell album!, 5 Jan 2003
This review is from: Ozzmosis (Audio CD)
This was the album Ozzy released before his retirement from the music would after being wrongly diagnosed with an illness which he did not have. The songs, 'I Just want you', 'Ghost behind my eyes', 'See you on the other side', 'My little man' are very good songs. Perry Mason is the best track on the album and the rest of it falls pretty flat. I like the album because I like Ozzy but if you are going to by this, I'd look for the more recent version which has been remastered and includes to Bonus tracks, 'Whole World's Falling Down' and 'Aimee' a track written for his first daughter to wife Sharon. That version of the album is also available on amazon.co.uk and the one I would recommend, it's the same price as this with two extra songs, so go for that one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Rockingly Good Ozzy Album, 27 Aug 2014
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ozzmosis (Audio CD)
Ozzmosis.
Original Recording Reissue - Featuring Extra Tracks
1xCD

Track Listings.

1. Perry Mason
2. I Just Want You
3. Ghost Behind My Eyes
4. Thunder Underground
5. See You On The Other Side
6. Tomorrow
7. Denial
8. My Little Man
9. My Jekyll Doesn't Hide
10. Old LA Tonight
11. Whole World's Fallin'
12. Aimee

Timelord Thoughts.
Ozzy Osbourne's brief retirement didn't last long as Ozzmosis is Ozzy's 7th studio album & the third album to feature Zakk Wylde with former Sabbath member Geezer Butler on base guitar.

Ozzmosis sees the Prince of Darkness deliver his heaviest sounding album in ages & features excellent tracks & production values throughout which has now been reissued with two bonus tracks 'Whole World's Fallin'
& 'Aimee'.

Tonally, Ozzmosis is a solid consistent album which I find is an overlooked & underrated album which includes `Perry Mason', the excellent 'See You On The Other Side',`Thunder Underground',`My Jekyll Doesn't Hide' & my favourite 'Ghost Behind My Eyes'which are some of Ozzy's heaviest recorded material to date with songwriting contributions from Lemmy from Motorhead, as well as producers Jim Vallance & John Purdell.

Overall, Ozzmosis is a solid, heavy sounding rock album that features excellent lead vocals by Ozzy & phenomenal guitar riffs from Zakk Wylde which also features Sabbaths; Geezer Butler on bass guitar as Ozzmosis delivers a album of high quality production & is easily on par with the Prince of Darkness previous studio albums, Blizzard Of Oz, Diary Of A Madman & No More Tears & is definitely worth a listen.

Timelord Rating.
9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ozzy's Best Album, 3 Sep 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ozzmosis (Audio CD)
I own all of Ozzy Osbourne's studio albums, all of his records with Black Sabbath, and regard his so-called farewell album 'Ozzmosis' as his very best work.

Simply put that it is a brilliant hard-rock album, the stunning 'Perry Mason', with it's incredible intro is the perfect opener. Other stand out tracks include 'I Just Want You', 'Ghost Behind My Eyes', 'See You On The Other Side' and 'Old L.A. Tonight', all of which are great ballads. 'Old L.A. Tonight' is the perfect song to close the album out.

This album has a great flow about it, and certainly ranks as one of the greatest things he has recorded as a solo artist. For any Ozzy fan's collection, I'd say that 'Ozzmosis' is essential, and that really is saying something considering all of the other brilliant albums we've heard from him over the years. Luckily for us, it turned out that it wasn't to be his last offering after all. Still, it would have been an excellent way to finish a great musical career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly impressive, polished studio album, 28 Jun 2004
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ozzmosis (Audio CD)
While it doesn't have quite the raw, barely controlled, I'm-liable-to-bite-the-head-off-a-dove-or-bat-any-minute-now energy of Ozzie's early classics, Ozzmosis ranks right up there with the best of Ozzy's albums, in my opinion. A sort of introspective Ozzy shows up at times here, a man looking back at his past while he gazes ahead to the future of himself and his children. The kinder, gentler Ozzie formula doesn't quite work on tracks such as Denial and My Little Man (although I like these two songs better than Mama, I'm Coming Home, a comparable song from No More Tears), but the magic happens on See You on the Other Side and Old L.A. Tonight. The latter really stands apart from the other songs on the album in its style, sound, and mood, ending the album on a true high point. Ghost Behind My Eyes can also be considered in the same category, although it has a little bit more energy and comes across as a much more powerful song.
Of course, the album does feature some heavyweights. Perry Mason is a great booming track featuring an incredible bridge; I'm not entirely sure what the heck Ozzy is really singing about here, but it's a great track. I really love the second track, I Just Want You; the verses feature a sort of monotonous delivery of philOzzophical statements, but it's really a love song of the type only Ozzy can sing; once again, I have to praise the bridge, as this track features one of the most incredible bridges I've ever heard. Thunder Underground is one of the most thumping tracks on the album, and a lot of people really like it; it's probably my least favorite song on the album, though. The winner of "best song title" goes to My Jeckyll Doesn't Hide, and the song lives up to that title pretty well; there's nothing fake about Ozzy, and this song is a sort of restatement of that important fact. My favorite song from this album actually changes fairly often, but right now it is Tomorrow, partly because the old Ozzy comes through most clearly on this one. It's probably the heaviest song on the album, and Ozzy sort of screams some of the lyrics, giving this song a classic Ozzy quality that the other tracks lack.
When this album was released in 1995, Ozzy had already turned a corner in his career. He wasn't as young as he used to be, but No More Tears proved that he was changing with the times and, in many ways, getting better with age, while Live and Loud proved no one put on a better live show (and aren't we all thankful that did not turn out to be the final concert tour, after all). Some singers, as they start to age, change themselves so radically that they alienate some of their fans and almost seem to deny what they used to be. Ozzy is always going to be Ozzy. He can't always be the screaming wild man he used to be, but he will never shortchange himself or his fans, and the sense of reflection that comes through in some of these songs serves to honor rather than betray the classic Ozzy Osbourne so many of us continue to celebrate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ozzy Osbourne - Ozzmosis, 5 Aug 2011
By 
Gentlegiantprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ozzmosis (Audio CD)
Ozzy Osbourne's seventh full length studio album Ozzmosis was released in 1995. This was the third album to feature Zack Wylde on guitar, following up the terrific No Rest For The Wicked and No More Tears albums and as well as that, it was his first to feature former Black Sabbath artist Geezer Butler on Bass.

With their previous two albums; Osbourne and his band set about modernizing their sound, but Ozzmosis took things one step further with some of the heaviest music and production on any Ozzy release ever.

Musically, Ozzmosis is a solid and relatively consistent album. Standout tracks include the massive singles `Perry Mason,' and `Thunder Underground,' as well as `My Jekyll Doesn't Hide,' which are some of Ozzy's heaviest ever compositions.

The album is more than just heavier metal numbers however, as the previous album No More Tears, there are a few big ballads mixed in to keep things varied as well.

While the album still feels like a solid band affair, the band actually received additional songwriting help from the legendary Lemmy and Steve Vai, as well as producer John Purdell and former song doctor Jim Vallance.

If you have an interest in Ozzy then you should probably check out this album; its solid, surprisingly heavy for Ozzy and has Geezer Butler on bass, all that definitely makes it worth investigating. Overall, Ozzmosis rates among the better Ozzy albums and is probably the best album he made after his brief retirement from music in the 90s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His Sgt.Pepper, 28 Oct 2006
By 
Michael Seymour "ozzman" (Birmingham England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ozzmosis (Audio CD)
Ozzy has been on record as saying he's still trying to make his Sgt Pepper album, well he did it with this one, with a little help from no more tears along the way, in my eyes he kinda lost his way during his "american, blonde hair days", always the true showman live as I've seen him many times, but musically a bit comercial (as in writing for an audaince), but WE as fans will let him have that, for after all he is OZZY!

Then out of that misty L.A sky (or where ever he was), he comes out with what can only be called a classic album, gone is the bleach, gone are the radio friendly "HOOKS", but there in their place are songs that make you happy, sad, and want to shake your hair, all in all a thoughtful album, with great lyrics, and musisianship from begging to end, and an album, like classic sabbath albums, that you put away for a year or two, put it on........and remember the songs! well done OZZ
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad effort for the most part., 20 Sep 2012
By 
N. Fitzgerald (Newtownabbey, Antrim United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ozzmosis (Audio CD)
Ozzy's 1995 release has a lot going for it,from the stunning opener "Perry Mason" (probably my favourite ozzy tune)to the great ballad "Old L.A.Tonight",there's much here to keep fans happy.
One note of criticism though is that some of the heavier tracks on the album do grate and can sound a bit tiresome,in that,they lack any real sense of depth,rhythm or grove,it's just noise for the sake of it I feel......although Zack Wilde's playing is consistently excellent right throughout the gamut of songs on offer.
However,overall it's a strong contender for a "recommended" award!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The hidden classic, 23 Dec 2010
This review is from: Ozzmosis (Audio CD)
When you ask most die hard metal fans what their top five albums are, this little gem will sledom appear. I think thats wrong. This album is expertly mixed with absolutly sumptuous tracks and Ozzy and his ensemble sounding like the gods of metal haveing glorious, passionate sex in your ear! from the heavy pounding guitar notes of Zakk Wylde on 'Thunder Underground' to Ozzy singing like a proverbial angle in, the seeming tribute to 'Changes', 'Old L.A. Tonight' thsi album is awsome from start to finish, A must for any metal collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ozzmosis
Ozzmosis by Ozzy Osbourne (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews