Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing stuff!
Having read some of the bad reviews her, I thought I had to add a comment.

The Soft Bulletin, quite simply is a superb collection of songs and music. If it's not your 'cup of tea' then by all means say so, but that does not make it bad.

This album is absolutely full of emotion, and every song is honest. It's not 'bubblegum' it's genuine. I have heard...
Published on 1 Dec 2006 by S. Parker

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great album, bad re-issue.
I love this album, and was really looking forward to getting it on vinyl. First off, the records don't fit in to the original sleeves, because they are too small, so there are plain white sleeves with it. I found that pretty annoying. Also, I don't think it sounds great, seems a bit tinny.

Great album though.
Published 6 months ago by cruzley


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly great album, 4 April 2006
This review is from: The Soft Bulletin (Audio CD)
I have Yoshimi and this, I was alerted to it by a friend in the States playing me the Soft Bulletin track "Spider Bite Song". This is a superb, emotional, odd and catchy song (ie typical Lips), missing for some reason on the British version and is as good as any of the top tracks here, telling of the time the band nearly broke up.
This album is definitely better than Yoshimi in my opinion, with the un-toppable "Race for the Prize" and "Spark that Bled". Uplifting, weird, clever and all the time with melody - accessible AND cool. And wait till you see 'em live, funny/absurd lights, animal/robot costumed fans at the stage side, duets with glove puppets, huge inflated balloons dropping on the crowd, snap-shuttered lights strapped to Wayne's chest - oh, just go to the next tour, you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flamin' Class, 20 Jan 2003
By 
W. S. Hayes "Will Hayes" (Wrexham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Soft Bulletin (Audio CD)
After reading all of the hype surrounding the Flaming Lips, I decided to check this album out. The hype was, for a change, totally justified, as this is one of the finest albums I have listened to in a long time. From the very, a distinct style, and air of subtle class is present, be it in the idiosyncratic voice of the Lips' frontman, or the wonderfully unique musical style that accompanies him, it is so refreshing to hear, that it sends chills down even the most cynical of spines, and leaves you feeking all warm and fuzzy inside....... or something like that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never thought it could be so good, 7 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Soft Bulletin (Audio CD)
I thought I'd heard it all before - at least I never expected to this surprised and blown away by a new album. It sounds so refreshing and different - and yet strangely familiar. And you should see these guys live if ever you get the chance - takes 'live' to a new level, easily the best, most involving gig I've ever been to. I can't wait to see what they come up with next - hopefully it will be as good because it couldn't get any better... could it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mind Bending, 24 May 2004
This review is from: The Soft Bulletin (Audio CD)
Before Cat Deeley and that blond girl that was on celebrity fame academy started to Confess to a love of Yoshimi Battles the Pink robots the Flaming lips were equaly fantastic, possibly more so. The Soft Bulletin sounds like it's from another planet, the band sound as if they're soundtracking a film concieved by an alien lifeform of incomprehensible intelegence manifesting itself as a buble of pure thought. No other band could make this album, even if they wrote a tune as good as Race for the prize or Waiting for Superman, They wouldn't know what to do with it. What lyrics do you put with songs like that? What do you want the drums to do? Thier normal human heads would explode.
The best thing about the Soft Bulletin is that it dosen't get lost in it's own wierdness and forget about making good songs. Feeling yourself disintegrate is one of the most beautiful songs ever written yet they still manage to make it one of the most original pieces of music you'll ever hear and the Gash is mindblowing but at the same time, very moving. (Don't ever pass up the oportunity to see them live By the way)The only possible fault with the album is that singles Race for the prize and waiting for Superman are on twice, I advise you to skip the first versions of each song if you only want to listen to them once at a time.
Other than that, buy it...twice and keep one copy to shove in old peoples faces when they say that everything's been done before. And if you need more Yoshimi Battles the pink Robots is just as good and a bit more radio friendly (By comparison)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A reissue worth buying?, 17 Oct 2009
By 
Sean Gibbins (Lymington, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Soft Bulletin remains one of my favourite Flaming Lips albums, despite me struggling with it to start with, and there's enough been said and written about it already that I will concentrate on the format, rather than the content, for this review.

Having owned a UK CD copy of this album for many years I have looked in on ebay from time to time for a vinyl copy, always being discouraged by the unaffordably high price, frequently 80+ for a decent copy.

So, when The Soft Bulletin was reissued on 180gm vinyl for a reasonable price I grabbed a copy quick, and despite having hearing not so acute that I can easily spot the difference between one format or the other, was glad that I did.

For one, there is an extra track on this release not present on the UK CD version, but mostly nothing beats holding a good gate-fold sleeve with a full-sized print and artwork for me. And when the stylus finally kisses the vinyl after its slow, damped decent, well, there's magic there too!

On the technical side my copy came with nice thick edges, so there was none of the knifing that seems to be so prevalent with mail order vinyl these days. And while I'm not totally averse to coloured vinyl, neither am I a huge fan of it, so I was glad to see that this pressing is on the good old black stuff. The outer sleeve is made of stout card and the inner ones are poly-lined paper, which hopefully extends the life of the vinyl and accounts for some the (relatively) high price of this album. The music is spread over two discs, which I guess is good for quality, although it does mean you will be getting out of your chair three times instead of just the once to hear it through!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Bullet Ever Shot, 18 Nov 2006
By 
Chris G. (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Soft Bulletin (Audio CD)
This is surely one of the greatest albums ever.

The Lips' musical invention is mind-blowing and their lyrics convey an outward sadness beautifully, whilst actually emitting an elevating sense of hope and restrained joy.

Every time you play this album you will feel a new emotion; you will uncover a new secreted little sound which augments your whole listening experience; you will fall in love with a different song, whether it be the melancholy classic that is 'Feeling Yourself Disintegrate'; the uplifting symphonic pop masterpiece 'Race For The Prize'; or the startlingly unique 'Suddenly Everything Has Changed', with its dance-type beats interlocking unthinkably well with the rousing symphonic moments. From start to finish this album is pure bliss, and, astonishingly, the band have produced numerous other albums which are on a creative par with this - only they veer off in different, equally wondrous, musical directions. That is why the Flaming Lips are such a respected and revered band.

So, ignore this album's detractors, they are evidently people who have not afforded this album enough time or effort to reap its splendorous rewards.

Buy. Now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ground Breaking - Relaxation Intense, 7 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Soft Bulletin (Audio CD)
This is an amazing array of sounds produced by one of the greatest bands of our time. I saw them live in Oxford, England. Blur, Offspring, and Mercury Rev have nothing on their performance or this CD. Well worth a buy. Should be in everyones collection!!!!! 10 stars from 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lips stick together!, 16 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Soft Bulletin (Audio CD)
Brilliant album,having just seen them live as well I think they are one of,if not the best bands around at the moment.The album offers such beautiful melodies whilst not being afraid to challenge the "songwriting structure" and production guidelines that seem so staid theses days.Britain should embrace this type of experimentation instead of just accepting what we get shown (see Travis,OCS and Stereophonics). This band are truly special,the album is mostly mid-tempo sonic,keyboard based music.Their outlook is fresh "Feeling Youself Disintegrate" and "Waiting for a Superman" are near perfection.Buy it!!!Give someone you hate Stereophonics for Xmas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly beautiful, 17 Jun 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Soft Bulletin (Audio CD)
I bought this after hearing it in a bookshop - the only time I've ever been compelled to ask the assistant what music he was playing in the shop!
Since then I've played it back to back so many times, I just can't get enough. The lyrical content is truly inspired - songs about a struggling superman, putting away the vegetables, and bugs splattering over your windscreen! And the melodic material is simply beautiful. The harmonies on "Buzzin'", "Waitin' for a superman" are fantastic.
There are also plenty of groove based songs, "What is the Light?" "The Spark That Bled" and "Buzzin'" standing out in particular. Coupled with jangly guitars (never overdone) and lush string and keyboard arrangements, this album should definitely be in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unforgettable., 22 Jun 2005
This review is from: The Soft Bulletin (Audio CD)
Let's all be honest with ourselves here, The Flaming Lips started off as quite a bad band. Their early material was average at best, but mostly bad. Then in the early 90s, they stepped up a gear and began releasing some great stuff. Yet none of their albums were astounding or worthy of 'classic' status...
...until they released The Soft Bulletin.
This is unlike anything you've ever heard before. Every track here is oozing with the 'lips creative juices with layers upon layers of zany noise all moulding together to create one euphoric soundscape. Wayne Coyne's singing might not be too great, but his lyrics are without a doubt some of the most original ever written. Unlike many of todays new artists, Coyne doesn't sing vaguely about depression or whatever BS, he goes in-depth and uses double-meanings in just around all of his songs.
The obvious highlight on this CD is the out of this world Race For The Prize, which upon hearing, I stop everything I'm doing and grasp my heart. Words cannot describe how touching this song is, listen and you will see.
There are plenty of other phenomenal tracks on this cd though, including the acoustic yet electronic Spark That Bled, the sombre Waitin' For A Superman which perfectly describes modern day living, and the abrasive Feeling Yourself Disintergrate. These tracks alone are worth the asking price, but everything else on here is gold too!
The Soft Bulletin is what you'd call a modern day classic. The songwriting here is on par with some of the stuff The Beatles were doing during the last half of their career. And even though this piece of art isn't perfect, I can't point out anything wrong with it. Listening to this album, for me, was a life-changing experience and I'm sure it will be for you too. Buy it. Buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Soft Bulletin
The Soft Bulletin by The Flaming Lips (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews