Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great musical
This is a beautiful musical and I guess the only reason it's not done more often is because it involves just one woman. Marti Webb's voice is perfect - you will be captivated after only a couple of listens. My particular favourites are Tell Me on A Sunday, Capped Teeth and Caesar Salad and the 3 versions of It's Not the End of the World. Beware. This is NOT Song and...
Published on 1 Nov 2000 by maureendanvers@hotmail.com

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor Quality
Two of the tracks were distorted and wouldn't play. The other tracks weren't clear and sharp, it sounded like a badly made copy.

I eventually got a refund from Rarewaves but it took four weeks from the time I mailed it to them.
Published 12 months ago by MR J


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great musical, 1 Nov 2000
This review is from: Tell Me On A Sunday (Audio CD)
This is a beautiful musical and I guess the only reason it's not done more often is because it involves just one woman. Marti Webb's voice is perfect - you will be captivated after only a couple of listens. My particular favourites are Tell Me on A Sunday, Capped Teeth and Caesar Salad and the 3 versions of It's Not the End of the World. Beware. This is NOT Song and Dance so Unexpected Song is not featured! A great listen though nevertheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tell me on a Sunday, 9 May 2010
By 
M. Healey "Marymags" (Oldham, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tell Me On A Sunday (MP3 Download)
I had always loved this and had tried for ages to get a CD of it without success so was thrilled to find I could download it. Great music and lyrics, it tells the story of a young english woman's search for love in New York to great effect. Absolutely my favourite musical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Denise Van Who??, 1 Feb 2010
By 
L. Bell (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tell Me On A Sunday (MP3 Download)
FAB, FAB, FAB. The original and best version. This woman can sing. I have owned this on vinyl for years, but could not get it anywhere on CD once I got rid of my record deck. I bought the Densise Van Outen version and it is terrible; the lyrics have been re-written to suit an Essex girl, Van Outen can't sing in tune and can't hold a note. Only one thing for it - download. The best download I have ever got. I have played it over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marti Webb has the most fantastic voice, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tell Me On A Sunday (Audio CD)
A delightful album. I lost the LP many years ago in a house move. I have been trying to find a replacement ever since and now I have. It is just wonderful. Thank you Don Black and Sir Andrew. Just the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 4 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tell Me On A Sunday (MP3 Download)
This is still brilliant - Marti Webb has a fantastic voice, and she delivers beautifully. I have the Denise Van Outen version as well, and it would be unfair to rate the one against the other - they're chalk and cheese. Marti is a great singer and a reasonable actress; Denise is a very good actress with a decent singing voice. Both play to their strengths, and both versions are great fun - just different. Of the two, which I'd listen to would depend in the mood I'm in. But if you don't have this one, you're missing out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Under-rated gem, 14 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tell Me On A Sunday (MP3 Download)
I had forgotten just how good this Marti Webb/Don Black album is. I've never understood why this was never made into a full-blown musical. With witty and literate lyrics to terrific tunes, the score follows the rich and varied lovelife of a British girl working in the US in the 80s, who invariably picks the wrong man. The best known song, apart from the title, is 'Take That Look Off Your Face', but there are many others which deserve a wider audience. The funny and moving 'Letters Home' to her mother in the genteel North London suburb of Muswell Hill, 'Capped Teeth and Caesar Salad' - a coruscating comment on life in Beverly Hills - and the heart-tugging 'You Made Me Think You Were in Love' all come together to tell a timeless tale of love sought, found and lost. A absolute treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous Marti!, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tell Me On A Sunday (Audio CD)
It was great to be able to buy this CD at last at a reasonable price - such a marvellous album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tell Me on a Sunday, 19 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tell Me On A Sunday (Audio CD)
Been trying for ages to get this on disc as I have the record but is stashed away up the loft along with the record player. Arrived promptly and no complaints with the recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tell Me On A Sunday (MP3 Download)
Heard a track from this Album on the radio recently. I used to have this album on cassette! Just excellent to hear all the tracks again and even remembered all the words!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tell Me On A Sunday (Audio CD)
As described. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tell Me On A Sunday
Tell Me On A Sunday by Marti Webb (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews