Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars24
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 1 March 2006
For me this is one the greatest musical recordings I´ve had the pleasure to listen to, from the first note to the very last.
This brilliant Cuban singer showcases his stunning abilites in a tour de force of Cuban music. While this album boasts it´s fair share of upbeat moments, witness the pulsating,"cinefuegos tiene su Guaguanco," and the raw power of,"Marieta," it´s on the more subtle, romantic tracks that Ferrer really showcases his genius. "Silencio," is the trembling voice of a dejected, broken man walking along the bay dreaming of his lost love. His voice is so clear and pure but yet at the sametime it sounds so vulnerable. "Herido de sombras," is another demonstration of the shere beauty of this guy´s voice. A personal favourite of mine is "Nuestra ultima cita."
Those who like Cuban music will know how breathtakingly talented and versatile the island´s musicians are. Well on this album he´s accompanied by the very best, legends like González and Galbán. This voice is more than worthy of this incredible collection of musicians. Ry Cooder´s production is excellent, he shepherd´s the record brilliantly and it retains a very authentic feel.
You don´t need a grasp of Spanish to understand the beauty of this and like the rest of the Buena Vista records it trancends musical genres and is very accessible to every music lover.
Stunning.
11 comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2004
This album is full to the brim with ballads and dances to set any girl's heart a-fluttering. The stand-out track
is called Silencio and is a duet, the recording of which was featured on the film "Buena Vista Social Club".
If you liked the album from the film, then you'll love this CD - buy it now!
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2000
This is my first foray into Cuban music having been a long fan of Jazz and bossa nova.
His music is refreshing with a great smooth voice and beautiful style. It is a wonder that only recently has the world recognised his talents. His voice carries extremely well and he could probably do the whole gig without the band.
Due credit however must be given to the band. The saxophone solo in one of the songs (I forget which) is especially enticing.
The music provides a good balance of slow and fast pieces with both individual performances and duets.
The booklet in front of the CD case carries the lyrics and the transalation which is a nice touch for those of us who don't understand the langauge.
I'll be waiting for his next release......
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2006
From the first track 'Bruca Manigua' (which you will replay over and over) to the last. This album is simply Unbelievable. I only discovered Buena Vista with the free Movie cd with my Sunday Times a couple of weeks ago and Ibrahim Ferrer is just an undiscovered Legend in my books. Well, up till the last few years of his life. GET THIS!!!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2003
As a late-comer to the Cuban music scene I have missed out on several notable albums, however if you only buy one Cuban music CD then let it be this one.
It is, without a doubt, the perfect antidote to British seasons. In summer there is nothing better than sitting with a Cuba Libra in the garden, listening to the velvet tones of Ibrahim. In winter it will put a smile on your face and sun-shine in your heart.
Congratulations to Ry Cooder for resurrecting the adulation deserved of this unique voice, but do not forget all others whose talent makes this album a genuine "find".
Buy it, enjoy it, and forever more be a converted Ferrer-phile!
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 1999
This music is so rich and refreshing in its content. The roots of this music bring to mind that Nat King Cole did have contemporaries that never made it like he did, more because of the political system in Cuba, rather than lack of talent. This CD is better than the Buena Vista socail club (if that is at all possible!) It is smooth, and romantic, and his voice is to die for...
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2003
A solid and very pleasing perfomance from the senior statesman of cuban music. Some very relaxed and tuneful songs in the traditional cuban mood. If you're new to Cuban Music buy "Buenos Hermanos" first, as the production is much better and the songs are much more upbeat. However if you're expanding your Cuban collection this is a definite "must have".
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2011
This is truly a masterpiece. Not much to add to what everyone else who has heard this has said. Go out and treat yourself. Singers like this don't come around very often.

If you like this or the Manual 'Guajira' Mirabal CD and you would like to try something Cuban from the 1950's in a similar style then play the soundfiles to either of the Cheo Marquetti CD's available on Amazon. See what you think.Cheo Marquetti Y Su Conjunto or Legends of Cuban Music.

The MP3 versions of Cheo's CD's are more competitively priced.Región Matancera or Cheo Marquetti but many of the tracks appear on both CD's. Absolutely delightful music.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2016
Almost an hour (51 min 55 sec) of the beautiful voice of Ibrahim Ferrer on eleven tracks, this, for me, is a superb album. I don’t remember where I came across this album –possibly in a music shop playing it for the customers’ enjoyment, but on hearing it I bought a copy and enjoy it as much today as I did the better part of twenty years ago.

Having “misplaced” my copy and not having it in my collection for some time I’ve bought it again I can now enjoy these wonderful songs some more.

For me the best track is always Marieta. The eight note guitar intro inevitably has my attention for what follows. Ibrahim is joined in the lead vocals by Teresa García Caturla and they both deliver a fantastic song and story. (Spanish lyrics and an English translation are provided for each of the eleven songs.)

Track List:

01 Bruca Maniguá
02 Herido de Sombras
03 Marieta
04 Guateque Campesino
05 Mami Me Gustó
06 Nuestra Ultima Cita
07 Cienfuegos Tiene Su Guaguancó
08 Silencio
09 Aquellos Ojos Verdes
10 Qué Bueno Baila Usted
11 Como Fue

Superb
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2003
After a decades of virtually musical obscurity Ibrahim Ferrer burst into the global music scene with his superb vocal contribution to the legendary Buena Vista Social Club album.
Ibrahim's rich emotive voice has definately matured with age and when coupled with the superb production on this album you cant go wrong. There is some hot Son action here and plenty of horns! Its joyous music and a good representation of Cuban music despite its commercial appeal. For me this beats his latest album 'Buenos Hermanos' but both are essential for any beginner to Cuban music.
I never thought I would buy an album made by a 76 year old man, but this is no ordinary 76 year old!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£12.93

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)