Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There's nothing much like this
Roxy's self-titled first album, although containing some of their strongest songs, is too poorly produced in parts to be considered their classic. ''For Your Pleasure', the follow up, tends to claim this accolade but for me 'Stranded' is the epitome of Roxy Music.

Coming as it did, smack bang in the middle of their glorious early/mid period, it contains songs...
Published on 27 April 2007 by Jay

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Roxy's 'Stranded'
Brilliant - I'd forgotten how damned fine RM were (still are - although with amended line up). The transition from tape/vinyl however does not carry so well and the sound is sadly very harsh with far too much compression.
Published 13 months ago by P. B. A. Jefferies


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There's nothing much like this, 27 April 2007
By 
Jay (West Mids) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stranded (Audio CD)
Roxy's self-titled first album, although containing some of their strongest songs, is too poorly produced in parts to be considered their classic. ''For Your Pleasure', the follow up, tends to claim this accolade but for me 'Stranded' is the epitome of Roxy Music.

Coming as it did, smack bang in the middle of their glorious early/mid period, it contains songs that could easily belong on any of those records. Included is all the wierdness, exotica, brooding beauty and surprise that you would associate with the band across those first five albums. That's not to say the album is at all diffuse, various would best describe it, with every song sounding very 'Roxy-like' without ever really sounding like the last.

If 'Stranded' is Roxy Music's finest album, then, in 'Mother-of Pearl', it contains their finest song. From it's strange and original uptempo opening to it's delightfully sad/joyous main section this song just screams Roxy Music and never more so than in it's flowing, opaque lyric. I've never heard anything quite like this and that is part of Roxy's brilliance and appeal: they are not really Rock N' Roll at all but at the same time they aren't anything else.

Roxy, for me at least, are one of those few bands you may be lucky enough to hear in your life, whose music, for a time, obssesses you. There's something you love and admire about some bands without quite putting your finger on what it is. You feel really thankful that this band existed and whether you were there or not (In Roxy's case I'm only 32 and first listened to them in my early twenties) you can still feel excited by the fact that they happened; that they did what they did.

A truly underrated band and one of Britain's best kept musical secrets (everyone's heard of Roxy Music but who still plays this stuff?). Start here!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watershed, 2 Nov 2008
By 
Big Joe (Tyne and Wear, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stranded (Audio CD)
The third Roxy Music album and also a watershed. This album marks the beginning of the movement towards mainstream commercialism. That is not to say that this album is bad. Far from it. This album contains some of Ferry's best songwriting and his voice is stronger too. The band sound more mature along with the production that compliments these great songs. 'Street life' still sounds like an out-take from the previous album, 'For your pleasure', with its distorted intro and Manzenara's blistering guitar. For me though , 'mother of Pearl' is the highlight of the album and marks Ferry's maturity as a songwriter. Another little gem on this album is 'Sunset' - Ferry's slow homage to the sun - wonderfully sad and thought provoking.
With Eno gone and Eddie Jobson taking his place (and adding his violin) the band moved on with this album. Although the previous two albums are my favourite, this comes third on my list! Great stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let the Lounge Years commence - The Roxiest of them all!, 14 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Stranded (Audio CD)
If you thought that Roxy Music were all washed up when Eno swirled his cape and flounced out on the best 70s rock band, then feast your shell-like on this. Eddie Jobson came straight into the recording studio to join Ferry, Mackay, Manzenara and Thompson on this third and definitely the best Roxy outing, and you would be forgiven for thinking that Eno has come back with his tail between his legs after admitting 'Taking Tiger Mountain By Strategy' probably wasn't, in all honesty, a very good idea and got stuck in to his tape loops and moogs again.
Everyone knows about 'Street Life', a classic belter of an opener, following hot on the heels of For Your Pleasure's 'Do The Strand'. But its 'Casanova', with its cheeky little riff which served Ice-T well 20 years later, and 'Song For Europe', during which Ferry actually sings in Latin agaist a backdrop of swirling piano and a crashing saxaphone solo, which really make the hairs on the back of your neck prick up.
But the best is yet to come. 'Mother of Pearl' is the best Roxy song ever, and I should know as I have all 10 of their albums (and 8 Ferry solo efforts of ever decreasing virtue). The song kicks off like a wild party with a chugging riff of which Led Zep would indeed be proud. And then it breaks off sublimely after 80 seconds to a soft tinkling of ivory and 6 further minutes of pure Ferry magic. Lyrics and voice to kill for. A first class album and a must buy for all fans of popular music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mother of a Pearl, 27 Mar 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stranded (Audio CD)
This re-mastered CD is phenomenal and easily the best purchase I have ever made (I jest yeah not) and I am in possession of hundreds of CDs, across a broad spectrum of music. The copy I now possess is the 5th copy having worn out 3 LPs (remember those quaint 12" entities) and 2 CDs. Not mentioned in the other reviews of this CD (I apologise if I missed them) are the rhythm section - Johnny Gustafson on bass and the Great Paul Thompson on drums what a combination they are awesome throughout (even better live - those were the days). Eddie Jobson is also amazing and even though I love FYP, for me you can keep Eno and give me Eddie's incredible virtuoso performances any day. Great songs, song writing skills and lyrics and a powerhouse display by all musicians involved and the ending Sunset - is a joy to the ear. I cannot recommend this CD enough, a truly inspirational and extraordinary CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roxy Music, 70's Colussus, 3 Aug 2000
By 
This review is from: Stranded (Audio CD)
I have read innumerable amounts of drivel about this band. Were they better than x, y, or even z and so on. Over the years it had become boring. Forget Brian Eno - yes he is talented - but Roxy Music, as any other band, revolves around a charismatic front man, one B. Ferry esq. He still is. What cheese's me off as a fan is that the recognition for him, or the stalwarts of the band is not there. Anyway, I digress. If you want to listen to a band and nay, an album that sums up the 70's, what Roxy meant and the period in general you will not find a better album in ANY format. Listen to "Serenade" for rock, to a "Song for Europe" if you are a "pseud", to "Mother of Pearl" if you like "Prog". Please excuse the """""" but they need to be there. BUT if you do buy this album listen to "Psalm", a better song you will not hear. Forget the excesses by me regarding quotation. This is simply one of the best albums by any band ever who are long overdue recognition. BUY IT ! In fact buy an pre 1979 Roxy album and you will be enthralled by music you may yet still not have heard. Post " Manifesto" is OK but it is so "80/90's" - but still better than most of todays drivel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sunset?, 3 July 2013
This review is from: Stranded (Audio CD)
When Eno and Roxy parted company it was obvious when Eddie Jobson joined that the next album was going to see a marked change, and so it came to pass. The sleeve is also considered to be a good indicator as well - the 1st two had class whilst this one looks as if it should be on the front of a lad's mag? Enough of the gloom as there are 3 very good songs lurking - Streetlife, Amazona and Mother Of Pearl. These three deserve the 4 stars on their own, and as for the rest of it I reckon I would be pushed to give 3. Sorry fans but I've never really got my head around A Song For Europe either, whether it be clever or otherwise. The best way to deal with this album is to use it when making your own Roxy compilation and ensure these 3 are on it and forget the others. Sunset as is the title of my review just about sums the whole affair up?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Roxy's 'Stranded', 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stranded (Audio CD)
Brilliant - I'd forgotten how damned fine RM were (still are - although with amended line up). The transition from tape/vinyl however does not carry so well and the sound is sadly very harsh with far too much compression.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Under the radar, 31 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stranded (Audio CD)
For those of you who know Roxy Music from 1979 onwards this album and its predecessors will have passed you by, as they could have been made by a completely different band, such is the difference in style. To not listen to them because of this would be a tragedy and in particular this album, which is quite simply one of their finest works. Having been original Glam rockers they rose above the more commercial sound and created there very own tangent. This album is the definitive fusion between the bands original art rock weirdness and an unstoppable tidal wave of creativeness, which makes it near impossible to pigeon hole this band into a music genre. Opening with Street Life,, Ferry's complaint about the pop star lifestyle, through to the hippyesque overtones of Amazona, passing through Psalm which wouldn't sound out of place at a New Orleans funeral, to the moody Piaf european inspired whimsy of A song for Europe, this album contains a lot of diverse musical sounds and styles. Mother of Pearl is simply a masterpiece of how to blend many different styles of music, instruments and lyrics. On first listen it will probably sound no more than average and even annoying in places, but give it time, listen to it without distraction, and you will hear a whole new world open. A unique band, an influential band, pushing the boundaries of what was conventional back in the seventies, and still relevant today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN OUT AND OUT MASTERPIECE, 22 Mar 2012
This review is from: Stranded (Audio CD)
Following the utter brilliance of their first two albums, comes their masterpiece. A totally captivating musical experience.It seems wrong to single out any individual song because this is a fautless album with each brilliant song creating a different mood adding up to a compelling listening experience ...as soon as the last song finishes you want to play the whole album again. However, SONG FOR EUROPE and MOTHER OF PEARL are the essence of Roxy Music...brilliant lyrics, wonderful melodies, caressing vocals and the great musicianship with that unique vibe that is typical of early Roxy Music. If I could only have,say,ten albums by anyone this would be one of them. Ferry is at the absolute top of his game here - an artist totally immersed in the moment and creating a thrilling musical experience. Roxy Music and Ferry went on to create more great music but this album would never be eclipsed. ESSENTIAL LISTENING.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best rock album ever, 20 April 2011
This review is from: Stranded (Audio CD)
I have a clear memory of buying this album on its release and it has been a best friend ever since. I have been listening to rock music for 40 years now, and this is THE ALBUM. This is the one I could not imagine not having. Not a desert island disc, but the island itself. Each of the songs is beautifully crafted, wonderfully tuneful and ravishingly melodic. The suite of songs is for me perfection. Fascinating. And I am sure it will continue to be so. Please play this album at my funeral.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stranded
Stranded by Roxy Music (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews