Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a debut
This debut album is a good as any, and laid down the foundations of art rock, with searing electric guitar, vibrato voiced clever lyrics, oboes and saxophones, and electronic noises and treatments not heard before , all mixed together, creating one of the most original sounds of popular music. This is Roxy Music at its raw, unpolished best, a complete juxtaposition to the...
Published on 31 May 2012 by Mr. Andrew Hodgkins

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a disappointment
I was really looking forward to this 180g reissue but ended up being sorely disappointed. There is intrusive surface noise throughout the record and the recording itself sounds like it was remastered from CD, negating the point of a vinyl release. Roxy Music deserve better than this. Although the record sounds rubbish the packaging is superb with a lavish gatefold sleeve...
Published on 28 Feb 2012 by Dubhousing


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning debut album!, 2 April 2010
By 
Big Joe (Tyne and Wear, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Roxy Music (Audio CD)
I had actually only discovered Roxy Music in 1973 after listening to 'For Your Pleasure', their second album and i listened to 'Roxy Music' somewhat retrospectively. 'Roxy Music' contains some absolute gems - 'Ladytron' and 'If there is something' being the stand out tracks for me. It has almost rough around the edges feel to it compared with their later offerings but that's where its appeal lie for me. This album really does sound a debut album and you kind of get the feeling that the band are still finding their way regarding the sound they want to achieve.
Notably on this album, Paul Thompson's drumming is to the fore on almost every track and Eno's synthesizer gives the tracks that distinct 70's pop sound, even on tracks that could have been written 30 years earlier, such as 2HB and Chance Meeting. I play this album more and more because it never fails to remind of me how good this band were. The later version included 'Virginia Plain' which was not originally on this album so there's a bonus too!
Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Post-war popular culture in a box, 23 Jan 2006
This review is from: Roxy Music (Audio CD)
I know it's like preaching to the converted, but this was, is and always will be it. The production is weedy and there's some meandering towards the end where they forget that it's a pop album (The Bob). But still, the opening 5 or 6 songs here are what other bands would give their right eye for (except the guy from Dr Hook). Each one immaculate in it's own right, but taken together they pack a punch greater than is allowed under the Geneva Convention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 30 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Roxy Music (Audio CD)
This album is still leagues ahead of most other albums ever made. The avant-garde style is an inspiration. This highly influential album is amazing considering it was recorded in just a couple of weeks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good old roxy, 13 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roxy Music (Audio CD)
Once again heard this on vinyl all those moons ago when bikes were in and cars unthought of by the youth of the 70s.We'd play this on some so called hi fi in the early hours and relish every bar-no pun intended! The combination of haunting lyrics sung by the old crooner and wonderful sax together with Eno on the synth , make this a classic. The only track Idon't like is Virginia Plain.Too commercial for me , which is probably why ididn't take to the later stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roxy music first album, 24 Nov 2010
This review is from: Roxy Music (MP3 Download)
I had this album in my youth and it became lost or misplaced, I tried to find it in various shops but no luck until I realised it had been re-issued. It is by far the best album they ever produced and I cant think of a single duff track on it. There are a lot of people who have only heard their later albums, if you fancy a treat buy yourself a copy of this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roxy Music's Last Great Album, 13 July 2012
By 
Ca Marsh "schragemusik" (Pontypool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Roxy Music (Audio CD)
There'll be howls of outrage, I'm sure. Some will berate me for dismissing later 'masterpieces' but, for this, I care not a jot. This album was so jam-packed with promise that it's surprising that the lid didn't pop off.

This was 1950's science fiction laced with 21st century nostalgia. It was rock mixed with roll and even allowed a (mercifully brief) burst of near-country. For me (at the time of release) the intro to 'Ladytron' was as close to sonic perfection as it was possible to come (and started a long-lasting love of Mr Eno's music). This was new, exciting and interesting.

Roxy didn't simply die after this album. The follow-up ("For Your Pleasure") had its moments - quite a few of them actually. It was a very nearly great album. But it was far more slick and far less interesting. After that came a steady decline into good, solid mediocrity followed by a more rapid decline into utter dullness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars all head life is here, 4 Dec 2004
This review is from: Roxy Music (Audio CD)
We often read well-intentioned efforts to describe the indescribable using mere words - I say don't even try. So here we go with another pathetic and inadequate attempt to say just how good roxy 1 is.
Suffice it to say that most opinions are down to personal taste and as such are rife with subjective evaluations such as "yeah,
rilly brilliant, man" or "love that riff/vocal/arrangement/etc etc" which in themselves are fairly pertinent and valid observations. But some things are transcendental (see dictionary for interesting and illuminating definition) and this is one of them. The whole is greater than the sum of the parts. This music is roxy music. This music you live, not play.
This music will take you away and maybe you'll never come back, but you won't care. Every home should have one, even every dream home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Early Roxy, 28 May 2013
By 
N. LEWIS "Nat" (Hants UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roxy Music (Audio CD)
I found much of the content interesting but not compelling.Some experimental tracks I guess, but well worth a listen to. Great cover !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Can't you see that Holzer mane?", 3 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Roxy Music (Audio CD)
This record includes a very diverse mix of musical styles. Bryan Ferry is clearly a very unique talent and worked hard with Bryan Eno to create a delightful soundscape.

Some records are of such quality that they are out of their time. That said, an appreciation of word play and unusual genres is a requirement for some of the material.

This is the only Roxy Music album I have ever felt compelled to buy. It is a great guitar record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 86 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm....I don't get it, 29 Sep 2006
By 
This review is from: Roxy Music (Audio CD)
Roxy Music are a band with a large fan base, huge success (Including live aid/8 performances) and a 2 members who went on to have decent solo career. However, from their self-titled first release `Roxy Music' I often find myself trying to work out where this success came from. So, where do the problems lie? Well, personally, I just can't stand Brain Ferry's voice, in absence of a more elegant term; it `does my nut'. Throughout the album, his range seems to exist within only 3 semi-tones, and frequently seems flat.

The album does have two highlights, Re-make/Re-Model and the classic Virginia Plain. Re-Make/Re-Model is a song that is so easy to get into, with the structured jamming at the end, with Sax, Guitar, Bass, Synth and Drum solo's, being nothing short of genius. However, this is pretty much where excellence ends for the album, not a good sign considering it's the first track. Virginia Plane is catchy, but not much more.

One thing that is really clear throughout the album is just how much Brain Eno was by far the best member of the band at the time, his guitar work being the reason to listen to album, something which clearly annoyed Ferry, as Eno was asked to leave just 2 years later for `Overshadowing' him.

Maybe its just because I wasn't about at the time of release, but during the album, I frequently think, what were they trying to achieve? Some of this album is dire, Bitters End being a meaningless heap of digested horse meat, and as for the Bob, frankly Mr. Ferry, I want the 6 minutes I spent listening to that song back. Its just an endless trail of pointless crescendos, a weird middle section which is just samples of explosions, and then a guitar solo which doesn't make sense with the rest of the track. What were they thinking?

Overall, I would suggest you download Re-Make/Re-Model, and nothing more, unless you would actually like to listen to what sounds worse then the out of key ramblings of a very drunk homeless man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Roxy Music
Roxy Music by Roxy Music (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews