Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a debut
This debut album is a good as any, and laid down the foundations of art rock, with searing electric guitar, vibrato voiced clever lyrics, oboes and saxophones, and electronic noises and treatments not heard before , all mixed together, creating one of the most original sounds of popular music. This is Roxy Music at its raw, unpolished best, a complete juxtaposition to the...
Published on 31 May 2012 by Mr. Andrew Hodgkins

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a disappointment
I was really looking forward to this 180g reissue but ended up being sorely disappointed. There is intrusive surface noise throughout the record and the recording itself sounds like it was remastered from CD, negating the point of a vinyl release. Roxy Music deserve better than this. Although the record sounds rubbish the packaging is superb with a lavish gatefold sleeve...
Published on 28 Feb 2012 by Dubhousing


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A startling debut album of genius, 23 Dec 2013
This review is from: Roxy Music (Audio CD)
I first heard this on vinyl in September 1972 when I was sixteen and must have played this album hundreds of times. I firmly believe this is the greatest debut album in rock history.

The key to understanding Roxy Music's early albums is that everything is based on irony and pastiche, using different genres such as 1930s barber-shop, 1940s jazz, 1950s rock-and-roll, 1960s experimental music along with a futuristic sci-fi undercurrent coming from Brian Eno, who was arguably the most important innovator in electronic sound technology. It really is like a Richard Hamilton painting in which a collage of throwaway images are used to create a multi-layered cultural statement (see Hamilton's 'Just what is is about today's homes that make them do different, so appealing?')

The sheer nerve and effrontery of Roxy Music were evident in the personnel: Bryan Ferry singing like a 1930s crooner, the classically trained Andy Mackay on saxophone and oboe, Phil Manzanera delivering progressive rock guitar, Brain Eno on the synthesiser while Paul Thompson plays dirty hard rock on drums. You would think the mix would never work but it just does. Combined with the Hollywood/sci-fi costumes it would grate on the nerves of people like 'Whispering Bob' Harris on the Old Grey Whistle Test, who famously declared that Roxy Music were 'destroying' rock music (by which he meant earnest, boring, hippies playing rhythm-and-blues).

This album has everything from the playful (Remake/Remodel, Virginia Plain), the soulful (If there is something), the nostalgic (2HB, Chance Meeting), the eery fugue of Ladytron, the cerebral (Bitters End), and the out-and-out saxophone and guitar-driven dance riffs delivered by Andy Mackay and Phil Manzanera on The Bob and Would you believe?. And throughout it all is Ferry's extraordinary voice: by turns falsetto, tortured, screeching, heart-broken or just ironic. There is an impossible melancholy embedded in this album, in which childhood memories, love, machinery, sex, romance, fashion, films, pictures and rock and roll itself are treated as transient, ephemeral, doomed expressions of desire and a culture of decadence. Themes that were intensified on the second album 'For your pleasure'.

My favourite on this album is 'If there is something'. In my opinion the best rock song ever written as it contains in one song all the elements I described in the previous paragraph.

One word of advice. If new to Roxy Music play this album a few times before making a judgment. In some ways this album is like a 'Magic Eye' picture which you have to stare at several times before you 'get it'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the best, 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roxy Music [VINYL] (Vinyl)
i had this vinyl a long time ago, losted it, pearhaps stollen.
But I think it's the best glamrock record ever composed so the cover is a very artistic photo, inside too.
Excuse my poor english but i am french.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I tried but I could not find a way........., 2 July 2013
This review is from: Roxy Music (Audio CD)
As the opening line of Re-Make/Re-Model states (see title of review) how do you find a way to classify this stunning debut release from what is arguably the most influential band of all time. I've no itention of repeating the worn out cliches or superlatives as it got boring years ago and just proves what an important enigma Roxy Music were/are! Even allowing for the slightly dubious 'The Bob (Medley)' 5 stars is simply not sufficient. And if the original release was not enough the CD has the immortal 'Virigia Plain' on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Roxy Music - Roxy Music (the CD), 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roxy Music (Audio CD)
Sadly poor quality sound marred this otherwise great Roxy-musical experience. The music remains superb however, with some great old classics - Re-master it please :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not what you think it is !, 20 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roxy Music (Audio CD)
Forget what you think of Roxy Music because this is them in their first and radically different incarnation -not schmoozing tedium here, but bona fide early 70's glam rock, REALLY!! Try it, you'll like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Thrill of it All, 26 Mar 2005
By 
Tealady2000 (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Roxy Music (Audio CD)
Many people only know Roxy Music's later, mellower work, but their early stuff is totally original and really rocks. This is their debut album and has a great mixture of tracks that set Bryan Ferry's wide-ranging vocals to an extraordinary mix of sounds.
It's almost worth buying this CD for the inlay card alone. Animal prints were clearly compulsory in 1972, Ferry's hair is unbelievable, and Eno looks exactly like Hugo Weaving in Lord of the Rings (Ok his ears aren't quite as pointy but honestly it's uncanny).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous glamrock music..., 14 May 2008
By 
S. Haselden "Haselsh1" (Lincolnshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Roxy Music (Audio CD)
It has been said that this is the very best recorded piece of music ever. I can't agree with that unfortunately. I say unfortunately because back in '72 I was a massive Roxy Music fan. This album outlined what it was to be thirteen years old. It was the introduction of the synthesiser and Eno with the VCS3. It was brand new and radical. It was extreme and it was art. This had never been done before. Oh how I pity the kids of today.

Take a listen to Ladytron. This for me, the stand out track of the whole piece. Sit and listen and then watch the film Velvet Goldmine. I dare you to relive glamrock without the lipstick and the eyemakeup. This is art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VINYL review only concerning packaging., 23 July 2013
By 
Mr Paul Savory (Wrexham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roxy Music [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Although I own a nice turntable my hearing lets me down so I just play the cd. I bought the LP July 2013 from Amazon. The following info is a fault of Capitol Records/Virgin and has NO bearing on Amazon who are a present investigating how THE POSTER is missing from a sealed, shrink wrapped LP cover on which a sticky label stated the following:

From The CAPITOL VAULTS; 180 gram vinyl, Audiophile Quality, Faithfully Restored, Poster Included, Limited Edition" (bar code no. 5099924303316). Amazon opened another on site checking for a poster in another unit, sent me that checked unit still no poster (so much for checking?!!)

SO DO NOT EXPECT A POSTER IN YOUR PACKAGE. BEST CHECK WITH AMAZON FIRST.

THE COVER IS STUNNING; THE INNER GATEFOLD IS STUNNING; the inner sleeves (there are 2?) 1) plain white, 2) plain pale blue.

Hope this info is helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original,Dynamic,Melodic,Stylish+Fun-Even if no Pajamarama, 10 Oct 2010
By 
Ken Raus "David O'Brien" (Lugdunum) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Roxy Music (Audio CD)
A classic of glam rock that even points obtusely to the New York Dolls as well as from so many other digested sources much as if Roxy music were a musical bottleneck where originality resulted from absorbing wide influences and which originality inspired many others to emulate and evolve musically themselves from Roxy Musics influence...A fantastic debut that only lacks the killer song Pyjamarama as an extra...Ferrys debonaire persona is offset by the eccentric and multi-intrumentalist genius of the other players and Thomson was a great drummer-Roxy went through some great bassists,Too and everyone has their fave songs...The musical variety is another aspect of Roxy Musics genius and originality...The moods vary from energetic to elegiac,From raw growly to sad croony vocals and yet the overall quality,From Poppy,To rocky,to progressive strains never drops and was maintained by the band to just include SIREN after which things went a bit middle of the roady...The first of three or five classic albums and thus the first for newbies to try,Which is easy with Amazons audio gadget-Five stars is not enough for this classic album,Classy right down or up to,the old gatefold sleeve for those who have or want that-Fabulous and lyrically articulate and intriguing for the literate and curious-Virginia Plain seems to be the only extra here and a great classic single that was,Too.For Your PleasureStrandedCountry LifeSirenViva! Roxy Music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars roxy music, 20 Sep 2010
By 
This review is from: Roxy Music (Audio CD)
love the album which I have on vinyl but wanted on CD. Great tracks from a very talented band
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Roxy Music
Roxy Music by Roxy Music (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews