Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Second Effort Gets an 'A' Plus...
It is very difficult, the best part of forty years since they made their recording debut, to thoroughly appreciate what a dazzling and innovative band the early Roxy Music were. 'For Your Pleasure' came out within a year of the release of their self-titled debut, and represented the first full-length recording that the band made with producer Chris Thomas, who became the...
Published on 5 Jan 2010 by Og Oggilby

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Cover is better than the contents!
There is only 1 track recognisable and worth listening to; the other 7 (yes there are only 8 tracks) are self-indulgent and appear to be from a "jamming" session in the studio - wondering what they wanted to record.
That is only my opinion, the other 2 buyers probably liked it !!!
Published 4 months ago by niall corr


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Second Effort Gets an 'A' Plus..., 5 Jan 2010
By 
Og Oggilby "Og Oggilby" (North London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For Your Pleasure (Audio CD)
It is very difficult, the best part of forty years since they made their recording debut, to thoroughly appreciate what a dazzling and innovative band the early Roxy Music were. 'For Your Pleasure' came out within a year of the release of their self-titled debut, and represented the first full-length recording that the band made with producer Chris Thomas, who became the bands producer of choice up until their first 'split' in '76. 'For Your Pleasure' was divided into two sections - the old first side featured shorter, more succinct songs, whilst the old side two comprised two lengthy excursions - 'The Bogus Man' and the title track, separated by 'Grey Lagoons', which wasn't much of a song, but did allow the individual band members to shine with some extended soloing. Whereas the debut featured magnificent songs, occasionally marred by a somewhat undefined production, 'For Your Pleasure' sharpens everything up, and Bryan Ferry responds with bravura vocal performances and some striking, utterly original songs. 'In Every Dream Home A Heartache', the alternately nightmarish and darkly funny tale of a loveless futuristic existence of remote luxury is a standout, however, songs such as 'Do The Strand' and 'Editions of You' rock in a stylish and witty way. After their reformation album, 'Manifesto' (1979), Ferry's lyrical fixations seemed to retreat into an elegantly tailored romantic melancholy, a good way to grow old gracefully, admittedly, but never as thrilling as the early Roxy. This is a magnificent album that has not dated one iota, and should be snapped up immediately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic high point for the UK's arty glam rockers, 17 Sep 2009
By 
Adriano (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: For Your Pleasure (Audio CD)
How nice to see one of my all-time favourite albums receive only 5-star reviews here. And here's mine...

And after all, this is one of THE albums of the 1970s along with Ziggy Stardust. FYP sat beside Dark Side Of The Moon on many a prog rocker's record shelf.
And it really is of that ilk.

Though comparisons are subjective, this is one that really does need to be recognised up there among the classics of all time.
Not just that particular decade.

With the hindsight of their subsequent careers, it may be hard for some to visualise Ferry and Eno working together.
Yet, similar to the Velvet Underground's Cale and Reed with White Light/White Heat a few years before, they created an absolute masterpiece before going their separate ways. Art meets rock, or rock meets art?

I cannot add much to the other great (and pleasing) reviews regarding this album except to say that Strictly Confidential needs a mention. Ferry was such a magnificent songwriter.

I often wonder if Eno's presence stretched him to reach such heights? Maybe. I feel their following works were good, but never this great.

Finally, am I the only one baffled by the fact that this era's single Pjamarama was not slotted into For Your Pleasure the way Virginia Plain was sneaked into the first albums reissues? I can't think of a stronger opener for such a classic piece of art.

A shame most of the world remembers Roxy for Avalon or Love Is The Drug. When this, 'the difficult second album' was their finest hour.

By many a mile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still a gem, 17 Jun 2002
By 
Dobester (Istanbul, Turkey) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For Your Pleasure (Audio CD)
This album has lost none of its charm, impact or class in the last 25 odd years. It is still morbid, sleazy, rocky, weird bad-dancing music of the highest order, and people my age (i.e., they're more comfortable in pubs than clubs, and own yellow M&S jumpers rather than red S&M bodysuits) should listen to this again and remember when they were alive, and "Do the Strand" might persuade them that they're not dead yet.
Quite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roxy Music,s Best Album ?, 5 April 2009
By 
Andrew C. Mcbride (Liverpool UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: For Your Pleasure (Audio CD)
This was the second Roxy album and the last they ade with Brian Eno as a member of the band. The writing and the recording of this album is much confident and in many ways experimental than the first album.
Bryan Ferry gives some of his best ever vocal perfomances and they had settled inot being a real band with strong contributions from Phil Manzenara and Andy Mackay.
However this album also contains Roxy Music's masterpiece the track that was there zenith . To Every Dream Home a Heartache is a truly wonderful blend of great lyric and story , perfect volcal delivery and a musical arrangment that is both familiar and unsettling at the same time. I feel they never ever scaled these heights again as effectively after this one of the major conributors was no longer there and Roxy proceeded in another direcion.
When you consider the age of this album it still sounds shockingly fresh and different and there are elements of experimentation that man artists today even well established ones would nevver attempt. Still one of my favourite albums after all these years and something any student of music should at least give a listen to it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Work of Art, 28 Oct 2007
This review is from: For Your Pleasure (Audio CD)
Every once in a while an album comes along so wonderfully unique and bizarre, that it becomes an instant classic - this is one of them.

I came across this amazing record more than a decade after its original release, partly due to my age and also the fact that at the time Roxy Music had deteriorated into a mainstream band putting out slick sounding but largely irrelevant music.

When first listening to "For Your Pleasure" I was blown away and until this very day it hasn't lost any of its original fascination for me - it's rich and psychedelic. I often wondered, what might have become of them, had Brian Eno not left the band.

Anyway, if you're going to buy only one Roxy Music album, you should seriously consider this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hear, hear, 16 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: For Your Pleasure (Audio CD)
I bought this when it was released and I was at secondary school. Beauty Queen still gives me goose bumps and I cannot resist singing along to Editions of You & Grey Lagoons, as much as my children beseach me not to. You can keep Oh Yeah & Dance Away, give me 70's Roxy every time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For My Pleasure, 1 Mar 2012
This review is from: For Your Pleasure (Audio CD)
Want to listen to the glamorous side of the 70s without feeling silly? Try some Roxy Music! Bryan Ferry and Brian Eno manage to create simply ethereal compositions, with really amazing production to boot.

The songs themselves are hard to describe. It's the very sound of opulence, decadence and fame. Ferry's voice cuts through that sound with a campy, yet heart-felt vocal performance, and the instrumental parts swirl together to form brilliant songs like "Do The Strand", "Editions of You" or "Grey Lagoons".

It's hard not to love this album. It's frighteningly honest, despite the apparent fake-ness of the whole thing. Heck, even the lady on the cover is a man, but that doesn't mean she can't be genuine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Roxy, 22 Feb 2012
By 
Keith M - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: For Your Pleasure (Audio CD)
Roxy Music's 1973 album For Your Pleasure represents, for me, the peak of their recording career. The album perfectly mixes the more avant-garde, electronic (i.e. Eno-inspired) sound of their debut album with the more commercial (mainstream?) pop sound of the Stranded album (the successor to For Your Pleasure). To be honest, following Stranded, which was itself another great album, I began to lose interest in the band, and, except for one or two great songs e.g. Love Is The Drug, their subsequent transition into a soul/funk-inspired sound, followed by dire, bland MOR (songs such as Dance Away and More Than This) was too much to take (I blame it on the influence of Jerry Hall!).

For Your Pleasure is a brilliant mix of the band at their creative best. From the quirky pop sound of opener Do The Strand through to the brooding menace of the title track which closes the album there is very little padding on this album. Ferry's vocals have never been better (or more original) as he croons away on mid-tempo Beauty Queen and sings falsetto on the moody, crescendo-building Strictly Confidential. But the band really reach their peak on the up-tempo Editions Of You (featuring a tremendous keyboard break from Eno at the start and great sax riff from Andy Mackay, midway through) and on, arguably Roxy's greatest ever song, In Every Dream Home A Heartache. This latter songs reminds me (structurally, at least) of the Bowie classic Rock n'Roll Suicide in the way it builds to its devastating climax, featuring Phil Manzanera's magnificent guitar riff. Along with these two great songs, the other album standout for me is the beautiful Grey Lagoons, which features another magical vocal from Ferry, and top soloing from messrs. Mackay and Manzanera, as well as an impressive harmonica solo from Ferry. The only negative comment I would make on the album is that the jazz-influenced, albeit very original, song The Bogus Man, slightly outstays its welcome (despite Eno and Andy Mackay's attempts to maintain interest with their various instrumental blips and squeaks which pepper the song).

It was actually something of a shame that Roxy couldn't find a place on the album for the magnificent Pyjamarama, which was released as a single at the time of For Your Pleasure's release.

Overall, a brilliant creative achievement from one of the most inspired British bands of the 1970s, and one who provided major influences on many musical acts that followed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The pleasure principle, 19 July 2008
By 
russell clarke "stipesdoppleganger" (halifax, west yorks) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: For Your Pleasure (Audio CD)
In the midst of reading the Eno biography "On Some Faraway Beach" -about page 120 if you are pedantic - i came to the section where the narrative deals with Roxy Music,s 1973 album For Your Pleasure. Described as a "gruelling and disquieting experience|" by Charles Shaar Murray on its release ( that was a compliment) Roxy,s second album is easily the best of their career melding Bryan Ferry,s art rock styling's with Brian Eno,s sonic sculptures and dissonant tweaks.
The Roxy line up at that time had the classic elements of Ferry , Andrew Mackay and Phil Manzanera along with the soon to depart Eno , bassist John Porter-who would soon depart also, Roxy going through bassist ,s like Spinal Tap through drummers and Paul Thompson on drums. The band were able to revel in the extra studio time they could spend on this album, certainly compared to the rush in which they recorded their first, .and were aided greatly by producer Chris Thomas who knew his way round a studio.
Opening track on the album "Do The Strand" is an urgent vociferous song in the vein of "Virginia Plain" but was curiously never released as a single in the UK, even though it saw the light of day in Europe and the U.S. ( It was eventually released as a single in 1978 to promote their best of album) The song features Mackay,s trademark squealing sax and rapid fire piano notes. The other more up-tempo track-"Editions of You" showcases attention grabbing interludes by Mackay, Eno and Manzanera.
It,s actually on the more sedate tracks that the true soniferous delights of this album emerge to tittilate the ears."In Every Dream Home A Heartache" - Ferry,s creepy ode to a blow up doll- fades out , then back in again with peculiar phasing effects on all the instruments, like the songs beamed back in from another dimension. "Bogus Man" is acknowledged by Eno as having similarities to material by Can and it does furrow a Kraut -rock like groove although in a more sibilant manner. "Grey Lagoons" and the title track are sinister ballads , so much so that they have you looking over your shoulder for something that exists only in the imagination the music has given you.
Eno left soon after the making of this album and Roxy Music were never the same band after his departure ( some will feel they improved while others like myself will deduce otherwise) Eno went on to even greater things but while he was in Roxy Music , even though the urbane Ferry wrote the material his contribution was vital to their sleazy galmour. Never better illustrated than on "For Your Pleasure".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In Every Dream Home This Album, 26 Aug 2010
By 
Armchair Pundit "Armchair Pundit." (Durham City, England.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: For Your Pleasure (Audio CD)
I'd been saving my pocket money a long time when I finally purchased this, and even now it's gets a regular play. It's hard to comprehend it now but the sheer originality of the Roxy sound was something so new, it's what every generation wants. I can still remember The Old Grey Whistle Test's "Whispering" Bob Harris calling them a "cold" band in regards audience interaction when they appeared on "Whistle Test", and he was right in a way, but that was their style.
We didn't want to listen to music our older relatives played.
Some people thought them too avant-garde and musically a bit weird but to my ears they were what I wanted to hear, and still do as a matter of fact.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

For Your Pleasure
For Your Pleasure by Roxy Music (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews