Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Challenges the Roxy style without sacrificing the talent
Remembered by many for its rather lurid front cover, Country Life is even more revealing to listen to than it is to look at. Thrill of it all launches the listener into an album that makes far more ground than its predecessor Stranded. Ferry proves he can survive without the whirrings and synth of the enigmatic Eno. The great single All I want is you is here in all its...
Published on 5 Oct 2000

versus
8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Buyer beware.
Music 8/10. As far as buying vinyl goes, you would be much better off looking for a s/h pink rim U.K. original issue than this remastered/compressed monstrosity.
The choice is yours.
Published on 23 Oct 2010 by chevvies


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Challenges the Roxy style without sacrificing the talent, 5 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Country Life (Audio CD)
Remembered by many for its rather lurid front cover, Country Life is even more revealing to listen to than it is to look at. Thrill of it all launches the listener into an album that makes far more ground than its predecessor Stranded. Ferry proves he can survive without the whirrings and synth of the enigmatic Eno. The great single All I want is you is here in all its glory and although far less experimentation went into this album, tracks like If it takes all night and Casanova show the Ferry genius at work and as if it were the lull before the storm Really good time chills the listener out before the powerful Prairie rose finishes the work. Like the models on the cover, caught in the act, this album freezes the Roxy experience, at a crucial turning point in their music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More famous for the cover but don't be fooled......, 10 Feb 2012
By 
Big Joe (Tyne and Wear, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Country Life (Audio CD)
...This is a very good album. Roxy's fourth album but still retains some of the freshnesh of the earlier albums. It is very much a violin and guitar dominated album with Manzenara really putting his marker down on many of the songs. Also, Ferry's lyrics appear to be becoming more mainstream but there some quirky little tracks such as 'Bitter Sweet' and 'Three and Nine'. However the outsatnding tracks jump out at you once you play this album - The Thrill of it all, All i want is you and Out of the Blue are all fast guitar and violin infused tracks. A great album and, a famous cover......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovin' the Roxy, 19 Feb 2008
By 
Mr. Derek Pike "Pikeymon" (Southampton UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Country Life (Audio CD)
I can't believe I have only just heard this album. Obviously I have been aware of it for what seems like ever due to its infamous cover, but this is the first time I've actually listened to the album and what a treat it is.
I've always liked Roxy Music, particularly the Eno era albums, but I've recently delved deeper thanks to Michael Bracewell's excellent Remake/Remodel book and the equally entertaining Both Ends Burning by Jonathan Rigby, (Both highly recommended if you want to swat up on the influences behind the first album and the a potted history of the band's whole career).
This, their fourth album shows signs of the more polished Roxy emerging which would alienate much of their early fanbase in the band's twilight years. But don't let that put you off, this is a great album that shows the range of styles that Roxy Music were capable of at this point and the world they created around their music.
The opening track, The thrill of it all, is one of the best album openers I can recall, and certainly as thrilling as it's title suggests. Bryan Ferry's confident vocals are an invitation to forget Roxy's previous artier outings and party basically.
Three and Nine is a typically English Roxy oddity which finds Ferry musing over the old days of cinema and possibly even foretelling the advent of the multi-plex. His passion for the old time movie stars has always been obvious and this is an opportunity for him to wallow in this for a few minutes. I don't like the arrangement of this at all, but the lyrics are undeniably charming. All I want is you, is Roxy at their very best, and this was a perfect choice for a single release. I've played this so many times in the last couple of weeks, it really is that infectious. Out of the blue is typical Roxy from this era, I love the intro to this and the rest of the song is pretty good too. If it takes all night is the only real low point for me, coming across like stodgy MOR pub-rock, clashing fairly clumsily with the rest of the album.
Bitter Sweet should sound horribly dated with its oompah faux German stomping, but it is still a treat. This is Ferry at his oddest vocally since the darker moments of For Your Pleasure, and the track is all the better for it. Manzanera, Thompson and Mackay come into their own at the latter end of the album particularly, and this is where the fun begins.
Triptych is the curate's egg of the album with its medieval arrangement, recalling for me at least the music from Peter Davison era Doctor Who. The album wouldn't be the same without it though.
I'm undecided about Casanova, as much as I like it it somehow never really takes off and Really Good Time comes all too soon. Returning to the celebratory mode of the opening track, whilst not quite letting his hair down to the same extent, Ferry offers an end of the party lyric, interspersed with what sound like excerpts from a martial arts movie. A great track that signals the end of the album in a highly appropriate tone.
Roxy pull out the stops for the final track, Prairie Rose. A rollercoaster song in which Ferry's wailings and yearnings for a Texan Beauty (Jerry Hall?) who is "tantalising" him, gives way to a showcase of all the band's talents. I first heard this as the B side of Big Country's East of Eden in 1984 and loved it then. The track serves its purpose by urging you to put the album back to the start and listen all over again, which is exactly what I've just done whilst writing this.
I'm loving The Roxy this year - join me!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learn To Love It...I Did!, 13 Jan 2010
By 
Og Oggilby "Og Oggilby" (North London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Country Life (Audio CD)
When 'Country Life' was first released back in 1974, like several of the reviewers here, I was disappointed. In an incredibly fertile couple of years, the band had released three magnificent albums - their self-titled first, 'For Your Pleasure', and 'Stranded', emerging seemingly from nowhere to being one of Britain's most innovative, stylish and important bands, yet 'Country Life' just didn't make it for me. However, thirty-odd years later, 'Country Life' now sounds, to these ears, every bit as good as those first three albums. The opening track, 'The Thrill Of It All', is supremely atmospheric, and songs such as 'Out Of The Blue' are lyrically and musically out of the top Roxy drawer. The hit single, 'All I Want Is You', opens with massive, cathedral like Manzanera guitar chords, and the song lyric - almost an exercise in using pre-Beatles pop cliches - works brilliantly. It also contains weird Roxy anomalies like 'Trytych' - a song I bet that they never performed live - that's like an attempt to write a piece of 'early music' - it could've come from a Tudor costume drama - yet it works wonderfully. 'Bitter Sweet' always sounded like a bit of an inferior cousin of 'Stranded's' 'Song For Europe', but with it's German verse, now sounds to me like a fine song in its own right. Then there's things like the old-school neo-boogie(!) of 'If It Takes All Night' - one of the straightest of songs, musically speaking, that the early Roxy recorded, which swings mightily. Add in ' A Really Good Time', one of Ferry's most acid-tongued of lyrics ("you're well-educated, with no common sense"), and the rather sweet 'Three And Nine', and you have one of Roxy's most well-rounded, multi-faceted and absorbing albums. Plus, there's always THAT sleeve - it got banned in the USA at the time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roxy's strongest set, 18 Jan 2001
This review is from: Country Life (Audio CD)
For me,this album definitely hits Bryan Ferry's songwriting at a peak, with the musicianship of his cohorts bringing out the best in the material. The sheer breadth of the styles and moods is quite astonishing,from the surging drama of the opening track "The Thrill of it All"; to the wistful,understated "Three and Nine", complete with backing string section,the perfect counterpoint to Ferry's nostalgia-tinged lyric; through the outright pop hooks of the single "All I Want is You", the amount of ideas and textures on show here leaves you breathless by the end of the album. Even the oddball "Tryptich",with its solemn lyric and mock-choral chorus, is fully developed by the group and producer, and easily escapes the "filler" label. Standout tracks would be difficult to select, but "Out of the Blue",with its cascading,phased synthesizer washes,John Gustafson's outstanding bassline and Andy Mackay's subtle sax phrasing, would probably be my pick (but we are talking diamonds and pearls here!). Looking at the reviews of other Roxy albums here,every one of the first five albums seems to have its devotees for different reasons,but for consistently excellent songs, "Country Life" represents the cream of their output.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Country Life (Audio CD)
great album - up till now i have been stuck in the best of roxy music rut and this opened my eyes a bit - out of the blue is an excellent track and the rest pf the album keeps up the high standards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Roxy Music at their best, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Country Life [12" VINYL] (Vinyl)
I have listent to Roxy Music since the early eighties and really love Country Life, this order was not delivered in time but I had good contact with the seller. Five stars and I can recommend both the seller and Roxy Music for every one who likes good Music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Last great Roxy album, 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Country Life (Audio CD)
The creative impilses that commenced with 1972s debut album were still going strong with "Country Life". I first saw the cover when I was 12 years old, so i still have a degree of affection for it!!
The music is great too-"Thrill of It All", "All I Want Is You","Prarie Rose" (about Ferry's then-squeeze Jerry Hall)-all great stuff.
The first four Roxy albums are fantastic,amazingly and consistently high quality.There's also a live album "Viva!Roxy Music" which is great,mostly from the band that recoeded "Stranded", but released in 1976
The rot set in with "Siren", and they went downhill quite rapidly,ending up with "Avalon",stuff that makes you want to use the word "sophisticated" as an insult.
Try to avoid the later Roxy, it really pales incomparison with the first four albums
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece!, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Country Life (MP3 Download)
Another astounding effort from Roxy, really proving that Eno was not the soul member of the band to make them interesting and unique. Of course the band became less blatantly experimental after Eno left but if you listen carefully it is still there, lurking about in songs like 'Out of The Blue' which recalls Eno's use of synth, then there's the Germanic romp of 'Bitter Sweet' and the subtle instrumentation within Prairie Rose the stunning closer.

Country life also blends some more standard tracks but even they are classics in their own right, particularly the opening 'The Thrill of It All' boasting another masterful album opener and of course the single, 'All I Want.' Lyrically Ferry is also becoming a little more predictable, but his voice remains as wild, hedonistic and warped as ever, which has always been a key element to the eccentricity of the band.

Phil Manzanera, the guitarist is also given a real chance to leave his mark on this album, perhaps even moreso than on the earlier ones, where his guitar was always in thrilling competition with Mackay saxophone and oboe. He really brings Ferry's more standard tracks to life, infusing them with immediacy and thrills, definitely proving that at this point at least, the band were still very much that, rather than just a backing group for Ferry's crooning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another classic Roxy album, 1 Sep 2012
By 
Mr. S. Harris (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Country Life (Audio CD)
This album can sometimes be overlooked (at least it was by me), but it turns out to be another great album, up there with the first three Roxy albums. It is quite varied in style, including some classic rock songs (All I Want is You, Out of the Blue, Prairie Rose), through to some beautiful (but quirky) ballads (Bitter-Sweet, A Really Good Time), and some interesting stuff in between. Musically it is very strong throughout. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Country Life
Country Life by Roxy Music (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews