Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
37
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.25+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 November 2003
I will say dont buy this because it is not worth it the extra tracks are just remixes of the songs again and jerry cantrell personally himself said he did not like the jungle mix and he said the tatoo of pain mix was okay. But about the single again that is amazing!.I will talk about the album as a whole and not concurnig the extra tracks it is a masterpiece. Layne stayley puts some of his best work on here my personal favourite of his is god am which is just amazing vocaly and lyrically. Also jerry cantrell puts some good work on here such as heaven beside you and grind which has one of the dirteiest riffs you will ever here. As jerry cantrell stepped up vocally with alice in chains and layne stayley started to lose it with drug problems it becomes more like a half and half album in which layne writes half then jerry writes half but they both come together at the end to do over now one of the many highlights of there carrer. I would give this album 5 stars but i dont see the ponint in paying the extra money for some remixes you would be better of buying there self titled album(tripod). All in all a very good album.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2014
As a massive Alice in Chain's fan this is an album that I have listened to extensively and it seems to get better and better every time.

The last studio album to feature Layne Staley is perhaps the darkest and most reflective of them all as it was written and recorded in hard times as addictions that would eventually kill Layne took control of the band and created a masterpiece of an album before the band fell away in the late 90's.

There is no bad song on the album but highlights are Grind, Sludge Factory, Frogs, Over Now and Heaven Beside You.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2006
The third full length album from the grunge gods Alice in Chains is definatley the heaviest and darkest of their releases. The album relies more on texture and dual guitar riffs than it's Predecessors and this creates a more a more interesting and diverse listening experience, the album is incredibly well produced and this does the more complex sound justice. The album is packed full of sludge grinding riffs but also some pleasant balladry in the form of heavan beside you and over now. Unfortunatley for those who don't like their music depressing i would advise not buying this album because it never fails to depress (in the best kind of way!!!). All in all this is an amazing album and is definatley worth buying.

9.4/10
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2007
after having 'Facelift', 'Dirt' and their 'Live' album for some time i decided to purchase 'Alice in Chains', their third album. To me it is one of those albums that are so dark and drenched in emotion that u totally feel what the band was like at the time of this recording. Staley was of course seriously deep into addiction and i think this truly reflects on the feeling of the songs. 'Again', 'Shame In You' and 'Over Now' are my favourites, the latter being a truly depressing yet strangely uplifting song. I recommend you buy it after you buy their first two albums 'Facelift' and the beautifully dark 'Dirt'...this album is very very dark but beautiful at the same time. Alice in Chains fooking rock!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2008
A lot of people overlook AIC's music because they hear it once and think it sounds like a depressing racket and don't seem to see just how incredibly beautiful some of the harmonies and melodies are. I love the darkness that this album has and there's something almost hypnotic about it (probably all the drug influences) that somehow compells you to listen to it all over again. Album highlights for me are Grind, Sludge Factory, Heaven beside you and Frogs, but almost every song is excellent. In my opinion, this is second best only to Jar of flies.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2009
Alice in Chains This album is a must have for all Alice In Chains lovers, a bit different in style to their previous albums but that distinctive raw sound of Jerry's guitar is still there along with the dissonant vocal harmonies of Layne & Jerry that helped define what we know today as Alice In Chains.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2007
This is probably my favourite Alice in Chains album. Though Layne can't sing as well as he could do, he still sounds incredible especially in songs like Sludge Factory and Shame In You. There are times when his vocals are distorted and I think this works well with the creepy atmosphere of the album.

Here is a list of the tracks with my personal rating along side them:

Grind 10/10

Brush Away 10/10

Sludge Factory 10/10

Heaven Beside You 9/10

Head Creeps 9/10

Again 10/10

Shame In You 10/10

God Am 10/10

So Close 9/10

Nothin' Song 9/10

Frogs 10/10

Over Now 9/10

Overall: 10/10

It's worth every penny.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2002
If asked to describe AIC's sound, there's only one thing I can really say - sinister. Truly the best word to describe the band and the best band to describe the word. There is no genre I can think of that you could place this band into...grunge? No - what is grunge supposed to be anyway? It seems weird to me that no one noticed that Nirvana, Pearl Jam, Soundgarden, Mudhoney, Screaming Trees etc all sound totally different...and Alice sound more different than all of them. Metal? Fair enough, it's heavy but it's certainly too intricate in arrangment and songwriting to fit into that category. So what else? God knows.
The simple fact is that this band were great, and this is another great album. It probably IS their masterpiece in terms of scope and variety, but I could never pick the best out of Dirt, this and Jar of Flies. They are all simply majestic.
This record is not easy to listen to but it's a fantastic ride.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2007
I brought this album from amazon a few weeks ago and after a few listens on the whole is very good but not quite as good as the last two full length albums. Tunes like Grind, Heaven Beside You and Agian are excellent and were released as singles. The other album tracks I liked were Brush Away, Shame in You, God Am, Frogs and Over now. The others really didn't do it for me, they were good in parts but the songs didn't go anywhere which disappointed me but overall this album is very good 4/5
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 October 2005
Perhaps not quite at the level of Dirt, but still brilliant, with great songs such as Heaven Besides You, and Frogs. This was sadly the last studio album from this great, underrated band. 4.5 stars, and the end of an era.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.93
£5.10
£5.52

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)