Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jazz and Latin fan, 6 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Essential (Audio CD)
This is fabulous. I bought it years ago on vinyl when it first came out and replaced it with the CD. I love every second of it and can't recommend it highly enough to anyone who wants a mix of jazz and latin superbly arranged, played and sang. Buy it now if it's the only disk you buy this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SERGIO MENDES, 28 Jun 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential (Audio CD)
I HAVE A SERGIO MENDES ALBUM FROM THE LATE 60`s . WHEN HIS BAND WAS NAMED "Sergio Mendes and Brazil 66" BUT IT`s ON VINYL AND I HAVE`nt GOT ANYTHING TO PLAY IT ON NOW. SO WHEN THIS WAS LISTED IN THE 3 C.D`s FOR 10 SECTION I THOUGHT I WOULD BUY IT TO BRING BACK OLD MEMORIES. I AM PLEASED I DID. HIS MUSIC BRINGS THE SUN OUT EVEN IF IT`s RAINING. SO MUCH OF HIS MUSIC IS USED AS BACKING TRACKS BY T.V ADVERTISERS & PROGRAM MAKERS,

THAT HIS MUSIC IS THOUGHT TO BE COOL AGAIN. THIS C.D HAS ALL HIS GREAT MUSIC ON.

JUST LISTEN TO THE FIRST TRACK `Mas Que Nada` IT`s WORTH BUYING THIS C.D JUST FOR THAT.THEN LISTEN TO HIS INTERPRETATION ON BEATLES CLASSICS LIKE `DAY TRIPPER / NORWEGIAN WOOD / FOOL ON THE HILL / WITH A LITTLE HELP FROM MY FRIENDS`WHICH HE REALLY DOES SO WELL. ITS 16 TRACKS OF SUNSHINE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reminders of Brazil 66, 7 Aug 2009
By 
This review is from: The Essential (Audio CD)
Love this album, Brazil 66, Lani Hall, a bit of Herb what more could you want. But my favourite track is "Fool on the Hill".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb music for the Summer, 6 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential (Audio CD)
This album is just great for balmy evenings, a large Gin & Tonic and the sun setting gently in the sky...... listen to it and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great latin beats!, 1 Jan 2013
By 
Captain Kirk (Here in the U K) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Essential (MP3 Download)
Ok then, you need cheering up after a bad day that didn't go too well? Look no further,this great CD from Sergio Mendes is sure to do the trick. Not strictly latin tunes but great tunes played in a latin way. The happy driving beat of the Bossa Nova combined with the sultry singing of Lani Hall and Brasil '66 and Sergio's lovely latin jazz piano and superb rhythm section makes for wonderful listening on the darkest of days.

Sergio Mendes is a classically trained pianist who discovered the looseness of latin jazz way back in the summer of 1965. It didn't take him long to form his own outfit after a chance meeting with trumpeter Herb Alpert who encouraged Sergio to put some tracks down with Alperts newly formed A and M Records.Jerry Moss was Alperts partner in the venture and the rest is history.

Of course the Brasil group has had many personnel changes down the years but always managed to achieve a similar sound no matter what the line up.Augmented on some tracks by orchestral accompaniment this album will give many happy hours of pleasure and may encourage you to purchase more of this groups wonderful albums. This CD is certainly a good starting point if you are not familiar with the music but one thing's for sure......great musicians playing great music is always a winner.

Happy listening friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars world music, 16 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. Michael A. Brady (Gt Britian) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential (Audio CD)
brazils great music by one the greatest entertainers to make it to the world acknowledgement for his particular style in music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good music lasts forever!, 7 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential (Audio CD)
I fell in love with Sergio Medes and Brasil 66 back in 1968. I bought the vinyls of Brasil 66 and 77 and played them for years, also putting them on cassette for use in the car. They've all been stored for years when we moved on to CDs, but seeing this at such a good price I had to buy it and now I'm driving the wife and grankids up the wall playing them all the time. Marvellous music and I still remember the words!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Retro Sergio, 24 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential (Audio CD)
I have the vinyl so getting the CD means I can play this in my car. Great stuff from the 70s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely Essential!, 18 Jun 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential (Audio CD)
Brillant, classy music that stands the test of time. There's really nothing to compare out there in todays music. A real bargain. don't miss this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars classic Mendes, 9 Jun 2009
By 
J. P. Lawrie - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Essential (Audio CD)
a replacement for an old vinyl copy I bought years ago,a real goodie.
joplaw
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Essential
The Essential by Sergio Mendes (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews