Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best CD's I've ever heard... Utterly involving., 8 July 2000
By A Customer
VAST captures the imagination, and makes you pay attention to every lyric, every chord, and every industrial scraping on the CD. From the strong begginnings of 'Here', to the deep 'Touched', the so-true-it's-frightening 'Pretty When You Cry', the screaming 'Temptation', the unforgettable 'Three Doors', and the deep and moving final track 'You', this is amazing stuff. Worth every penny, a hertily reccommended album that defies genre, while appealing universally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VAST sound, 15 Feb 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First, a confession. I don't own this album. A friend lent me his copy and in this day and age it would've been simple to produce a 'backup' copy. But we all know this is wrong. And when someone produces music with the towering, soaring, stirring brilliance contained on this thin piece of plastic, you know why. At times arrogant, melancholy, triumphant and maybe even deviant, you know you are in the presence of a unique talent. Guitar, drums, bass, violin and synth combine with thought provoking lyrics to create a theatre of audio sensation, just like it says on the tin. So if you crave the pomp and swagger of Killing Joke, but could do without the politics, buy your own copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One hell of an album., 6 Feb 2003
Unfortunatly i do not feel that i am anywhere near a good enough wordsmith to truly do this album justice. It is very near perfect, an eclectic mix of styles and emotion, make this one of the few albums that truly deserves to be listened to all the way through. From the dark, angry and gothic sounds on tracks such as Here and Pretty whan you cry; through to the soothing and truly beautiful tracks like Flames and You, this album never fails in envoking real emotion in the listener. The lyrics on the album surpass most of todays artists and have a rare ability to produce images in the listeners mind. There is also some of the best string arrangements i have heard in this style of music, combine this with the various forms of chanting (sounds so much better than you'd expect, honestly) and you get one of the most powerful,original and distinctive albums of the past 10 years. However John Crosby (the man behind VAST) does seem to have a perchant for making ever-so-slightly less than cheerful music, and some of the tracks may increase your chances of cutting yourself when shaving your wrists.
To sum up, this really is a great album. Far exceeding the quality of its follow up, music for the people. It is perhaps not the easiest of albums to 'Get into' but then how many of the really great albums are. Once you get past the superficial branding of GOTH music (which this album recieved) and the dark nature of some of the songs, this will probably be one of the most rewarding albums you'll own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tremendous, 9 Mar 2005
By 
deadteddy (Bridgend) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I found this group completely by accident but have never looked back since and have followed them with their following two albums (to date)
This album is still played every week on my stereo even though I have owned it for many a year. From the first moment to the last this album has high hopes and the song "Here" is a good example. The song is an explosion for the senses, containing so many layers that it takes a good few listens to pick out and appreciate each of them. The whole album just seems perfect from Crosby's vocals to the loops of monks singing and the deep bass.
The album itself contains a good mix of the loud and softer songs giving it a good balance but I think the thing that this album accomplishes is to be itself in an ever more mainstream environment. It is what it is and it's brilliant. Whether you're looking for a change, are already a Vast fan or just want to hear good music... this album will deliver!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars searing and emotional, rocks you to the core of your soul!, 1 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Visual Audio Sensory Theater (Audio CD)
Vast is a somewhat unknown band but none the less is one the most fresh and contemporary bands I have seen around!! Each of the multitude of songs is unique in its own way, from the searing guitar filled boom of 'here' to the emotional sound of 'touched'! Each song effects the listener in a number of ways, mainly through the use of a number of different instruments and the powerful effect of Jon Crosby's passion and lyrics! This album suits a whole number of emotions and thus effects you always, whatever state you are in personally. This album is refreshing and amazing and should be checked out by anyone wanting a change from the usual rock music! I salute Vast for the daring way that they have decided to take their music; for this album truly does effect you to the core of your soul!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flawed Genius, 28 Feb 2004
By 
A. Harden (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
But genius nonetheless... this is a fabulous album with spot-on metal guitar and brilliant sampling. His singing is wonderful and the song with solo cello and vocals is mind-blowing... IF you're in the right frame of mind. Approach this from the wrong angle and it's a laughably pompous exercise in artistic self-gratification. The lyrics can be slightly on the pigin-theology side, and some of the more suggestive/sexual lyrics have to be taken with a pinch of salt (not that the album is particularly vulgar). The trick is not to take it too seriously, to appreciate the musician rather than the poet; having said all that, the music makes it a thoroughly worthwhile purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic album, 15 Sep 2007
By 
Mr. M. R. Sommers "mark sommers" (biggleswade, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Stumbled upon vast whilst searching for other things, write ups sounded good, thought i would take a flyer and order it. It arrived and it is all i played for about three days, this album has everything. I suppose it helps being a NIN fan as i am, as there is a lot of NIN sounded stuff on this album, particulary the slower sounding Trent Reznor type tracks as well as the harder sounding influences. I have since ordered the other vast albums, however i suspect they wont be as good as this one, as this is an amazing album. I love all the tracks, however, the tribal sounds on Dirty Hole work so well and compliments the heavier nature of the song wonderfully. This song comes in a wave after hearing the superb Touched in all its emtional guises. Then into Pretty when you cry, again a brilliant song.

Quite simply, buy this album, I have, and would place it in a reasonably short list of my favourite albums ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric Progmetal..., 20 Dec 2007
By 
Along with many other rock fans I bought this album on a recommendation, (of a journalist in Sounds{?} magazine who gave it a 5* review, stating it was the album of the year if not the decade). He was right. Jon Crosby creates a swooping, soaring aural masterpiece. Every track is a winner. Highlight for me is 'Touched'; African/Gregorian chants laced with aggressive acoustic guitar and powerful metal guitar buttoned down with pounding drumming - absolutely brilliant! On first listen to the cd I replayed this track immediately, even before I listened to the rest of the cd. It sent shivers down my arms and brought tears to my eyes it's that emotional, and still one of my top ten ever favourite tunes - and probably always will be. It's worth paying £15 for this one track - I kid you not. Incidentally, 'Songs for common people' and 'Nude' are great too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best album in the world, ever?, 10 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Visual Audio Sensory Theater (Audio CD)
VAST is an amazing debut album from what is essentially a one man band. I'm sure that there will be people who don't like VAST, however I believe that this album is as close to perfection as can be achieved and I would also be suprised if anyone could deny the undoubtable talent possessed by Jon Crosby. And, whilst every single track is pure heaven to listen to, the album works best as a whole. It is, you might say, an epic. ***I write this review just two months before the release of the new album, Music For The People, and on this new album VAST has a new band, and therefore possibly a new music style. But if it turns out even just half as good as Visual Audio Sensory Theater then it will be an absolute classic.*** Nobody should be without Visual Audio Sensory Theater in their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite simply mind blowing., 13 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Visual Audio Sensory Theater (Audio CD)
Jon Crosby has created, quite simply, a masterpiece. Since buying this album almost everybody I've played it too has wanted it. The sheer variety of musical styles thrown into the mixing pot makes each listen of the disc a joy. Not one to be played in random order, each track follows on from the previous creating a modern symphony which should go down as a classic of it's time. This album deserves so much more success than it achieved, unfortunately the stagnant British music press and radio networks buried it. Every time I listen to the disc, I want to stand on the rooftops and shout out "listen to this. This is MUSIC! Get it?"
What are you doing still reading the reviews for? BUY IT. NOW. Before it's to late for salvation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Visual Audio Sensory Theater
Visual Audio Sensory Theater by Vast (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews