Customer Reviews


431 Reviews
5 star:
 (254)
4 star:
 (78)
3 star:
 (35)
2 star:
 (31)
1 star:
 (33)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievably addictive
When I first heard that Radiohead were going to release a new album, I figured it was going to include all those unreleased songs from the video 'Meeting People is Easy'. I was disappointed with most of the album for about a day or so until i really loved it.
The immediete songs i enjoyed by simply flicking through the tracks were, 'How to disappear comepletely', and...
Published on 1 Dec. 2000

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Post-modernism incarnated in music
Radiohead have became the band who told us that it was okay to be frightened, to be scared of modern life, to be deeply discontented with nothing in particular but profoundly dissatisfied nonetheless. And they remain amazingly popular.
Radiohead's lyrical technique has always been to mix allusions to facts, accusations, and striking phrases into a rich soup spiced...
Published on 9 Oct. 2000 by simon_wheeler@skye.greatxscape.net


‹ Previous | 142 43 44 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What is going on?, 1 Nov. 2000
This review is from: Kid A (Audio CD)
If this album was not a radiohead album people would hate it. The marketing men have been very clever. The lack of marketing (no singles, no promotion) has made this into some sort of cult album, apparantly so different from all the rest. At the end of the day people are buying this simply becasue of the image it has been given (ie. that it is against all commercial records) when in reality it is just as marketed as all the pop bands that infest the charts. At the end of the day the music is pants, but no one dares to say so in fear going against the popular opinion that radio head can do no wrong. After the bends and ok computer it is a massive let down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What the hell is this?, 10 Nov. 2000
This review is from: Kid A (Audio CD)
The first time I've heard this album I've remained very disappointed, the second time even more, while the third time even worse !! In other words it is RUBBISH !!
The true Radiohead fan, like I am, who loved the first two albums, Pablo Honey and the Bends, will remain very much disappointed listening to this.
There's nothing positive in it, but just a lot of computer programming and non-sense sounds and you rarely hear some good guitars in it. Moreover Thom's vocal on most of the tracks is boring and pathetic.
Sorry boys..but buying this cd is a waste of money !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fake Plastic CDs..., 5 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Kid A (Audio CD)
I have tried, O I have tried, but it just ain't happenin' for me. What are they up to? How can a once truly great band change so completely? Yes, bands need to evolve to stay fresh, but this is just a joke. Weird, unlistenable, rubbish.
This album only exists to show us the true wonder of The Bends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kid A? Worse than an Aussie with a cold saying hello!, 24 Dec. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Kid A (Audio CD)
If the first Radiohead Album you bought was The Bends and like me, you thought it was brilliant, then I have sound advice for you: DON'T BUY KID A. This is the worst load of tosh I have heard on record since an early seventies album by the Third Ear Band. There is little tune, even fewer heavy guitars, no form to the "songs" and after having struggled through to the third listening -- no point, in producing this recording. This is a concept album although what is being conceived is beyond comprehension. It is similar in ways to the more tuneless renditions of Pink Floyd -- Several Species of Small Furry Animals etc. or Careful With That Axe Eugene -- in as much as the tracks never seem to have any point. The album starts with Everything in Its Right Place which is a reasonable track that promises a build-up into a fantastic heavy metal crash which never happens. This is typical of the album in that it promises much but never really delivers. The National Anthem has guitars in it but again you are left feeling frustrated by the content. Treefingers is a track where someone left a weight on a keyboard key and the wind occasionally moved it to another key; dreadful! Optimistic -- the best track on the album, in fairess this one isn't bad but after this it is all downhill. I stress; if you liked The Bends, you won't like this -- at all. Trust me, I wasted good money on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Idioteque?- IDIOTIC more like!, 10 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Kid A (Audio CD)
I bought this record being a great admirer of Tom Yorke's deep, meaningful lyrics. I actually felt nervous in the record shop when I placed 'KID A' on the counter as I had heard of all the hype surrounding it. ONE LISTEN. It was like an 'incessant, warbling' nightmare that had overcome my bedroom. ONE MORE LISTEN. A worse nightmare. I was so annoyed at the fact that all these Radiohead junkies praised it. If this is a more maturing, evolving sound then I would like to see what goes on inside Tom Yorke's and the critic's heads. 'Pablo honey' was sweet, 'The bends' was the best and 'Ok computer' was ok. KID A?- UTTER RUBBISH... 'Everything in its right place'? - No, with this album everything is nothing........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars very mediocre., 15 Dec. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Kid A (Audio CD)
i totally agree with the previous "amateur critic" who thought kid A was awful. i'm not saying there's no visable talent or innovation present in the album, because there clearly is. infact it's one of the most innovative albums i've heard, ever. but i don't want innovative. i want beautifully crafted melodies and melancholy lyrics with a bit of grunge thrown in for good measure. i don't want electric, synthesiser, drum machines blah, blah, blah.
don't get me wrong, i love massive attack, alabama 3, zero 7 and a whole load of other "electric" bands.
radiohead seem to have gone one step to far in the innovation stakes with this album; which is i why i give it a 2 out of 5. one for the effort and another for the originality (albeit to original for my taste).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars EMPERORS NEW CLOTHES, 19 July 2008
By 
Mr. Sc Martin "StephenMa" (Carlsile UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kid A (Audio CD)
A five star masterpiece? Somebody please, please, please, tell me why this CD isn't exactly what is sounds like, which is nothing more than good old Thom warbling his falsetto meaningless lyrics over aimless electronic noodling. It's drivel !!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too Experimental, 27 Feb. 2005
This review is from: Kid A (Audio CD)
I was not impressed with this album. There are no tunes to get hooked on, it's just monotonous drones. I like some of Radiohead's earlier work but I guess I'm not the kind of person to admire this kind of stuff. It's too heavy and experimental for me.
The first few tracks were OK, in particular "The National Anthem" which is undoubtedly the best Radiohead track in the 1999-2002 era, but Kid A just became boring after a while. "Optimistic" is the only track worth listening to after the first three. However, "Idioteque" is also perhaps worth a listen if you're feeling a little sadomasochistic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Kid A-rse!, 12 April 2005
By 
R. Vennard (Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kid A (Audio CD)
Radiohead WERE once the greatest rock band of all time, until they released this squidge of mud schizz.
Mr Thom "oh, I'm soooo bored of all our previous crappy stuff and rock in general" Yorke had to take over and start banging on dustbins and farting in Lionel Richie's face whilst on LSD and then recording the after-birth.
Mr Thomas Yorkington the fifth was soooo wrong; all the stuff he hated was great and this got so much undeserved praise form America that he probably still lives in a bubble were this is good. The follow up "Amnesiac" which was cut from the same recording session and is it's sister album was far superior and got little of the praise of KidA, which is just HI-larious. "Everything in it's right place", "optomistic", "National Anthem" and "How to dissapear completely..." are decent but hardly classic Radiohead and I don't care what anyone says, Idiotheque is ARSE ARSE ARSE!!!!
Hail to the thief may have been a few steps towards greatness again but unless the next album is immaculate they can't make up for Kid A and will be simply known as another decent band that lost their way and were quite good in the ninties!!!
So come on Thom get the smegging guitar out from your wardrobe and your head from your colon and get back to the goods!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 48 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars :(, 1 Oct. 2004
This review is from: Kid A (Audio CD)
First off, I have to admit I have not actually heard Pablo Honey, The Bends, OK Computer or Amnesiac, only Hail To The Thief, so I can only compare Kid A to that.
Kid A does not contain songs. That is the bare truth. It contains noise, and there is a huge difference. I would have given it one star apart from two tracks, How to Disappear Completely and Optomistic. These two just about make it as songs. Everything in its right place somehow manages to be pure genius in the live version, and yet pure crud on the album.
I listened to this album over and over and over, hoping for something to just click in my mind and suddenly it would become brilliant. That click never came, so I gave up and never touched it again.
I know lots of irate Radiohead fans will read this and quickly say this review is not helpful. Trust me on this, it is. The album is just not worth the time or money. Simple as that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 142 43 44 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kid A
Kid A by Radiohead (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews