Customer Reviews


427 Reviews
5 star:
 (252)
4 star:
 (77)
3 star:
 (35)
2 star:
 (31)
1 star:
 (32)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievably addictive
When I first heard that Radiohead were going to release a new album, I figured it was going to include all those unreleased songs from the video 'Meeting People is Easy'. I was disappointed with most of the album for about a day or so until i really loved it.
The immediete songs i enjoyed by simply flicking through the tracks were, 'How to disappear comepletely', and...
Published on 1 Dec 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Post-modernism incarnated in music
Radiohead have became the band who told us that it was okay to be frightened, to be scared of modern life, to be deeply discontented with nothing in particular but profoundly dissatisfied nonetheless. And they remain amazingly popular.
Radiohead's lyrical technique has always been to mix allusions to facts, accusations, and striking phrases into a rich soup spiced...
Published on 9 Oct 2000 by simon_wheeler@skye.greatxscape.net


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievably addictive, 1 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Kid A (Audio CD)
When I first heard that Radiohead were going to release a new album, I figured it was going to include all those unreleased songs from the video 'Meeting People is Easy'. I was disappointed with most of the album for about a day or so until i really loved it.
The immediete songs i enjoyed by simply flicking through the tracks were, 'How to disappear comepletely', and 'Morning Bell', as to me they are just your average Radiohead songs to me. Getting used to songs such as the title track and 'In Limbo' definitely took time, but now I appreciate them so much now. Radiohead's influence of Aphex Twin is obvious is 'Everything in its Right Place' and 'Kid A', with the random drum beats, the chiming synthisers and the electronic voices muttering such lyrics as "we've got heads on sticks / We've got ventriloquists." People were very annoyed as to 'Treefingers' being slap-bang in the middle of the album, as it suddenly slows it down, but I personally think its ok to go. To me, putting it as a bonus track isn't so effective, and I think the 'Head boys saw that too. At first, I wasn't so impressed with the 'National Anthem's' bass riff, as being a big rock fan I saw nothing special with it, but that also grew on me. The industrial like thumping drum beat on 'Ideoteque' gives the album a bit more spunk, and 'The National Anthem' sounds as emotional as Nine Inch Nails 'The Great Below'. The only real disappointing song on the album is 'Optimistic', simply because I don't think its that good a song, simple as that.
To me, 'Kid A' is a wonderful album. With the album, I can picture images to suit the music, or a film which would go well with it. When it comes to going out, 'Kid A' is always first to go in my CD player, and it just fades into the background. Compared to Radiohead's past albums, this must never be compared to them. However, I still think 'OK Computer' is better, and the boys from the head could never have beaten it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better after ten years, 13 Feb 2010
This review is from: Kid A (Audio CD)
Unfortunately, amazon.co.uk only allow for a maximum of 5 stars on their rating system. I believe this is the 401th review of Kid A since its release ten years ago. What an album to look back on; Kid A marked the end of Radioheads mainstream success as one of the best rock bands of all time, and the beginning of something much more profound and beautiful.

It really could have gone either way: O'Brien wanted the band to reverse back into snappy three-minute pop songs, whilst Yorke had different plans for their future. Kid A really can't be placed in any particular genre of music. It sits there all alone in its dreamy world. This is an album of truly unique, and in my humble opinion, unrivalled since its release in 2000.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars When Dylan went electric..., 20 Mar 2008
By 
Paul Andrews (Rossett, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kid A (Audio CD)
..there was a bit of a kerfuffle. And so it seems there was a bit of a fuss over this album. It isn't filled with indie guitar anthems, but generally quieter songs, using the studio as an instrument alongside their normal tools. Musically you can compare it with Underworld's, Bjork's and their own more laid back moments, but its recognisably Radiohead. It's a difficult sort of album for a guitar band to attempt and I think they've done well. I like it a lot. Listen to it while I'm working or reading, and I'll find it suddenly grabs my interest and takes me off somewhere else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank God for alienation!, 27 Aug 2003
By 
rd hale (tunbridge wells, kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kid A (Audio CD)
Some may argue that as the triangle chimed at the end of OK Computer, nothing could ever surpass let alone equal the work of the massive artisitc statement Radiohead made. With the unnerving prospect of media hype, they rightly chose to let music satiate the hungry pack of dogs that the press came to be.
The mixed reviews were, truth be told, the result of a public insulted by unintelligible popular culture, and all in all by marginalising themselves Radiohead secured cult status as musical innovators for years to come. The stark beauty of the opening electronic spits and ethereal keyboard introduction opens up the listener, referencing cult warp starlets such as Aphex Twin, or Icelandic experimentalists Mum. Yet even through the warped title track and indeciferable vocals, you cannot quite percieve how the album will pan out. Bring on 'National Antem', a fiery explosive affair, complete with Johnny Greenwood's insane brass brainchild and thudding basslines. Thom meanwhile renders himself insane with enough odd screams to frighten away the tamer listener (lovers of 'Nice Dream' may wish to run by this point). Just when guitar was out of the question, as the new post-OK Computer methods took sway, they reintroduce a song written years before with 'How to disappear completely'. The song is given a sonic makeover, recalling the more homely moments of Sigur Ros and to many is a peak of the album. The visionary statements give Yorke's voice its first real workout, and it does not disappoint. Treefingers then adds breathing space, recalling Brian Eno's ambient skill, before Optimistic gives the more Bends prone listener some remote comfort and shows Colin Greenwood's stylish basslines are improving with age.
Perhaps the most remarkable movement of the album follows, with the dreamy madness of 'In Limbo' fading into the harsh electronic beats of 'Idioteque', paying homage to Autechre perhaps, but riffling adverse lyrical banter (ie. Mobiles Chirping, Take the money and run). This defines the release as quite possibly the stongest fusion of electronics for a supposed guitar band. Why however should they constrain themselves to settings of the now weak comparitive early material and questionable productions of pre-Godrich days. The insane stir of Morning Bell leaks cut-paste wordplay ('Where dya park the car?') Thom adopts to place himself in a lonely post-modern world.
The album closes with the melancholic beauty of 'Motion Picture Soundtrack', with sublime Mercury Rev like strings and understated optimism. It is without doubt a stunning end to what inevitably will become the first classic of the new century. Earning them a US no.1 and plaudits amongst all genres of musician, it puts Radiohead's name amongst the great artists, not just of an age, but in recording history. Yet I still can't work out what Ed O'Brien did
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most amazing thing i've ever heard, 17 May 2003
This review is from: Kid A (Audio CD)
This album is one of most innovative albums of all time, i'm in complete and utter amazing that people can't appreciate this album. It's so clever that it could never be immatated. The first track "Everything in it's Right Place" presents an unbelievable array of sounds although the lyrics aren't quite as good as on ok computer the song is utterly superb, next "kid a" not the best song ever but probably the one that has grown on me a lot, much better than the computerised "fitter happier" it generates a calm relaxing melody to sooth anyone, before bringing us on to the Catchiest and fastest song on the album apart from "idioteque" "the national anthem", has such a cool beat to it that anyone can listen to it in anymood and the song itself like most of the album can be interpretted in different ways. Next comes the most beautiful song on the album "How to Disappear Completely" is so harmonic and when i first heard it i didn't take much notice of it to be honest but it has slowly become one of those i constantly find myself singing to with the most beautiful lyrics and sounds. The biggest and only disappointment on this album has to be "treefingers" which is basically a very dull instrumental which the album could have done without. But this is soon forgotten as "Optimistic" hits the stereo probably the most familiar one to the OK computer sounds on the album although this isn't as clear as you would think, what makes this song so brilliant is the repetative chorus line which can be sung in any mood or on any day, it is a lovely song to sing to and makes me feel good to sing. "in Limbo" follows on from "optimistic" and the two could easily be mistaken as one almighty epic, the introduction to this song is again attractive although the song isn't as exciting as the majority of the others on the album it is one that you will enjoy listening to when hearing the whole album. "Idioteque" this is one masterpiece of a song possibly the best on the album and if there were to be any singles released from this album it could have been this one. A brilliant beat with catchy lyrics that you will never forget one that you will listen to again and again when first listening to the album. "morning bell" may well be the scariest song radiohead have done since "climbing up the walls" with harsh and blunt lyrics such as "cut the kids in half" repeated over and over. But what seems so evil sounds so good, it may be my favourite of the album as it just sounds incredible and is again easy to hum to. The last track is as beautiful as anything Radiohead have ever done "motion picture soundtrack" is easily the nicest song on the album and again one you will again want to listen to over and over. There is also a hidden track on Kid A but i don't know why this was put on here, as it seems a bit of a waste.
I think that the reason behind the album causing such diversity is due to no singles being released. The releasing of "idioteque" or "how to disappear completely" may have prevented the album from being misunderstood. As with many Radiohead albums and ep's it will take a few listens to get used to the songs. But once you've started liking them there is definetly no going back. These songs will haunt you for life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably their best ever!, 12 Feb 2002
By 
This review is from: Kid A (Audio CD)
I agree with one of the previous reviews saying they should have released amnesiac first. Kid A is far more experimental than amnesiac, just listen to kid A and treefingers to figure that out. What radiohead could have done is combined kid A and amnesiac and produced the greatest album of all time. period. The best of amnesiac added to kid A would be a work of total genius. Replace treefingers with pyramid song, i might be wrong for in limbo and life in a glasshouse, you and whose army and dollars and cents as new tracks and you would have an unpeatable album. Unfortunately they didn't do this. Never mind, his album is probably their most criticised and probably their best, if not the best of all time. Opening with the optimistic sounding everything in its right place, containing the great lyric, yesterday i woke up sucking on lemon and then proceeding to the experiment that is kid A. Not a botched one though as it is a good track with the strange sounds combining into a great tune. National anthem is memorable for its wild bassline that gets stuck in your head for days on end. how to disappear completely is a absolute classic. every radiohead album has 1 or 2 tracks of amazing beauty, thinking about you on pablo honey, fake plastic trees on the bends, exit music and lucky on ok computer, pyramid song on amnesiac and this on kidA (and also motion picture soundtrack). treefingers is fine as far as it goes but it doesn't go anywhere, rather like hunting bears on amnesiac. Still, pleasant to listen to. Optimistic has really great lyrics and a good tune. In limbo is a bit of a disappointment but there isn't any bad songs on this album, it just isn't AS good as the rest. Idiotheque is a classic, pure genius, rushed lyrics that you can't get out of your head (2 weeks of it just gets annoying tho). Morning bell is far better on here than on amnesiac although no match for what follows. Motion picture soundtrack was actually an ok computer 'reject' (altho thom loves it). This song is so amazingly beautiful it brings me to tears. The funeral organ really adds to it. Despite this the song is actually quite up-beat (for radiohead anyway). This is the song i want played at MY funeral. To sum up, you may love this, you may hate it. I took the chance and i love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars boy was their ever an album that was misunderstood!!, 12 Oct 2001
This review is from: Kid A (Audio CD)
i think it was STING who once said and i quote
"the life span of the average band is 3 albums"
well i think old thom and the boys from oxford must have taken those words of wisdom to heart because this sure aint any thing like any previous RADIOHEAD record and we have to ask ourselves the question why should it be? there are only so many variations on the guitar/ drums/ditties as so many bands find to their cost. KID A is bewildering,beautiful,funky,strangly moving and a triumph of composition and production. It is one of those albums that you can put on and leave and never ever tire of. It will live forever in top album lists and it deserves to. The people who don't like it need to have their hearing checked or stay with TRAVIS!!. KID A is just wonderful music and what could be better than that?? Comparing this to their other recordings. If you sat them side-by-side it would be difficult to say that all of them had been made by the same band, particularly if you remove Tom York's voice. I was disappointed by it initially, but the more I listen to it, the more I like it and whilst it's never going to make my top 10 records of all time it certainly has something about it which makes me listen to it again and again. I think that the reduced level of emotion caused by the sterile studio production and the carefully planned sound detracts from what is essentially a very accomplished album. Everyone should listen to it at least twice before drawing their own conclusions. Personally I'll probably spend the coming months trying to figure it out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars KIDS THIS IS 'A' CLASS, 26 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Kid A (Audio CD)
We're waiting...We're still waiting...it's been a while now...Come on...You can do it!!! It's arrived. Kid A is here. It's three years since the highly successful OK Computer had its day and now at long last the fourth album is here. Now, before the release everyone had said that this would be different from the Radiohead of old. Oh they were right. If you thought there was a lack of possible singles on OK Computer, you would struggle to find one here if you tried for a year. Throughout this album only a handful of lyrics are actually possible to understand and the music is distorted to say the very, very least. A bad thing then? A failure? I don't think so. They haven't made this album for anyone else other than themsleves. it's not for the fans who adored them after hearing the last album. This is experimentation...if not down right madness. The nearest thing to the Radiohead of old would be the heart renching 'How To Disappear Completely' and at a push 'Morning Bell', however the other tracks which include the almost dance DJ friendly 'Optimistic' will leave you amazed and baffled. If you believe what you've heard - then this album is poor. If you give it a genuine chance (and it may well take a few listens) then you WILL grow to love it. People are scared of the unknown and Kid A is the perfect definition of this. These people though are people who have missed out on a masterpiece...unless they change their minds of course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LISTEN UP!, 4 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Kid a (Audio CD)
Those of the other reviewer's here who rated this 1 or 2 stars can only have listened to it a couple of times.
Kid A has been slagged off in the majority of the music press because it's not a direct copy of The Bends or OK Computer... and okay, I DID feel very disappointed when I first heard it, but I've not stopped listening to it. The songs I hated first I'm getting into now in a BIG way (The National Anthem and Optimistic), and the songs I loved (How To Disappear Completely and In Limbo) I now rate as Radiohead classics.
It's a classic grower, in true Radiohead style. Music that lasts is great music, and this is great music.
Buy the album, listen to it, digest it, love it.
M
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Optimistic? 21st century Kafka-esque soundscape, 13 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Kid A (Audio CD)
Its taken a long time to get used to Kid A. Now, a year after first hearing it, im wondering why it was so hard to get into. Infact the depth of this record is quite astonishing, theres still more for me to discover. Only the other day I discovered a booklet hidden behind the CD inlay tray. and might I say that the art for this CD suits the album perfectly. Its a record of being lost, powerless as an insect in the modern world. "Optimistic" is the anthem for all 20 somethings wasting away in offices accross Britain. Personal favourite songs are "In Limbo", and "Idioteque", which manages to ROCK without there being any guitars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kid A
Kid A by Radiohead (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews